We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just stayed for two nights at this travel lodge and found it, very clean, comfortable and warm. Bed was comfy, showers were very good. Cant fault it at all. Red Kite pub next door served good food at two for one prices. Caught train in to Cardiff from Aber no problem to see the Rugby. Would stay again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We can room 116 which although was on the front close to the pub, not noise was heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank black-biddy-2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my young daughter for 3 nights in August. I hot given a disabled room has no others were available the bathroom door looked as so a stag do was in the night before beat to pieces. Dirty and dusty in the corners but clean bedding staff where very helpful providing extra bed one night and allowed early check in. Building work was in full swing at time of stay however I nether heard of any noise. Would stay again if there was no where else in the area pub across the road was a not again ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay Thomas P. We can confirm that we completed a refurbishment in this hotel in June and no building work has since taken place at this hotel. All of our bathroom doors are in a suitable condition and our housekeeping staff follow a strict routine when servicing rooms to ensure that all rooms are clean and fresh. We are therefore concerned to learn of your comments and wish to investigate the issues you are raised, please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more details and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very friendly and caring staff - very clean and comfortable rooms - great location (near town and station, pub and Lidl next door) - book early on the Internet for superb prices - convenient for families and groups - can totally recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is somewhere I'd stay again.
Irene the receptionist was very friendly & helpful
The Red Kite pub next door was also good value.
Train station Aber, has P&D parking if you don't want to drive to Cardiff

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is, in the whole, perfect. It's placed a short walk from Aber train station which will take you to Caerphilly centre in about 2 mins and it's 20 minutes from Cardiff. The hotel itself has been recently refurbished so everything looks new and clean. The room was very basic i.e. bed, tv, kettle but what more do you need from a budget hotel?! The bathroom was spotless, we had fresh towels and the bed was really comfortable. The room is an adequate temperature but if not, the windows open and there's a wall mounted heater so everyone can be catered for! The hotel has a small breakfast selection but there is a pub in the same car park or a supermarket over the road. Parking is free and although it says first come, first served, there is plenty of spaces available so I imagine you wouldn't have a problem with this. The only downside I found was that the walls are quite thin and when the cleaning staff came round on the morning, they could be quite loud. Other than that, we have nothing bad to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireWeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Am writing this review quite late as stayed at this hotel 30th july to August 4th 2013. (I have written a complaint sitct to head office and have got nowhere. So have no choice but to tell all of our very upsetting stay at your hotel.
3 of us 2 adults and 1 teenager arrived early evening in 30 deg heat. Not very helpful at check in lady just didn't want to be there. Given 1 key to our room. Looked quite clean on arrival but so hot no air. Went down to the reception to request extra towels and fan. Lady was rather chatty must of woken her up earlier.
Managed to get through the first night using fan but strange for us all didn't have a very good night. We had a quiet day the first day and returned to our room to find the beds not made and a wet towel left on the bed from the cleaners as we had hung up all the towels around the room being 3 of us.
We went down to reception to complain to be told sorry we will make sure the beds are made tomorrow.
We went out from 10am til 10pm the following day and still no beds made or bins emptied. Complained yet again. To be told exactly the same. This carried on right through our stay of 5 nights. Not an enjoyable stay. So certainly not recommending this hotel to anybody as so upset with our stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mojo4321Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review Mojo4321Colchester. We are sorry to learn about your disappointing experience at our Caerphilly hotel. We expect our staff to offer a friendly welcome to all of our guests on arrival so we are truly sorry this did not happen during your stay. It is regrettable you found your room to be too warm, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning as part of our brand standard however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfort table during the summer months we do offer fans. We do expect all of our rooms to be serviced by replenishing daily essentials and ensuring all of our rooms are clean and fresh during your stay. Our staff should deal with all the issues raised by guests during their stay in a timely manner. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of providing a quality service to all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have stayed at this Travelodge on a number of occasions and always request rooms on the top floor as we have been troubled by noisy people above us in the past. The location is very good with a Chinese, a fish and chip shop and a very nice Indian restaurant close by. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, staff efficient.
However, we were given Room 201 this weekend and the noise from the adjoining boiler room was HORRENDOUS! The gentleman on reception was very apologetic but said all rooms were full.
It spoiled what should have been a good night's sleep, and I feel we should have been warned about the noise before finding out for ourselves late at night.
As it was my birthday, I was more than a little annoyed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

We are really sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Travelodge Joy C. We want our customers to have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us so it is regrettable that you found your room to be noisy. We would expect our hotels to ensure all rooms are suitable for use and we’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerphilly
6.8 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
319 reviews
2.5 mi away
Manor Parc Country Hotel
Manor Parc Country Hotel
#33 of 74 in Cardiff
149 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 74 in Cardiff
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 17 in Newport
619 reviews
2 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
736 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel

Address: 1 Beddau Way, Caerphilly CF83 2AX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Caerphilly
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caerphilly
Price Range: £38 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel Wales
Travel Lodge Caerphilly
Caerphilly Travelodge
Caerphilly Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing