We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, good location ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NosDa Hostel & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NosDa Hostel & Bar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, good location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

There were 3 of us so we got a 3 bed room, 1 bunk bed 1 single, all single sized. Standard hostel decor with sink in room, enough sockets for charging all we needed. Room was clean, had a nice big window facing the water.

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, breakfast was okay, location was good, walking distance to everything (train station, bus station, city centre)

Guests were mixed, unfortunately we were sharing a hallway with a very drunk girl who spent the entire night pounding on her door and screaming, having locked herself out. We then went downstairs to get her help, and she was let back into her room, until about an hour later when this happened all over again. Also our window was directly above the pub patio, but that was fine as they shut the patio pretty early. Otherwise area was quiet and nice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    77
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
28
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very good location, as it is right on the walking trail to cross the bridge into town. Rooms were simple but clean. Reasonably good breakfast by the pub downstairs. Overall, very good value for the money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

stayed here for 2nights in an en-suite twin room, the downstairs bar and eating area very good, a good size kitchen, lounge areas to chill out watch TV etc, wi-fi is free only in public areas, a continental breakfast offered, and 10% off meals if staying. Our room was good size for two but had 2 other pull down beds, very small shower, seperate (tiny) sink & toilet, the sink was only big enough to wash hands! only two available plugs which were not conveniently situated, did have fridge, microwave and two electric rings. Beds & pillows very hard and room very warm.
there was a considerable amount of noise made by other guests allowing doors to slam and from locals/guests coming in from night out. Excellent location and staff very warm and welcoming.
Cost of twin room for 2nights fri-sun £136. overall good experience but some shortfalls, unlikely to stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Fantastic service made our stay in this budget hostel a very enjoyable one. The lovely Clare really went above and beyond to make sure that we were happy and comfortable. Rooms were simple but clean - we'd definitely come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

2 nights in 5 people dorm, 19£ per person and night. I had to laugh as the room and especialy the shower/toilet looked like it would be in a submarine (and the shower was really small - but worked well and was clean) but was large enough, clean with comfortable beds. Good location. Staff was helpfull, breakfast with icluded a choice of flakes, breads/toasts, jams, chocospread, cheese, ham, fruits, coffe, tea, juice... Friendly atmosfere all around the house. On the evening you can play board games, watch TV or just have a chat with other people in a common room or have a drink or beer on a small bar or garden.
I always recommend to take and use ear plugs in this type of hotels as it often is necessary but as much as I rememeber I didn't use them in this hostel and sleeped well.
I would definitelly return to this nice hostel and I can also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muf_javicioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for a large stag party (22 over 4 rooms). The hostel is good value, with a good bar and is clean and tidy and the staff are helpful. The location is excellent (5 mins from the Mill Stad and station in one direction, and 5 mins from the bars). The only downside was that the mattresses on the bed were in poor condition, and I woke up several times with a sore back. Overall I'd definitely recommend it and getting better mattresses would give it a 5/5

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mogwai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I came on a backpacking tour to this hostel and stayed 2 nights. We requested a private room but didn't realize we should've specified an en-suite bedroom. I wouldn't have bothered spending the extra money just for a private room when the bathroom was a bit of a walk away. The room was clean enough but there were spiders living in the corners. I was okay since I've spent a lot of time in the country but my friend had a harder time. The room did have a sink which was nice to be able to brush your teeth and wash up etc and they provided towels which was a nice touch. The bathroom was a bit difficult in that the shower had a button with no temperature control- it was a bit hot and short lived. Being a female with long hair, this took some maneuvering. The atmosphere of the hostel was very friendly. There was a locked area with lounge that made up the hostel, but beyond the locked door was a restaurant and bar with a great deck overlooking the riverwalk and sports arena. The bar offered us a free beer with our group so I enjoyed trying a pint of Brains. The breakfast was good- cereal and bread with some fruit. The location was great - a few blocks from the castle and right on the river. Overall, it was a fine hostel with a nice atmosphere and great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate11os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NosDa Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Property: NosDa Hostel & Bar
Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing