We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch or Tea and cakes”
Review of Glanmors

Glanmors
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Caerphilly
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Puget Theniers, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or Tea and cakes”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Great little spot for lunch, good food friendly service everything made fresh and nice cup of tea. The cream hot chocolate is to die for

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geordieniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    68
    26
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Welsh Cakes (Teisien Lap) To Die for.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Glanmor has 3 shops One in Trethomas, One in Cadiff Road & a teashop at the entrance to the New Shopping Centre Opposite the Bandstand.All do filled rollsPastied[s Pies & Caked as takeaway food as well as Loaves, Cakes etc for consumption at home.There's always a queue They're that good!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IainwiththeI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Cafe In Caerphilly”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I rate this not only the best café in Caerphilly, but in fact, the best café I have ever been to.

In all of the times I have been to Glanmors, (I have been a regular customer for over 15 years), I have never had a complaint or even a bad word to say about the place! The food is always delicious, especially the homemade soup which changes weekly.

The staff are ALWAYS pleasant and friendly and we never wait longer than 10 minutes to be seated or served, even on a Saturday when the café is completely full!

The menu is fabulous, so much choice! Ranging from breakfasts, lunches, dinners and deserts. I especially love the homemade cakes. Not only is the food great, so is the view! From any seat in the restaurant, there is a view of Caerphilly castle, which I particularly lovely on a sunny day. Even when its miserable, glanmors is a perfect place to shelter from the rain.

People with children may not enjoy glamors for lack of high chairs or children's facilities. Though it seems that not that many young children visit the restaurant anyway.

Glanmors seems to have many visitors who pop in on almost every day for a coffee. There is a lot to be said for returning customers!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BethGraceMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast ”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Wow popped into your shop further up town. Just after 8am this morning, I'm impressed not only by the food, which was prepared exactly how I asked for it and it's delicious freshness but the gentleman who served me was brill, I asked for something off menu, nothing was too much trouble and my day has now started with a smile :-) thanks glanmors! I'll be recommending you to all my friends and family!

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A very traditional style cafe, staff wear pinafores and little white maids hats, food is fresh, tasty and in good portion sizes. The teas and coffees are always great. They have a very tempting selection of cakes and an ice-cream service station. It's set near Caerphilly Castle so a very pleasant cafe to stop at while you're in town. I love coming here, even though it can be busy, it never seems to be crowded or too noisy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Globnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glanmors also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Glanmors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing