We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of The Wyndham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wyndham Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were down for Heineken Cup final - slightly worried at first to arrive to what looked like mayhem at the hotel and no hot water on one floor! Manageress very apologetic, water restored next day and free breakfasts provided. Staff could not have been more helpful over the w/e - special mention to Claire - we managed to lose cup final tickets and she not only showed huge concern to get this resolved, but also great resourcefulness in sorting it out for us - she deserves to have a great career on this experience!
Rooms were very good value for the money and food/ drinks were similarly excellent value - above all, staff could not have been more helpful - attitude of the manager clearly transmitted to rest of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddieFalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. Again I apologise for the inconvenience of the boiler breakdown but can assure you it is very rare we have such a problem here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel. I’m very pleased to hear you found the accommodation and pub good value for money and extremely happy to hear you found the staff helpful. We pride ourselves on great customer service and appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in future. Kind Regards, Lisa.

Just wanted to add a huge thank you for your lovely review, it’s always uplifting to hear I’ve had a pleasant effect on a customer’s stay. I’m also very glad you made it to the match! Many thanks, Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    100
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
125
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The Wyndham only reopened after a refurbishment a few days before we stayed and a brilliant job was done on it. The rooms are well furnished to a high standard and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

This hotel is a Wetherspoons with a bar underneath it but with the windows closed in your room you wouldnt hear a sound from outside.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for the review Robert, it's always great to hear feedback from our customers. We're very pleased with the recent refurbishment and I'm glad you feel the same. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards, Lisa and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Considering it was my first time in wales and was very unsure about areas and where to stay, i found The Whyndam Arms to be extremely reasonable in price and the rooms to be presented well and spacious. The welcome was warming from manager and in fact i have returned now on several occasions and my face has always been remembered and greeted warmly by all staff.

I would recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LisaMarie356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, it is always nice to hear good feedback! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. From Lisa and all the staff at The Wyndham Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice clean place to stay and friendly staff well mannered and obliging
I would recommend this hotel to everyone it in my top ten.
* Car parking is easily accessible offsite, if you know where to go. The nearest car park is just a couple of minutes walk away, across the bridge to the Embassy Car Park. Overnight tickets can be purchased from the shop at the entrance to the car park (£2 at the time of writing). The Rhiw, at the other end of Angel Street, only accepts coins and is more expensive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mart25103623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your review Martin, we're glad to hear you had another lovely stay. It's always a pleasure to have returning customers and we hope to see you again shortly. Kind regards, Lisa and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I booked this hotel as I was on a budget for a work, the hotel is cheap and clean and does what it says on the tin. There is no parking at the hotel but there is a multi storey car park with 150 metres or so.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback, we're pleased you were satisfied with your stay. We're an ideal location for people needing to book for business reasons so if you're in the area in the future we hope to see you again. Kind regards from all the staff here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After yet another night at the Wyndham once again we could not fault a thing. The staff and service were 100% as usual and the manager Lisa really could not do enough for us, upgrading us to a larger room on check in. The room itself was light, airy and spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel, and although our room overlooked the main street we didn't experience any noise. Overall an excellent hotel in in ideal location and we truly couldn't fault a thing! Thanks again for a great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_Rhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review from all the staff here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel. It is very refreshing when a customer appreciated the effort all the staff here put into the customer service we provide. It was a please having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My Wife and I now live in Yorkshire and are originally from the local area, when we travel home we always use the Wyndam it is quite often cheaper than Taxis to our relatives a it is always clean and the Breakfast in the morning is excellent. The location is in the Centre of Town with easy access to Trains and Bus Services,
Mark + Yvonne B

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Mark & Yvonne, from all the staff here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel thank you very much for your lovely review. We're pleased that the location of our hotel suits your needs and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.0 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
5.8 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
39 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms

Property: The Wyndham Arms
Address: Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyndham Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub! About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we're ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium. Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually. Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel. Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request. Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wyndham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing