We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Really Impressed"”
Review of The Wyndham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wyndham Arms
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautifully refurbished rooms to a high standard with extra pillows, air conditioning and plenty of tea/coffee facilities. All staff were really pleasant and helpful during our two night stay. Would have no hesitation in recommending this Wetherspoons hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words and we’re pleased to hear you would recommend us. It’s always uplifting when we receive such positive reviews so thank you for taking the time to post this. We look forward to seeing you in future. Kindest regards, Lisa and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This Wetherspoons pub and lodge is right in the middle of Bridgend town but was surprisingly quiet at night. We did not know until we arrived that it had recently been closed for a full refurbishment so the rooms were literally brand new. Bedroom is quite small but the bed was comfortable and extra pillows provided without having to ask. The bathroom is really well appointed with an over-bath shower with one of those nice HUGE shower heads and shower gel provided. My only gripe would be that there is a shower curtain, which I really dislike, a screen is so much nicer but is probably a lot more costly. We finished off with a nice breakfast in the pub served by friendly staff, all in all we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel, which was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review and we’re glad you like the newly refurbished rooms. We’ve recently had second glazing installed which has been a big help in reducing the noise. As much as we like the appeal of shower screens they’re surprisingly much more maintenance and not practical for our hotel in the long run but this is definitely something we will mention during the next hotel discussion. We’re pleased you had a great stay and hope to see you again. Kind regards, Lisa and the hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were down for Heineken Cup final - slightly worried at first to arrive to what looked like mayhem at the hotel and no hot water on one floor! Manageress very apologetic, water restored next day and free breakfasts provided. Staff could not have been more helpful over the w/e - special mention to Claire - we managed to lose cup final tickets and she not only showed huge concern to get this resolved, but also great resourcefulness in sorting it out for us - she deserves to have a great career on this experience!
Rooms were very good value for the money and food/ drinks were similarly excellent value - above all, staff could not have been more helpful - attitude of the manager clearly transmitted to rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreddieFalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. Again I apologise for the inconvenience of the boiler breakdown but can assure you it is very rare we have such a problem here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel. I’m very pleased to hear you found the accommodation and pub good value for money and extremely happy to hear you found the staff helpful. We pride ourselves on great customer service and appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in future. Kind Regards, Lisa.

Just wanted to add a huge thank you for your lovely review, it’s always uplifting to hear I’ve had a pleasant effect on a customer’s stay. I’m also very glad you made it to the match! Many thanks, Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The Wyndham only reopened after a refurbishment a few days before we stayed and a brilliant job was done on it. The rooms are well furnished to a high standard and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

This hotel is a Wetherspoons with a bar underneath it but with the windows closed in your room you wouldnt hear a sound from outside.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for the review Robert, it's always great to hear feedback from our customers. We're very pleased with the recent refurbishment and I'm glad you feel the same. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards, Lisa and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Considering it was my first time in wales and was very unsure about areas and where to stay, i found The Whyndam Arms to be extremely reasonable in price and the rooms to be presented well and spacious. The welcome was warming from manager and in fact i have returned now on several occasions and my face has always been remembered and greeted warmly by all staff.

I would recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank LisaMarie356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, it is always nice to hear good feedback! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. From Lisa and all the staff at The Wyndham Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice clean place to stay and friendly staff well mannered and obliging
I would recommend this hotel to everyone it in my top ten.
* Car parking is easily accessible offsite, if you know where to go. The nearest car park is just a couple of minutes walk away, across the bridge to the Embassy Car Park. Overnight tickets can be purchased from the shop at the entrance to the car park (£2 at the time of writing). The Rhiw, at the other end of Angel Street, only accepts coins and is more expensive.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mart25103623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for your review Martin, we're glad to hear you had another lovely stay. It's always a pleasure to have returning customers and we hope to see you again shortly. Kind regards, Lisa and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I booked this hotel as I was on a budget for a work, the hotel is cheap and clean and does what it says on the tin. There is no parking at the hotel but there is a multi storey car park with 150 metres or so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback, we're pleased you were satisfied with your stay. We're an ideal location for people needing to book for business reasons so if you're in the area in the future we hope to see you again. Kind regards from all the staff here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
1 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
666 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
505 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms

Address: Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £37 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyndham Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub! About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we're ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium. Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually. Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel. Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request. Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wyndham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing