We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soggy pompadoms, sugar coated curry and cardboard chips”

Castle Gate Indian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Twice voted as one of the top 100 Indian restaurants in the UK by the British Curry Awards, the Castle Gate has secured its place as one of the most popular Indian restaurants in South Wales. Situated in the historic fortress town of Caerphilly just a few miles north of Cardiff, Castle Gate offers an extensive range of award-winning, authentic Indian cuisine served by staff trained to ensure your dining experience is second to none! Avoid the problem of parking too. Castle Gate has ample parking for 50 cars or more, so visiting couldn't be easier. Whether you are planning an intimate meal for two, or a group booking for 80 people, Castle Gate is the perfect choice! It's no wonder the South Wales Echo described a meal at the Castle Gate Restaurant as "A thoroughly enjoyable experience!"
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Soggy pompadoms, sugar coated curry and cardboard chips”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Most disappointed with the take out. £21 for soggy pompadoms, very sugary chicken tikka masala, lamb dansak that had over cooked pieces of lamb and to top it off the chips were tasteless! Not impressed at all!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    41
    19
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“special occasion spoilt”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had the vegetable mashalla curry, what a joke.!!! I had 4 hard potatoes and 2 carrots in it. I just aswel had had a curry sauce. My partner swallowed a whole chilli at the beginning of the meal and couldn't eat the rest of it. The staff didn't even ask why we hadn't eaten the meal when they took the plates away. It was my birthday and wedding anniversary and it was totally spoilt. Definitely wont be going there again. The whole meal and 2 drinks cost us over £30 and we were only there about half hour. What a rip off.....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank alibarber_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Went to this restaurant for a meal as I have heard good things about it. Wasn't impressed and in fact disappointed. The staff were aloof which was a pity and the food wasn't really up to much. I have had much better Indian meals elsewhere. On the plus side the restaurant is decorated nicely and it does have a selection of vegetarian options.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HOTHOOFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Whether eating in or taking out the food is always of the same high standard. Tasty, good quality ingredients well cooked.
Very pleasant staff. Menus explain well what is in each dish and how strongly spiced it is making choosing for individual taste easy.
Highly recommended, a little on the pricey side but we have never been disappointed and will continue to eat here..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A regular visitor to this restaurant. Food is consistently great. Gone a few times for family meals with 10+ people and food still comes quick and is tasty! A bit pricey but I love it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Gate Indian Restaurant also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Castle Gate Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing