We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
376
74
14
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
74
14
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house backpackers free pizza living room apple pie and ice cream yogurt welsh cakes bunk beds free breakfast well equipped kitchen millennium stadium breakfast was amazing cardiff castle city centre common areas train station tea and coffee location is great
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were tidy/ clean. The kitchen and dining hall were well decorated and very clean. The bathrooms and toilets were new and extremely clean. The location is perfect to discover the city's center by foot.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Isabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

The hotel/hostel was decent. We book a room for 3 people and it came with 2 Bunk Beds. The staff were very friendly gave us a short tour and explained some rules and that was that. We all got a key each which was handy.

The rooms where ok, the bunk beds were very close together so little space for movement, but done the job as we were only there for 2 nights to sleep.

We went to the Beyonce and Jayz Concert and the location is right opposite the stadium which was handy, our gate was only a 5min walk away!

Breakfast was a standard continental - was looking forward to a FULL ENGLISH :D but it sufficed. They do provide a fridge and utensils to use if cooking your own food which is good.

Overall good experience

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vinease11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Was there for a short weekend trip. The hostel is located a short walk from the city area and the cardiff castle.

Staff are friendly and are happy to help. Dorms and shared bathrooms were very clean and tidy.

Downstairs had a lovely open kitchen and dining area to sit and relax. Breakfast is included and has a wide variety to choose from.

There is also a friendly neighbourhood cat who visits and loves to be petted.

Only drawback was the Wi-Fi kept dropping out the weekend I visited, but I believe it wasn't a consistent issue and was being fixed.

Would recommend this place if you're looking for an convenient location, quiet and clean hostel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Only stayed in a hostel once before this time and was such a lovely stay! Great location and extremely cheap. The toilets were so clean and very private. Staff were very friendly and the free breakfast was set out amazing in the morning, so much variety! Would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Demipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

I loved my stay at the River House! Beautiful location, very central (e walking distance from train & coach stations, cardiff castle & city centre) very clean bathrooms, comfortable & pretty rooms, great breakfast, super helpful & friendly staff. Met some lovely people :) would most definitely recommend it!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank meera s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews