We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambience and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NosDa Hostel & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NosDa Hostel & Bar
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed two nights in a private ensuite room (double bed, optional bunk for a third). It was enormous and it even included a sofa, a kitchenette and a tv. It didn't have a hair dryer but I could borrow it at the reception (there was only one so I had to bring it back asap). Towels were included but not toiletries. Cleanliness was ok - just a couple of dust bunnies when I arrived, but they were gone the next day. Wifi was very weak upstairs and disconnected frequently, while it was ok in the common rooms. The shower had good pressure but it was a bit too hot and I didn't manage to change the temperature.
The common rooms were very comfortable and large, and the kitchen well equipped. The kitchen and one of the common rooms are accessible only with a keycard, so there was some much appreciated privacy.
Breakfast included various types of cereals and spreads, plus apples and bananas. I very much liked having it outside on the patio, since the sun was shining and the scenery pleasant.
The location is ideal - very close to the railway station and the city centre (just a few minutes walking), and one can walk alongside the river to the Bay and reach it in approximately half an hour (although buses from the railway station pass frequently). The neighbourhood is very quiet, so there is no noise from cars.
Overall I had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the patio if you are an early sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faerie_queene87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    78
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
28
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

One of the best hostels in Cardiff with good rooms, bar, outside seating by river, internet and friendly atmosphere. It costs a bit more here but is worth it overall. There is a short walk to the town center but the area is good and safe.

Room Tip: All the rooms were about the same so any room is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moriarty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely room, spacious and modern, clean and tidy, thats what we needed.

Combined with a central location of the hostel in the city, 5 minutes from the central train station and the rest of the city ´s attractions.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was basic and great.

All in all, i really enjoyed my stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoc389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I spent two nights here in a four bed room. The room was simple and clean which was all we needed.
The bar was fun- we got a free pint of welsh beer!
Good location to see the main sights in Cardiff.
Breakfast was the usual- toast, coffee, fruit and it was good.
Overall, we had a great time here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jauhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights while part of a tour. Rooms were pretty decent, good size with a four bed dorm. Bathroom facilities were pretty average. Breakfast was included and had a pretty good selection of food. Bar had decent prices and kitchen facilities were great but most of all the hostel is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good value for money, if you don't mind sharing a room with other people then its brilliant and on a budget you cant go wrong, Roughly a 5 minute walk to the town centre and high street, Clubs, bars, restaurants, shopping centre.

You can request a male / female dormitory or a mixed dormitory usually sleeps between 4 and 8

I made so many friends, in a few days. I had 2 days in a mixed dormitory and 1 day in a males only dormitory. many different nationalities and so many friendly faces.

Nos Da have a great reputation for their hospitality, food and drinks and on top of that some of the entertainment is spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for Sharon at the bar/restaurant amazing person and will help you with anything she can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSmith1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Spent many an odd night here and never been let down the feel at home atmosphere the friendly staff and the entertainment this joint puts on is second to none real community feel and will return again and again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NosDa Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Property: NosDa Hostel & Bar
Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing