We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Lady Pub and Restaurant

Green Lady Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 84 Restaurants in Caerphilly
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

You could ask for a better Sunday lunch, home cooked, fabulous roast potatoes and great veg! Brilliant value for money, service friendly and helpful, no where else to go if you want home cooked food

Helpful?
Thank Levans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    19
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“seperate room??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We were a party of around 55 booked the 'seperate room' for a private function for my mum and dads 60th wedding anniversary. Firstly the room isnt seperate at all so people from the pub just walked in and one person helped herself to the buffet. The 'managers' attitude was he couldnt care less. There was a live band which was expected but because there were no doors to the 'private room' it made it impossible for us to talk to each other. Alot of the guests then left or stood outside.
We couldnt fault the food and would like to say thank you to the staff who prepared the buffet.
Overall, the evening was enjoyable but be aware the room is definately not private and therefore will not be booking there again for a function unless doors are put on to close the room. The managers people skills werent exceptable either and we found him very rude.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dylan1967Cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32Lady1, Owner at Green Lady Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
I can only apologise for the lack of doors to the function room.We have had a a refurbishment at the pub and the sliding doors have been on order since April but unfortunately they have still not arrived this matter is in hand and hopefully will be fitted ASAP. Again I do apologise as all bookings for this area of the pub staff have been told to inform everyone of the situation regarding the doors.As for the rudeness of the manager this will also be dealt with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had the garlic and herb chicken - wow it was delicious!! Chips slightly undercooked though. Had the apple and blackberry crumble for pudding and it was gorgeous. Didn't have to wait long for the food. Will be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MegsterBlackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We eat in the Green lady regularly, and last week we had steak, I think they have changed the provider of the steak it was delicious. Their food is all home made and regularly of a high standard.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelAJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best sunday dinner to be had anywhere in caerphilly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have just had sunday lunch at the greenlady caerphilly for the first time, the food was absoultly fantastic, crispy roasties, and real potatoes used for their lovely mashed potatoe, none of that horrible instant rubbish, i highly recommend the greenlady if you want a sunday dinner. The staff were all professional, and courteous and they all looked happy in thier place of work. I even had a dinner to take home with me
FAB FAB FAB

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Lady Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Green Lady Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing