We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very worth the experience!”

Eliots Restaurant at The Coed-y-Mwstwr - Bridgend
Ranked #73 of 189 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: US$41 - US$72
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very worth the experience!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excellent and interesting menu selection. Impeccable service and a lovely tranquil setting, perhaps slightly juxtaposed by the music choice a little.

The highlight for me, completing the already excellent meal, was the Tiramisu - Truly something else, and as its one of my favourite deserts I've eaten it in lots of place! I don't want to say too much about what made is al unusual and special so not to spoil the surprise - but worth a visit just to sample this alone!

Be sure to follow dinner with coffee - which comes with the most amazing homemade fudge....

Complete over indulgence of quality cuisine - and definitely worth a visit for a special occasion of any kind.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swansea wales
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Uninspiring food”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We took two friends from abroad for a meal and we were very disappointed with the occasion. The venison was tasty but tough and it was served on a bed of very pungent flavoured vegetables the service was over-attentive (yes it can be!) and our conversation was interrupted a couple of times, when the staff should have waited for a pause to speak. Beautiful log fire in the longe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank veterantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great hidden find - we'll be back”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We booked last minute for a celebration and boy were we impressed with our trip to Coychurch's top eatery. Great food, super ambiance and worth every penny. Good staff and service too. A few less trips to Abergavenny required from now on !!

The effort which had clearly been made to stand out from the usual GBP25 meal chain crowd was well appreciated and many finishing touches that set it apart. There was surely no boil in the bag here.

Sadly S Wales struggles for high end restaurants, but we will be back there next month.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alistair j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle B, Front Office Manager at Eliots Restaurant at The Coed-y-Mwstwr - Bridgend, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Eliots Restaurant at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your celebration with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a family reunion!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

When my daughter and baby grandson were visiting from America, we booked a room and invited the family to lunch. the staff could not have been more helpful. The staff were excellent and the food was very enjoyable. I would recommend this for an event you want to be special and memorable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judeteachwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Eliots Restaurant at The Coed-y-Mwstwr - Bridgend, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation. A family reunion is always such a big occasion and we are glad that we were able to make yours special and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel for the next family get together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wedding”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

report on restaurant as in full review for the hotel

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eliots Restaurant at The Coed-y-Mwstwr - Bridgend also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Eliots Restaurant at The Coed-y-Mwstwr - Bridgend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing