We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price not so impressed with the detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good price not so impressed with the detail”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night to meet my daughter who is at uni in Pontypridd. Paid less than £50 for a twin. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and it is a brilliant position next to station.
Room was actually bunks and very small, the first step to the top bunk was missing which was ok going up, not so good coming down.
Room was very hot and air conditioning only stayed on for 5 minutes. Light for bottom bunk hanging by wire and didn't want to try it. Top bunk light the bulb was out.
Bathroom was fine and met our needs.
Hotel was functional, did not have breakfast as we went to a wether spoons over the road. Staff happy to put luggage behind the reception.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joey1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to hear that we messed up with the details, we always have spare bulbs so could have easily changed the bulb and fixed the damaged fitting,once again apologies, we should had everything sorted before you checked in. I am not aware of any issues with the air conditioning, but again we have a master controller and could have rectified any error, however I can not find a record of any concerns being raised. Our twin rooms have bunk beds but our main room styles are double rooms and superior double rooms, looking through our records it looks like you specified a twin/cabin room. It is always best to let us know if you have any concerns during your stay and we will do our utmost to fix them. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    328
    149
    45
    37
See reviews for
63
315
109
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel, as it came up as a reasonable price for the city centre of Cardiff, but how I was disappointed. The room was very small indeed with minimal furniture, if you can call it that. There was a glass table with a small leather 'bean bag' type chair which was probably best suited for a child, not an adult. There is no way that the double room could have coped with 2 people!

The shower room (wet room) was a cubicle put in the corner of the room with a shower, loo and basin, again this was so small.

There was no wardrobe, but just a rail to hang your clothes on, not ideal.

Sorry but will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Jow1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear that you felt the room was too small for your needs. We do have a few rooms in the hotel that are slightly smaller (compact but well designed) than the majority of our rooms and as you stayed on a busy night you were allocated one of these rooms. We generally allocate these rooms to solo guests if possible. Unfortunately we do not have a record of you mentioning your concerns to a member of staff as we did have available a much larger Superior room on the night of your stay, we could also have provided you with a chair rather than the stool in the room had you requested it. It is always difficult to read a review that is so different to the generally positive reviews that we get for both the quality of the hotel and the service that we offer. It is always best to mention any concerns during your stay and our team will do their utmost to resolve them. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great hotel -almost in the station it is so close.

Staff were bright and friendly. Rooms are clean and have good amenities and plenty of light. Only down side is that there is no bath - the 'wet room' is tiny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmairw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for the 'great' review, its always a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests, particularly when the team are praised for their friendly service. We hope you come and stay with us again soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a business trip. I booked a double room and shared the room with a colleague as it was quite pricey at 100 pounds a night even though the hotel is marketed as a budget boutique hotel. The room was very small and sealed shut with a window that does not open. It was very poorly designed with no place to put your personal belongings, not even any towel racks or hooks. I used the TV to hang my towel on. The bathroom is equally tiny and called a wet room as the shower drains into the whole room. That's ok if the drain works but ours was plugged and would take hours to drain. So we had our bathroom constantly flooded. Picture whenever you needed to use the toilet, you had to remove your socks and shoes and roll up your pants to go into the bathroom. Also our room telephone didn't work which was annoying for anyone calling up to our rom from reception. The phone just rang and rang as if no one was there. Although I complained about these issues everyday of my 5 days there, nothing was done or fixed. Avoid this hotel at all costs, there wasn't anything positive about the experience at all.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappyincardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your review, firstly, I must apologise for the telephone not working in your room. Regarding your concerns about the drains, the housekeeping team did attend to your room with your request for additional towels and coat hangers, and a thorough cleaning of the drains; however as a ‘wet room’ the floor will remain wet for a short while after the use of a shower. You also mention the sealed room, which is designed to maximise the efficiency of the air conditioning and to reduce noise levels (an important consideration as we are in a busy city centre location next to a mainline train station). The city was very busy during your stay due to a couple of big events resulting in high demand, however our rates were still very competitive compared to other hotels in the city. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, it’s a shame because the vast majority of our guests give us very positive reviews resulting in being awarded a TripAdvisor 'Certificate of Excellence 2013' earning us a place amongst the best hotels in Cardiff. We have only received this award by offering exceptional service and a great product that most of our guests enjoy. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wanted a few nights stay in Cardiff and chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the Millenium stadium. Great little hotel, easy to park nearby and very friendly staff. There were some odd characters lurking outside the hotel, but as to be expected in a major city. The rooms are compact and clean. Breakfast was an extra which wasn't the best spread, would recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We wanted a nice-enough budget hotel for 1 night in Cardiff so booked into Sleeperz. Compared to other hotels in its price range it is very good value and stylish. It is far better than the other Cardiff hotels in the same price range.

The rooms are modern and clean, but small. But who cares? We were there to see Cardiff not the inside of a hotel room.

The location is excellent- next door to the station and near all the bars. And the biggest plus for me was that the beds were comfy and the pillows were so good I was tempted to steal them!!

Only other negative was that the windows don't open, as they are full length.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serbask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Whilst convenient for its location I wouldn't recommend place. I payed £10 to upgrade from the standard (bunkbed) room to what they call an "HD" room. The HD room had a small substandard double and not much space outside it .It felt like a hospital room, with a tiny sealed window. Displaying Wallpaper magazine in the lobby is ironic given the lack of style in this place
Staff are pleasan but hard to communicate with & generally unhelpful. charging to print a ticket on checkout seems ridiculous

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VOY4GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Address: Saunders Road | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern lifestyle hotel built with great design in mind. Centrally located in the heart of Cardiff next to the main rail station. Wooden floors, tiled wet rooms and tactile leather finishes make Sleeperz Hotels appeal to both leisure and business travellers. A restaurant/breakfast area overlooks the central square; our lounge bar area has a wood burning fire and beautiful leather sofas. Rates include FREE WiFi and national UK calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Sleeperz Hotel
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing