We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great japanese food!! Plum wine amazing!!”
Review of Ichiban

Ichiban
Ranked #499 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great japanese food!! Plum wine amazing!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I love this restaurant, I went back in march on a Sunday. It was quiet quite but I find this restaurant is always quite calm even when there are lots of people i really like this as it makes me feel relaxed, really nice décor and the play Japanese music which creates a lovely atmosphere. I always have the plum wine which is to die for!! I liked it so much I bought a bottle to take home!! for food I starter with sushi I'm not a big lover of sushi but if find this lovely in ichiban. I also had soft shell crab both really nice. my main I beef curry udon. I've never tried this before but was amazing and the dish was huge!! I was to full to order desert. The food was fantastic really reasonable in price and I was able to get student discount on my meal. would recommend this to everyone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank natalie-baby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    41
    11
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food with prompt service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I came here for a birthday meal and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

I had the Kaisen Furai Teishoku while my partner had Tempura Teishoku - both were cooked to perfection, and at £13 a head, excellent value too.

One thing that made it more special was that half of the clientele were Japanese - try seeing that in Yo Sushi! Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank boxofrecords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My mother and myself went for lunch as a treat and chose a few things from the menu. The staff were friendly, the place was so clean and the food was fantastic. Great place to eat with friends and family :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna_Llewelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Killer tempura squid”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Try this friendly neighbourhood place rather than a big chain sushi place. A looong menu with some interesting choices including some lovely lightly battered tempura squid. £17/head was good value.

Helpful?
Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Driven passed here so many time and never thought about going in but glad I did tonight! Simply blown away with the food!

Never thought canton could offer such lovely tasting food, me and my gf loved it and will def be back!

If your looking for a change in food instead of your normal boring Chinese/Japanese this is the place!

Amazing food with service to match

Helpful?
1 Thank bluebird1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ichiban also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Ichiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing