We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mix bag of staff in a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A mix bag of staff in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed after watching a stereophonics concert, there were six of us in three separate rooms, the hotel is ideal for the city centre and the motorpoint arena is a five minute walk if that! The hotel rooms are small, granted but does it matter if being used as a base for the night? They had everything needed in them (apart from a wardrobe) and a television!

With regards to the staff as afformentioned in the title, they were a mixed bag, there was a lovely lady who tended to us (we thought she might have been a manager.) We loved the look of the fire and she kindly offered to light it for us. She spent ages doing so and the end result was great and very cosy! She offered to get us some nibbles as we were peckish but not enough to eat a full meal and some more drinks from the bar and a quick snack turned out to be a lovely evening before the gig with us missing the opening act (not that we minded.)

After arriving back from the gig we were greeted by a male European member of staff (Nuno) with the most disgusting attitude. We were told we were not allowed to eat in the lobby because he did not want to clean up after us and it spoilt the opinion we had on the other members of staff earlier in the evening. He cancelled our room cards so we had to go back down to reception to which he had said it was my fault. I was appaled. We left first thing in the morning because he had really upset me. The lovely manager was there who let us leave our luggage at the hotel while we went shopping.

Overall, a pleasant experience... depending on who is working!

Room Tip: All rooms are small but ask to be put in a big room and they will sort it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you had a mixed experience at the hotel but I am glad to hear that overall you had a good time. I understand that our Assistant General Manager has spoken to you and explained that there may have been a misunderstanding with the night staff. Re the no TV in the room, I am not sure you meant to write that as all our rooms have large flat screen TVs on the wall. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    315
    142
    43
    34
See reviews for
59
302
107
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Got this hotel as a mystery budget price pick on lastminute.com for £43 for one night. I was a little bit anxious about the choice but i need'nt have worried. The young receptionist was delightful and the room was modern and well equipped particularly the bathroom albeit a little small. Lighting was modern and the room had a good sized flatscreen tv. I couldnt fault the room which overlooked the square outside Cardiff Central station. The breakfast the following morning was comprehensive and good quality. All in all i would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to others

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank r1chard311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Loved this hotel...looking forward to staying there again next week! Great rooms, yes they're small but are designed in such a fun way that you enjoy discovering the great use of space. Great views from the fourth floor of the square outside the station from the full length window. One of the friendliest and informative receptionists I've ever had! Enthusiastic and warm welcome after a seven hour rail journey was a rare treat. Great value and great location (2 minutes from station). Very nice stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms I'd imagine face over the railway track of Cardiff Central, ask for a city vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leelondon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for saying such kind words about the team at Sleeperz. They are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Staying a double room, brought some friends back to have some drinks, but because it was after 11pm they were refused entry into the building. Making a fuss to the night staff, who were very irate and unprofessional, asking them to provide me with reason as to why I was not allowed company between 11pm and 7am, to which they replied ''we don't have to show you proof'' (they were fobbing off saying it was against fire regulation). They then called the police because I was pulling their argument apart and they had nothing else to say. - If it were against fire regulation, then during daytime hours, the same rules would apply, which they don't, as they are fabricated. Staff on duty day and night are eastern-european with non-fluent english.

A male member of staff was looked very untidy and reaked of stale smoke was very rude to my friend, raising his hand to his face saying he wouldn't speak to him as he wasn't staying in the hotel.
The next day we were locked out of our rooms because reception wanted to 'remind us' that no non-paying guests are allowed in the hotel after 11pm. (Don't plan of getting lucky). - Our room keycards had been disabled so we had to go to reception to be kindly reminded of these [--] rules, and as a dental surgeon, its been a long time since I've been treated to feel like a petulant child. After I was reminded, it occurred to me, what if I had medication in my room i.e. an epi-pen, insulin or an asthma inhaler, that was locked in my room that I had pre-paid for?

I had come to terms with how woefully the hotel treated us, but writing this review has infuriated me once more.

Final thing to add was that we had mould growing on our bedroom wall that was ideally located next to our bath towels. Bath towels aptly named considering there was no bath, nor shower per say, merely a wet room, that was clearly jerry built as in indentation into the bedroom space, with the bed extending head first away from the wet room.

If you intend to complain about your stay though, don't bother, there is no dedicated complaints service, nor contact details, and the only email addresses provided as points of contact are for PR purposes. I emailed all the email addresses I found, and received no reply (probably because I was criticising the hotel, and asking for compensation as I am entitled to under consumer rights law).

I shall never be staying at Sleeperz Hotel, Cardiff again, and I personally feel the hotel is a skid mark on the underwear of a fantastic cultural capital city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We rarely disagree so fundamentally with a guest. We received your email and within 2 days had investigated and replied to you in great detail. Your behavior was so bad at 4am, arguing, bullying and abusing our staff that we called the police. You had pre planned to bring additional friends to your room, sneaking in their luggage and an inflatable bed and are simply being vindictive. As you will have read in the many other reviews that we get, we offer great levels of service and friendliness and will always aim to please resulting in a TripAdvisor certificate of excellence award, clearly this review is so far from the norm that we have responded in this forthright manner to protect the reputation of our hotel, our staff and our company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night to meet my daughter who is at uni in Pontypridd. Paid less than £50 for a twin. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and it is a brilliant position next to station.
Room was actually bunks and very small, the first step to the top bunk was missing which was ok going up, not so good coming down.
Room was very hot and air conditioning only stayed on for 5 minutes. Light for bottom bunk hanging by wire and didn't want to try it. Top bunk light the bulb was out.
Bathroom was fine and met our needs.
Hotel was functional, did not have breakfast as we went to a wether spoons over the road. Staff happy to put luggage behind the reception.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joey1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to hear that we messed up with the details, we always have spare bulbs so could have easily changed the bulb and fixed the damaged fitting,once again apologies, we should had everything sorted before you checked in. I am not aware of any issues with the air conditioning, but again we have a master controller and could have rectified any error, however I can not find a record of any concerns being raised. Our twin rooms have bunk beds but our main room styles are double rooms and superior double rooms, looking through our records it looks like you specified a twin/cabin room. It is always best to let us know if you have any concerns during your stay and we will do our utmost to fix them. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel, as it came up as a reasonable price for the city centre of Cardiff, but how I was disappointed. The room was very small indeed with minimal furniture, if you can call it that. There was a glass table with a small leather 'bean bag' type chair which was probably best suited for a child, not an adult. There is no way that the double room could have coped with 2 people!

The shower room (wet room) was a cubicle put in the corner of the room with a shower, loo and basin, again this was so small.

There was no wardrobe, but just a rail to hang your clothes on, not ideal.

Sorry but will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Jow1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear that you felt the room was too small for your needs. We do have a few rooms in the hotel that are slightly smaller (compact but well designed) than the majority of our rooms and as you stayed on a busy night you were allocated one of these rooms. We generally allocate these rooms to solo guests if possible. Unfortunately we do not have a record of you mentioning your concerns to a member of staff as we did have available a much larger Superior room on the night of your stay, we could also have provided you with a chair rather than the stool in the room had you requested it. It is always difficult to read a review that is so different to the generally positive reviews that we get for both the quality of the hotel and the service that we offer. It is always best to mention any concerns during your stay and our team will do their utmost to resolve them. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great hotel -almost in the station it is so close.

Staff were bright and friendly. Rooms are clean and have good amenities and plenty of light. Only down side is that there is no bath - the 'wet room' is tiny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmairw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for the 'great' review, its always a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests, particularly when the team are praised for their friendly service. We hope you come and stay with us again soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Address: Saunders Road | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern lifestyle hotel built with great design in mind. Centrally located in the heart of Cardiff next to the main rail station. Wooden floors, tiled wet rooms and tactile leather finishes make Sleeperz Hotels appeal to both leisure and business travellers. A restaurant/breakfast area overlooks the central square; our lounge bar area has a wood burning fire and beautiful leather sofas. Rates include FREE WiFi and national UK calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Sleeperz Hotel
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing