We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elgano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elgano Hotel
Ranked #19 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Okay value for money, good bed and breakfast, very accommodating. Make
Sure you're at breakfast by 0930 as it stops serving then.
Great showers and beds.
Great bar.
£5 from city centre in a taxi.
Very friendly service.
TV in rooms
No air con
Very clean

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    38
    13
    6
    13
See reviews for
18
35
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I would recommend staying somewhere else for a trip to Cardiff. The rooms are incredibly noisy, where you can hear conversations from the hallway, loud noises from water pipes, exhaust fans and the kitchen. The beds and pillows were very lumpy and uncomfortable. Although a non smoking room the sheets and curtains smelled like tobacco/cigarette smoke. The room was dusty and did not feel clean. After all this, the room was very expensive (£145) so I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Critique-ByCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The restaurant at Elgano's is fantastic. I enjoyed the mussels and the lamb. But, I wouldn't recommend the accommodation. Not even for convenience. The room was noisy, not from street traffic but from the kitchen. For hours the fan from the kitchen buzzed and hummed. The beds and pillows were not comfortable. The linen and curtains stank of cigarette smoke despite being a smoke-free room. Not what I had expected for the price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank imho_478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in Elgano on 14th December in the coach house at rear. The booking was easy and The lady was very polite. The break fast was great with again lovely Staff.
Unfortunately there were a few disappointments which were:-
Elgano

Coach house downstairs make sure you avoid at all costs as the guests upstairs everytime they visited the loo you heard every flush. When we were there a family of 4 were there possibly grandparents and grandchildren and it was flushed at least twice an hour.
Creaking floorboards above
Feels like your in the shower with upstairs guests first shower from above room was from 7 o'clock for nearly 20 mins then next only from 7.30 for a couple of minutes.
Window opposite bed frosted no curtains.
We Live in Cardiff so booked for convienice but really disappointed as when booked there were two rooms left and when asked which would be recommended she said the coach house it was quite small.
Staff and owner lovely from first booked until when checked out.
Please don't take my notes as a bad review I just believe we got unlucky with Guests above but it spoilt it for us.

Room Tip: Avoid downstairs Coach house creaking floors above and very poor soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanShep_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My son and three friends travelled to Cardiff for a concert, which was regrettably cancelled. They stayed at this lovely hotel for 1 night. Upon their arrival they were warmly greeted and made very welcome. The boys were accommodated in a family room which was very comfortable and clean and a fantastic shower apparently! Hazel even gave them a lift into town. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it.
If the boys visit Cardiff again they would not hesitate to stay here.
Thank you so very much!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynee651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We parked our car in the small parking lot on the hotel property and were immediately greeted by a very nice man. He welcomed us and carried our luggage to the room. The room was in a seperate building from the main house called the carriage house. We had a nice, quiet view of the park and Sophia Close. It was clean, with two large Windows for plenty of natural light. Although, it rained all of the time! The man we met was Elgin, the owner, and I have high praise for his heartfelt hospitality. We had the pleasure of meeting Hazel, his wonderful and kind wife. She served us a fine evening meal one night of our three night visit. Also, Petra was so caring, considerate and professional. She went out of her way to make our stay perfect! The walk to the city center took about 15 minutes. The castle and the art museum were accessible by foot through the park or along Cathedral rd and are highly recommended. We drove 2 miles to the bayfront on our final day and spent to afternoon at Techniquest. My three year old daughter loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiestaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel and catering industry is also known as The Hospitality Sector. Hazel and Elgan understand this. The welcome is warm; the way the staff talk to you, serve you and behave all combine to make you welcome and more importantly, feel welcome. They have a professionally relaxed approach so you feel comfortable. The requests that you make are met with a positive attitude and if they can accommodate it they will.

The hotel is a family large Victorian property that has been adapted. Recent modifications to create a dining/bar area turning the hotel from B&B to more than that are recent. Martin is a chef they have brought in to create a dining experience and menu. Early indications are good with a variety of choices, but not too ambitious. Still early days as the staff learn what delivering this service means. We were part of a large group, both residents and visitors so they were tested to the limit and did well.

The bar staff need to learn the trade and understand whiskey and water means water in a jug on the side and not a glass of water too! Small point that you forgive because they are lovely and willing people.

We had a room in the coach house (room 10). Newly refurbished/built. No sound insulation with the room above. One thing to hear footsteps, but to be able to hear their ablutions is a bit disconcerting! Rooms in the main house are better insulated. Ones at the back overlooking Sophia Walk may be quieter from traffic noise but the new bar/dining area may create a different, albeit not all night noise. Front of the building rooms have some traffic noise according to our daughter who had one of those rooms.

The Elgano is a friendly, welcoming hotel with personality in the people and the building. It is not a chain hotel with a formula, but that also means quirks that give it character. Given the location to the City Centre and Millenium Stadium it is a gem, and also has off street parking.

Room Tip: Upstairs room in the coach house for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedupphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.0 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgano Hotel

Property: Elgano Hotel
Address: 58 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elgano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elgano always gives a warm welcome. Situated within walking distance of the City Centre, Millenium and Swalec Stadiums and beautiful Sophia Gardens. All rooms are en-suite, modern, and comfortable. Secure Parking. Fast internet connection. Traditional breakfast cooked on site. Residents license with attractive Orangery and Lounge for guests to meet and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Elgano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgano Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing