We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic and perfect for sleep after a party”
Review of NosDa Hostel & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NosDa Hostel & Bar
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very basic and perfect for sleep after a party”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We spent one night at Nosda, after a party. It was perfect for us, as it's situated right behind Millenium Stadium and the car park is free. It's a bit expensive for what it is inside, it is very very simple, the bathroom was very crap and small, but clean (as soon as u turn on the shower all the floor is full of water, coz all the floor is at the same level!). Just for one night it's fair enough.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrina1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    82
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
28
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Group of 17 of us stayed here for my brothers stag weekend.

We had 3x 6 bed dorms that worked really well for our group, the rooms are basic. But ultimately we were only after somewhere sleep.

The best bit about the place is the bar/communal area downstairs, lots of comfy seats, a well stocked bar and even a pool table.

Staff all really friendly.

My only slight niggle was there never seemed to be quite enough hot water for a decent shower.

I would not hesitate to reccomend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyperpadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

march 2013, first time at NosDa hostel, pleasantly surprised, better than other hostel I've stayed at, clean, very friendly & helpful staff, large room with shower, loo, fridge, microwave, TV and sofa. Very clean, bedding better than some hotels I've stayed in, not noisy. Basic breakfast but what do you expect for cheap accommodation. Well stocked bar. Suitable for families and great central location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsetgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I was here for the 2012 Summer Olympics and this location was PERFECT. It is right across from Millennium Stadium and a walk away from the train station, pubs, shopping areas, etc. I did not use public transportation at all during my stay (everything is within walking distance) Beds are really comfortable and rooms are fairly big. The only cons: There is no wifi in rooms but if you go downstairs there is a great lounge area were you can use it. Also, males and females share the same restroom but there was no one there every time I would have to use it. Restrooms were also very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itzel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed in a 3 Bed Private Room with a private bathroom (room number 50) and had our own couch and TV in the room (the remote didn't work though ;)). The room was very spacious and clean and we had free towels to use. Unfortunately our shower curtain was really mouldy and smelled absolutely disgusting. The beds were okay but the pillows were too hard, it felt like placing your head on a stone.
The breakfast is really good: 3 types of cornflakes, fruits (oranges, apples, bananas) and toast with different types of spreads; coffee, tea and orange juice is available as well. The lounge is welcoming and the receptions staff is friendly and super helpful. They even have 3 laptops that you can use for free to plan things for the next day etc.
The location is good, it's about 10 minutes to the city centre or Cardiff Castle. There is a free luggage storage. Would definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Over fifties weekend to see the rugby. Our Norbtour guide did well with the the accommodation, which is close to the station, the stadium and the city centre. Room prices were double this weekend, so Nos Da doing good business........but everywhere is the same.

Our room was well decorated and clean....at least when we arrived. The staff were efficient and helpful. Passkeys issued, and advice given helfully. Breakfast was simple but ample and worked OK apart from the toasters which needed to be set off the night before. This 'hostel' had everying that a 'hotel' would have....including free use of 3 modern laptops to plan the next move. Correction...that is more than I have seen in any hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The location of this hostel was great, right next to Cardiff city centre, just across from the stadium. It's a veeery quick walk to the vibrant nightlife that the city has to offer and it would be very hard to get lost coming back from a big night out !!! I noticed that directly to the west of the hostel (the city centre is directly to the east), the neighbourhood looked a little bit rough around the edges, but that said I had absolutely no problems at all during my stay. The hostel is your typical bar/hostel affair, with the bar functioning as the reception as well and this is also where they serve breakfast in the morning. The rooms were nice and quite clean, but as I was staying on one of the higher floors it was an absolute maze of stairways and hallways to get to my room and I frequently got lost on my way out and in. All in all a very nice stay with pleasant staff but it really is the amazing location that makes this place shine !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NosDa Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Property: NosDa Hostel & Bar
Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing