We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely peaceful break”
Review of Court Colman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Court Colman Manor
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

my boyfriend and i got back today, we had a lovely break at court colman. i had seen some of the negative reviews before going, so wasn't expecting it to be amazing. we had booked this as a deal with kgb and we made sure to book the venetian themed room (bridal suite) as the pictures looked lovely and others had recommended it. on arrival we loved the grandness of the hotel and the old traditional decor, it was as if we were on set for pride and prejudice or downton abbey. the reception waiting area was dark wood and dark leather sofa's, very welcoming and cosy. we were directed to our room, it was beautiful with a nice view of the fields. the bathroom and bedroom was massive, the bath was a jacuzzi bath, the shower was powerful and there were soft fluffy towels available. the room was beautiful and romantic, with a large dressing table and a decent size freeview tv, i loved it. the bed was big, but the mattress was a bit too soft for our liking. we received a complimentary bottle of wine a free full breakfast as part of our deal. we paid for afternoon tea which was presentable and delicious, tea/coffee/champagne, sandwhiches, scones, cream & jam, cakes and crisps. the reception team were very friendly and extremely helpful. i am generally a very fussy person and this place really was nice and i enjoyed my time there. i can't comment on all the rooms but the venetian room on the first floor was wonderful :-)

Room Tip: venetian room is the bridal suite and it is very nice, though mattress was too soft for our liking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It really gives us pleasure when a customer writes a review in such glowing terms. We hope we can return the favour by welcoming you back to the manor again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

I've been to this hotel once and twice for Sunday lunch, the food was cold, gravy was lumpy, vegetables were rock hard and the service was terrible because the waiters took over 30 minutes to ask for a drink order and the food was a buffet anyway! I will never go again I will avoid it at all cost

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ssicnfisnsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for your review although i'm not quite sure what to make of it. We dont have a waiter so not sure who took 30 mins to bring you a drink. As for the food being served buffet style, the last time i checked, the concept of a carvery was that you came up and chose your meat and vegetables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very unhappy with my stay, despite advertising they are family friendly and having family rooms. Could not get travel cot in room they had none left so we had to carry our heavy travel cot up 2 flights of stairs. No lift which with 2 small children is very inconvenient. Our baby was ill during the night and unfortunately was crying. In the morning I overheard the staff on the front desk discussing my family and the fact my baby was crying with another guest which not only was unprofessional but also very upsetting for me. Rooms need redecorating and improving. Also, windows very unsuitable for a family room, they open at the bottom which leaves a gap for a child to lean out of, we were on the second floor......

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 759Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that your stay didnt meet with your expectations. Unfortunately due to us being a grade II listed building we dont have lifts. However we are always happy to help our guests take their luggage up to their rooms should they need help. If you stay with us again, please make yourself known to myself and i will make sure you and your family have a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I try to always find some good in hotels, but its hard for this one, from what I can see the experience really depends on which room you get, the theme rooms look great, the standard rooms are terrible, however the hotel is cheap !

My room had a brand new bathroom which looked amazing, however the actual bedroom was damp with mould growing in the ceiling eves, had wallpaper hanging off, the carpet looked dirty, the windows hadn't been painted in 100 years (room 208)... good points, the bed was massive, clean and very comfortable, if I was stopping for more than 1 evening I would of asked to change rooms though.

The lovely new bathroom was let down by a shower head that fell down and only directed the water on the wall, so I had to hold it up whilst showering, secondly, the water pressure was so low it barley dripped out water.

Why would you spend so much money on a new bathroom with no water pressure anyway and then leave the rest of the room in a complete mess, its total nonsense.

Breakfast was normal average buffet fry-up with cereal and pastries.

I won't be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a theme room, they appear to of been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeyAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for your review. Im not sure on what basis you can write that the standard rooms are terrible. As far as i am aware you stayed in one room and i can accept your opinion on the one you stayed in. However a sweeping generalisation about the rest of the rooms seems slightly absurd.
If, as you claim you wont be visiting us again it is a shame. In the time that you wrote your review and this response. We have refurbished the room. It has a brand new carpet, new furniture, new wall paper and the leak on the roof that was causing the damp has been fixed. The state of the bedroom now matches the new look of the bathroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Having booked a double room using an internet deal for less than you pay for your average hostel in Europe, and reading the not-so-good reviews here, we weren't expecting much!

However, upon arrival we were immediately upgraded to what I can honestly say was the largest and most extravagant room we have ever stayed in (bearing in mind we tend to stay places on a budget). The room was themed as the "Venetian Room" and apparently is usually chosen as the bridal suite: enough space to host the Olympics, king size bed (very comfy), jacuzzi bath, double rain shower, lovely view, huge dressing table, a wardrobe you could live in... the works really!

The staff at the reception were extremely helpful, even explaining to me how to work the jacuzzi bath (turns out I hadn't plugged it in)! Being a Sunday night, there was a freshly prepared all-you-can-eat buffet at their award winning Indian/Med restaurant for a very reasonable price. Being a serious eater, I was quite embarrassed going up for my fourth helping (it was VERY good), but the chef seemed complimented and just kept on bringing out more with a chuckle!

We had a superb time and think a lot of the reviews here do not do the place justice. Understandably some of the rooms might not be to some people's taste, so it is probably best to have a look at their rooms on the website, and specify if you can when booking.

Enjoy : )

Room Tip: The themed rooms are huge, fun, and extravagant! The "Venetian Room" was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_Woollcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for your rave review. Its customers like yourselves that make all our hard work worth while. We appreciate it so much and we wait in anticipation of welcoming you back to the manor in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We booked the hotel earlier this year and were given a specific themed bedroom (Gothic), which include a bottle of wine "on arrival ". on checking we were not given a themed room but a room with a 4 poster bed in a wood frame. The mattress was two inches below the top of the frame so when you got off the bed you scraped your legs. when we complained the manager said, he knows about the problem. So why wasn,t the problem sorted out prior to our visit. The onsuite door didnt close.The bath had the water spout filling down the side of the bath so when water came out it could have scalded you as it came straight on to your body. We had to put paper in the window frame to stop it banging all night,,shower gel was left in the bathroom and litter from previouse guests. tv not working in bedroom. A broken table in the lounge. We mentioned this to the manager saying that someone could catch themselves on it. It was still there 48hours after we had mentioned it. At breakfast my wife ordered porridge ,and egg on toast, they brought them together , so the egg was cold by the time she ate it. On leaving we had to ask for the complimentary wine that was prommised on arrival. The television,s hotel inspector would have a beano at this Hotel. This hotel needs a lot of money spending on it,needs better management and staff training

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bigal128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you for your review. You will be glad to know that having read your review we have rectified the problem with the bed. The bath is designed with the spout on the side of the bath. Simple solution is to fill it up before getting in. TV in bedroom needs to be turned on at the mains to work. The broken table in the lounge was replaced..
I dont think we need the hotel inspector, you seem quite an expert, so if we really feel like we need training in management and staff and how to spend money we will be in touch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed just one night with a deal, in the Gothic room. Most amazing room + views. Whole establishment incredible - very much a manor house, grand yet warm and inviting too. Staff were all excellent, as was food + service. Spotlessly clean. Great grounds to wander in.

Room Tip: The themed rooms are amazing - huge and quirky in a good way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a really nice stay all round. Please come back and stay with us again, we would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
303 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
1.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
397 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Colman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Colman Manor

Address: Court Colman Farm Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend CF31 4NG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £98 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Court Colman Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Court Colman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Colman Manor Bridgend, Wales
Court Colman Manor Hotel Bridgend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing