We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, it was food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Eddie's Diner

Eddie's Diner
Ranked #456 of 1,214 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wales
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Well, it was food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Showing friends around Cardiff, we thought the place looked kitchy and cool. Kitchy, yes, but the food is absolutely dire--greasy, soggy, tasteless, even the chips were bad.They gave us the wrong order at first, but it wouldn't have mattered really, it wasn't going to be good anyway. We ended up leaving the food unfinished--we never do that, because once you've paid for food you might as well eat it and not be hungry, but this once we let ourselves give up. The car tables are kinda cool, and the area is nice. I really wanted this to be better than it was.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    70
    57
    36
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
154 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“More of a dire than diner experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We visited with kids and it was fun to sit in the back half of a convertible to eat lunch. But that's about where the fun ended. Burgers and chips wound up quite expensive considering that it's basically just fast food. It took quite a while to arrive. And when it did, the order was missing a couple of items. We had to ask twice to get it all. I found my Mexican burger inedible - gristly, soggy, tasteless. I ate barely a quarter of it.

Desserts were huge and surprisingly good value, if not that exciting. Drinks ordered with the desserts failed to arrive, although they did eventually give us a free drink for the delay. It was busy, but the menu isn't that extensive and the food not that difficult to cook or serve. Service was above all flustered, occasionally friendly. I'm no fan of Macdonalds, but I could have gone there and got better food at half the price with more professional service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fancyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We are regular visitors of Demiro's in Cardiff Bay - but we thought we would have a change and try another place to eat. Eddie's American Diner looked inviting and fun so we thought we would give it a try. The music was playing and it was like going to a typical diner as seen on many films - there was memorabeliar and pictures on the walls that were very nice. It was as if we had stepped into the 50's & 60's - but there were lots of families eating there and the children seemed to be enjoying the music and swaying and singing along. The waitress was very nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our meal was delivered to our table and it was a good helping and tasted delicious. The dessert was huge we had a superbowl to share which had fresh strawberries, fresh bananas, Ice Cream & fresh whipped cream & 2 spoons. DELICIOUS!! The price was very reasonable and we really enjoyed. The place was very clean. The food was cooked for you and fresh.
Demiro's you have competition there!!! I would say Demiro's for romance, entertainment and fine dining - Eddies Diner for fun & nostalga.
Jan & Michael Cody Mountain Ash

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Burgers from heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The quality of the food is always very good, the music is excellent, as is the atmosphere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwmbran
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service without a smile!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

went for a meal with my wife before we went to see a show, service was terriible with unfriendly staff who were not interested in taking an order or even interested in having customers at all. after waiting 30 mins with no waitress coming to check on us we eventually got our food after checking on the order with another sad staff member. food was ok tho. if they were busy could forgive the service but with only three other small groups in they really let themselves down. will not be going back

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nathan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eddie's Diner also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Eddie's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing