We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location; Above Average - but wifi had a limit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good location; Above Average - but wifi had a limit”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It's in a good location. beside the train station and Millenium stadium. 10-15 min walk to Cardiff Uni. 5 min walk to St. David’s Shopping Complex.
Our room for two was just enough (bordering small). But the beds, pillows are comfortable. Room / toilet is spotless and modern, tastefully decorated. Can't say anything about the food in the hotel since we never ate there since there so much choices nearby (including Jamie's Italian food)
With the above, I WOULD have given it an Excellent rating. I have to downgrade it because of the WIFI limitation.
In this day and age and in Europe, I half expected that when it is free WIFI, it should be enough for emails, do video communication (facetime or skype) to check with the love ones, etc.

I could agree, there could be some upper (but very high) limit. I can't remember the exact limit they gave us but we got cut off while we were Skyping. To Sleeperz Credit, they gave me another code. So, score for me is indeed above average..

Room Tip: If there is an event in the Millennium stadium, e.g. Rugby, street side could be VERY noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anditso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review, we do try and upgrade our free wi-fi service on a regular basis and will be raising limits again to meet the demands our guests. Glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    336
    152
    48
    38
See reviews for
64
326
109
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Was stressed as soon as I entered our "compact" room. I was expecting small, but not this small. Felt cramped and claustrophobic and felt ripped off at £65 a night. Nightmare trying to get ready to go out. Budget hotel in a good location. I'd be happier to pay around £40 for the room. Parking is at NCP opposite at you can get a ticket at reception for £9. Would stay again if the room rate came down to a more realistic level.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Glad to hear that you would stay with us again, we do have some larger Queen sized rooms, maybe try one of those on your next visit. Generally as you will read from other reviews our compact rooms do meet most guests requirements for a modern city centre hotel with a great location. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed for two nights. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The location is great, next to the train station and very central, within walking distance of Cardiff Castle, the shopping area and the big park by the castle. The room was tidy but really small, hardly any space for the suitcase etc. I found that the toilet was actually a bit dirty on arrival, which was rather awful, though I forgot to complain about it. The bathroom is also very tiny, not much space to move about in, and little or no shell space for toiletries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingibjorg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, I wish you had mentioned your concern during your stay and we would have identified the problem and rectified it immediately. Thanks for the positive comments about our location and friendly staff. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonhutch
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've been lucky enough to visit Cardiff a few times over the years. Always have a great time as there is lots to see and lots to do regardless of what it is that you are into. Museums? Check. Cheesy disco? Check. History? Check. High-end dining? Check. Packet of chips on the way home? Check.

On this occasion I was only in town for one night and had flown in from Barcelona. We were a bit knackered but really pleased to rock up here. Great team behind the desk. Modern design. Rooms clean and tidy. Not a huge fan of the wet room idea but that is more me than any problem with the way it was designed. It has been a long time since I've slept in a bunk bed and even though I was alone I took the top bunk. Obviously!

Really good breakfast - make sure you add it to your bill when you check in as it knocks it down to something like £5. You eat in another modern room with full height windows so you can start your day watching the commuters of Cardiff heading into work. Its fair to stay they make an effort on dressing up!

Easy to get into the City Centre, bit of a walk to the bay, right on the doorstep of the train station - handy for catching the 0825 back to London so you can get behind your desk and start all over again.

Room Tip: I was in 214 (I think) which in on the corner and so may be a little smaller BUT you get a fun view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for leaving us a great 5 star review. Just to mention we also have lots of double bed rooms as well as our cabin/bunk bed rooms, try the double bed next time. Also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our cooked and continental buffet breakfast, I agree it is fantastic value when you book on arrival at the hotel. Come back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was basic but clean and in a great central location right next to Cardiff central station. You can walk easily to everywhere in 5-10 minutes.

The hotel has a bit of a hostel feel about it but that didn't really matter. The only thing that let it down was the wet room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really compact but work well. The rooms to the rear of the hotel face over the rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dusuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for the review, happy to hear that you liked the location and the great room rates. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When I'm staying somewhere I'm usually happy if the room is clean and quiet. The hotel is in a great location but I found it lacking in other areas.

I arrived at the hotel and having made a prior request to be on the top floor facing away from the road I was given the first floor facing the road. My room smelled like a urinal and the sheets had stains on them. I asked if someone could come and clean and the receptionist was helpful in giving me another room. My new room was much better but the wi-fi wasn't working and this was an issue because I was staying in Cardiff for work. The issue was resolved later that night but in the meantime I had to pay a deposit to borrow an ethernet cable, which also didn't work.

Also, be warned that the shower floods the bathroom, so don't leave your clothes on the floor.

I had arranged to have breakfast at the hotel because the menu said that it served soya milk. When I came down the next morning I asked for soya milk and I was told that they don't stock it. If I had known that they don't serve it, I would have just grabbed some fruit from the local M&S.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is always disappointing to hear from a guest that was not entirely happy with their stay, as you will read from other reviewers, we do generally get things right. Apologies for the issue with the Wi-Fi (which as you say was fixed later) and lack of soya milk, we simply ran out, we do stock it. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights. Strategic location, the station is around the corner and the center is a 2 minute walk. Rooms small but lovely, very clean, great breakfast for everyone, staff very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks so much for a great 5 star review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Address: Saunders Road | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern lifestyle hotel built with great design in mind. Centrally located in the heart of Cardiff next to the main rail station. Wooden floors, tiled wet rooms and tactile leather finishes make Sleeperz Hotels appeal to both leisure and business travellers. A restaurant/breakfast area overlooks the central square; our lounge bar area has a wood burning fire and beautiful leather sofas. Rates include FREE WiFi and national UK calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Sleeperz Hotel
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing