We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, quick service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raj Of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Raj Of India
Ranked #30 of 84 Restaurants in Caerphilly
Price range: US$14 - US$31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Raj of India is a takeaway located on Market Street in Caerphilly. Excellent food is served on your table and when you order a takeaway food will be delivered straight to your door when you order online with Just-Eat.co.uk. They are especially proud of their chef’s ability to cook an exquisite array of Indian dishes. The variety on the menu is their careful selection of the regional dishes for their flavour and content. They hope you will enjoy their selection and have a memorable experience that will keep you coming back for more. Raj of India provides the perfect takeaway for an evening meal or feast and ideal if you are entertaining friends or family. Raj of India is open Tuesday to Sunday from 17:30 to 23:00 and CLOSED MONDAY. (except bank holidays) Orders of £10.00 and over are delivered for £1.00, under delivery is not available.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food, quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Monday night. It was fairly quiet, only 4 other tables filled. The food was delicious and the service very good. Will definitely return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaAnders0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    4
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Slow food delivery but great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

6:30pm visit and we were the only people there so I'm not sure why the slow food preparation? The food was very good but the wait for the main course was almost an hour! End of the time, took another hour. If you don't mind that, I suggest going. Tandoori chicken was great, large portions, especially the rice. Go on an empty stomach. Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BoysHockeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food is nice, atmosphere is a little hit-and-miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Food is good enough quality hence the 4-stars, although it's nothing to 'really' right home about, Go to India Gate in Whitchurch to experience a 5-star in my opinion.

You need to book at the busy time, otherwise you could be dining alone, even on a weekend. I was a little bit put off by the owner starring at us (to leave?)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonTheSorcerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The food was really, really great and the staff very professional. I love Indian food, this is a little jewel. I will be visiting here again when next in Caerphilly. That's all you need to know

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank barney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my partner have had some great take aways from 'The Raj'. Last Friday we went there for a meal, the food was amazing, the 3 lads serving were excellent and proper gents + at the end of our night we asked for a taxi and one of the staff members gave us a lift home. Cant recommend this place enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff-Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raj Of India also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to The Raj Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing