We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welsh gem with superb views”
Review of Court Colman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Court Colman Manor
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welsh gem with superb views”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here overnight at the beginning of August. We had a deal which gave us bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine free if we dined in the restaurant. This proved to be exceptional value.
The hotel is very impressive from the outside and has some wonderful feature rooms and spaces inside. Our room was modern with a really nice bathroom complete with bath and shower. It was spotlessly clean with a wonderful big comfortable bed and we had the best nights sleep we had had in months! What really made it for us was the situation of Court Colman Manor and the exceptional view from our bedroom window.
The staff were helpful and breakfast was buffet style but plentiful and well cooked.
We ate at the hotel restaurant which surprisingly is Indian, this is quite unusual in a provincial hotel. However it has a very fine reputation and has received many awards and having dined there we can understand why. We had a stunningly good meal there, probably the best Indian meal we have ever had!
Although some of the areas of the hotel could be described as being of slightly fading elegance, and some public areas need a clean, such as the magnificent chandelier on the stairs, overall we felt it was part of the charm of the place.
In conclusion, we had a very pleasurable stay and wished that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooloasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Its good to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Thank you for dining at our restaurant. "the best indian meal we ever had" - quite a compliment. Please come and visit us again soon. It would be nice to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    179
    92
    51
    39
See reviews for
84
350
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
slough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we had a lovely couple of days here the hotel was beautiful and staff very friendly the food in the indian reasturant was realy good we booked with amazon local and we had a very good deal we are thinking about going back soon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annslough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Don't just think about it, make sure you come and visit us again soon. We're looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend booked us in here for two nights to celebrate my birthday. A country manor with an Indian restaurant, sounds great? Wrong!! The whole place is lacking, our room was small, the fixtures were falling apart, very grubby verging on dirty and the view through the filthy window was of a skip and an obese builder coughing and wheezing at 0800. Couldn't be worse? Wrong!! The restaurant served two curries that tasted and looked the same although one should have been mildly spiced with saffron and the other with tomatoes and chilly. Which was hotter? You guessed it!!

I would have complained but it was obvious that nothing was going to rescue this 'hotel' experience. Luckily a long walk along the coastal path to Nash point in the lashing rain cheered us up considerably!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Dannybaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your custom and your review. We could have done a lot more to rescue your experience if you had told us about your grievances at the time. Writing a review after you have left the hotel doesn't make your stay any better either. Its a shame really ,as we are always happy to help our guests and make their stay a better one as you can see from the majority of our reviewers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We really enjoyed our two night break in July. We stayed in the Italian Suite which was incredibly spacious. OK..the marble wasn't real and there were a few 'rough edges' but well done for effort and the comfortable end result.
The staff were all happy and very helpful.
The breakfast was buffet style but was a reasonable quality and varied and plentiful.
Bar prices were a little on the high side.
Bokhara, the Indian restaurant had food to die for. Definitely a step up from the normal high street 'curry house' and well priced for the pleasure.
At £130 rack rate the themed rooms offer value for money but our £89, 2 night stay was bargain of the year.
Court Coleman Manor is situated quite remotely, in its own attractive grounds. If the weather's being kind it was lovely to sit outside for a drink. Its about half way between Cardiff and Swansea. The local, attractive heritage coast is only 10 minutes away and the Gower Peninsular, a real gem, is only an hour away.
Well done Court Coleman!
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a themed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTRCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review and high praise. It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us. By your review it sounded like you were pleasently surprised by your stay. Please come and visit us again soon and we look forward to exceeding your expectations once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed on a 2 night deal and had asked to be upgraded to one of the themed rooms. We got the Venetian Room which is very spacious and has a great view out over the lawn, fields and trees beyond the front of the Hotel. The room was clean and the sizeable bathroom has a large shower and jacuzzi bath (if only I'd known there was a switch in the main room to turn it on !). We found the mattress a little soft for our taste but I guess that would be down to personal preference. The breakfast was ok but a little more effort is needed there to make it better, it was more like a high street cafe breakfast than one suited to Court Colman. The Bokhara restaurant on the other hand was excellent, both my partner and I agreed it was the one of the best Curry's we have eaten and the Naan bread and Poppadoms were the best. The Hotel has lovely grounds and it looks like they are in the process of improving them as there seem to be works going on around the back. There is definitely room for improvement, for example a broken fridge dumped at the back of the hotel isn't great to look at but Court Colman is an old Tudor Manor and for it's few faults has bags of character and charm. Overall we enjoyed our stay there and would not hesitate to go back. Just down the road (8 miles) you have Dunraven Bay which can have spectacular sunsets (see photo), we were lucky enough to see one on both nights

Room Tip: The Venetian room has excellent views over the front of the hotel and fields beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken on board all the comments you made and we will aim to make the improvements you suggested. Please feel free to come back and visit us again soon. I am sure you will have just a good a stay as you had last time. You need to come back anyway, if just for your favourite curry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a lovely place set in a lovely area. We used a Groupon voucher midweek and stayed two nights whilst our son was on an outward bound holiday with school. We got upgraded to a themed room which had a lovely view and was very pleasant. The staff were lovely and very helpful, with a great breakfast. We also ate twice at the hotel restaurant, which is award winning, the food was excellent. We would defiantly come again, it would be ideal for a wedding also.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MancFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It seems like you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Its good to hear that you will definitely coming back to visit us. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed last night to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. For the £53 we had Moroccan themed suite, 1 nights stay bed & breakfast and... a free bottle of wine if dining in the Indian restaurant, which we did and there was a buffet for £10.95. Absolutely amazing and I will be returning if they do future special offers. Staff nice, we had friends come to meet us there and they were with us til 12.30am very accommodating. Fantastic romantic stay :)

Room Tip: Moroccan Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookieljhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review and thank you for posting your lovely pictures. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you chose us for anniversary stay. We would love to welcome you and your friends back to the manor, so come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Colman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Colman Manor

Property: Court Colman Manor
Address: Court Colman Farm Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend CF31 4NG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Court Colman Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Court Colman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Colman Manor Bridgend, Wales
Court Colman Manor Hotel Bridgend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing