We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for group of mates”
Review of NosDa Hostel & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NosDa Hostel & Bar
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for group of mates”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Really good hostel stayed there for two nights. Breakfast is basic. Nice healthy options if your into fruit in the morning. But really good location would definatly go back there if went back to Cardiff. Staff are cool.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    85
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
28
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I stayed here with a group of lads as we were on a stag do and this is a great Hostel. I have stayed in my fair share of Hostels during my travelling days and this one has to be up there with the best ones.
The location is great. Opposite the stadium, a short walk from the train station and easy reach (staggering home distance) from the bars/clubs/restaurants.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is good. Beer is a good price and the food was also good. Most hostels I have stayed breakfast isn’t included but here it is. It’s basic but completely fine with a choice of Cereals, toast, fruit and tea, coffee and juice.
The rooms were good too. I stayed in a 5 bed room (57 I think) and there was plenty of room for 5 big lads and luggage. Sofa and TV in the room with Freeview and there is a toilet and wash basin and a basic shower. I did use the other communal showers and these were fine too.
There is a gym on site too which is only £3.50 for 2 hours if you are staying at the hostel and the communal sitting areas are comfy with a Hammock, loads of seats and a big flat screen TV.
So, in my opinion, a great clean and friendly hostel which is great value for money if you are just looking for a place to crash....a defo thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danrelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed here for my stag from Friday 14th - Sunday 16th May 2010, had a great stay and loved Cardiff this place is in the ideal location is right beside the Millenium Stadium and is 5 minute walk from city centre!!

The facilities in the hostel are great, there is a bar, free wi-fi and they have a hammock to laze around in and if you can't get the hammock there is a few bean bag cushion seats to relax in........... never got to relax in them as we were always doing something, tho one of the guys did fall asleep in the hammock on the saturday night after a hard days drinking.

Would love to be back in Cardiff again and if i am there is only one place i'd be staying and that is NosDa Hostel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was very clean also.......... can't recmmend this place enough to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

great location, recently redecorated rooms with tidy bathrooms en suite, nice bar, friendly staff, free and well-operating wifi, kitchen, huge breakfast,... and all that for quite small budget.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raven1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göttingen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

First of all, there is no curfew so there will be someone to let you in after a jaunt to Cardiff's nightlife or a late arrival. Second, the door numbers and signs are nothing but stylishly projected light. OK, maybe not one of the main reasons to stay but it looks cool. Shower rooms ok but demand strategical placement of clothes in the shower cabin lest getting wet. Outside the keycard-accessible area (rooms, bathrooms, lounge, kitchen etc) the reception is attached to a bar with free wifi internet access and good continental breakfast being served in the morning. In the evening a good choice of cold and hot food as well as beverages is available and during a round of Pool there are lots of friendly fellow travellers to meet, including people who don't reside in the hostel! Reasonably priced, 7 mins to walk from Cardiff Central Station and a friendly international atmosphere. Ideal to discover Cardiff on a small budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romapasqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2009

This was our second trip to the nosda. the first last year was wonderful and there was loads of work to be done (paint was peeling off the walls) but we just loved the location ,the staff ,the room ,and of course the pub. But this year we were so impressed with all the remodling that had been done we just kept repeating "this is so cool" it is updated with key card security threw out the building, the lighting is all triggered by motion in the halls and bathrooms,there is a new gym right in the building, new appliances for guest to cook and do laundry. sitting out having breakfast on the river across from the stadium in the morning and a pint in the afternoon is great. I could go on and on about the place but you just have to go and experience it yourself we will be returning next year and NOSDA will be our only place to stay in cardiff. WE JUST LOVED IT

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnieminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Good news - the NosDa seems to be completely refurbished now. To get to your rooom you need a key card and there are 3 doors to open so that security seems to be good as well.

Rooms are nice and completely new - I stayed in a 6-bed dorm - it was clean and airy.

Bathrooms are in the corridor (some rooms might be ensuite) but these are also new and hot water all day. Great location with coach and train station (Cardiff Central) about 6-7 minutes walk away.

Only downside was that the Wi-Fi didn't work but they have a couple of wired laptops there for customers to use free of charge.

I would certainly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip-1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
825 reviews
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NosDa Hostel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Property: NosDa Hostel & Bar
Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing