We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service !”

Laguna Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #62 of 1,213 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$49
Cuisines: European, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: City Centre
gold coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service !”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Extraordinarliy good food - my husband said it was the best meal he has ever eaten - and that's saying something... Good value wine selection, attentive but not simpering wait staff - overall excellent !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    156
    73
    40
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My girlfriend and I were staying at the Park Plaza Hotel (see separate review) and were lucky enough to get a space downstairs at the Laguna restaurant. After waiting for an hour (they were booked up and I hadn't reserved!), we were greeted by extremely friendly staff who immediately apologised for the wait, and sat us at our table. A great drinks selection to choose from. I had already planned what to eat, and all I can say is it was some of the best food I have ever eaten. Great choice of menu, beyond-expectation service, exquisite food. I'll definitely go back when I can.
If you want a special night out where you get what you pay for, then this is the place to go. Just remember to book on a weekend night to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second visit, never fails to deliver!”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Having visited this restaurant last year and had a great experience, my boyfriend and I made another visit this month.
What a lovely experience! This place isn't just about the beautiful food, it's the service that makes you want to keep coming back!
As it was a Wednesday evening it was pretty quiet; around 4 tables were occupied including ours, so our food was served incredibly fast. Presentation of the food is fab, like a piece of art.

The only issue we had this time was that there were no chocolate fondants available for dessert, and we wanted this as it came with peanut butter ice cream. However after speaking to the lovely waitress, we were able to have a sample of ice creams, WITH the peanut butter flavour included, even though it's not usually available as an option.
Overall the starters, mains, and dessert were out of this world, amazing quality meats and the waitress was very attentive. This is definitely a treat for us, and we always look forward to going there! Perfect for a special occasion, which this was,

Will always recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wand3rlusttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“All around outstanding, in Cardiff!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Recently, my wife and I stayed at the Park Plaza in Cardiff (very nice hotel). We wandered down for dinner and luckily ate at the Laguna, which is the restaurant in the hotel. Who would have imagined the experience - absolutely 5 star on every dimension. Nice menu, lovely food, outstanding friendly service. My wife is vegetarian and the chef created dishes to suit her needs. Light preparation, immense taste. The restaurant compares with the best experiences of New York, London and the like, without all the fuss and drama. Not expensive, especially considering the quality of the overall experience. Well done.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nsnandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't underestimate it”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This place has upped its game. It is a great experience from start to finish. The service was amazing - the manager was making sure that everything was perfect from the table setting to ghe lighting levels - and the spacious dining room feels very luxurious.

It's a great pace for a romantic meal or special occasion. Far better than any other hotel restaurant in Cardiff...

Don't underestimate this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dupainduvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laguna Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Laguna Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing