We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone Downhill”
Review of Ichiban

Ichiban
Ranked #414 of 1,217 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I often rely on tripadvisor for reviews, and as a new years resolution have decided to contribute.
I've been a regular customer of Ichibans since it first opened as I try to support independent restauraters within Cardiff. Sadly with Ichiban, the prices continue to go up and the quality down.
I'm no gastronome, but my yaki soba was bland at best.. the noodles bloated and akin to overcooked spaghetti. What chicken there was tasted cheap and like it had been precooked and added to the noodles rather than cooked fresh. My girlfriends ramen wasn't a lot better than a packet of supernoodles. I could have saved myself some cash and cooked tastier noodles at home.
On the service front, I wasn't asked how my meal was.. so maybe they can found out here.
Amazingly, this place is still super busy. Clearly, some people are deluded.. or maybe sticking to the sushi, which you can't really go wrong with. Best of luck to the business and future customers.. but me and Ichiban are done. There are better options.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    41
    11
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Mobo tofu rocks”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

As regular visitors to this place, we recommend the mobo tofu and their chahan rice is well made
Been to their Albany Road establishment too, but we frequent this location more often due to the proximity to Cardiff City Stadium

As with most Japanese restaurants in the UK at the moment, not actually run or managed by Japanese, but not too far off from authenticity in its taste
Bookings recommended on Sat night

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank j100lok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“January Feast”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was my daughter and I`s second visit . Last time we had sushi which was very good but we noticed everyone including several Japanese groups were eating the set lunches ! So plans were made that we would visit again soon. So today was the day! My daughter had the Chicken Katsu Curry and I had the Chicken Teriyaki both came with extras , salad miso soup etc. Both were delicious. The service was good and it was great value £21.50 for two set lunches, one portion of salmon nigiri , a coke and hot tea . Will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Three Japanese students took me here when we were in Cardiff. I just ordered soup (the special Japanese type with noodles in it) and was surprised at how filling it was. The food wasn't very expensive, the restaurant was very clean and the service was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Cardiff”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Been coming back for years. Simply the best sushi in cardiff, and I've not had much better elsewhere in the UK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBushRockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ichiban also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Ichiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing