We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Travelodge at Cardiff Atlantic Wharf is in the ideal location for anyone visiting Cardiff Bay and its many attractions - Wales Millennium Centre, Dr Who Experience, Techniquest, Red Dragon Centre - and is only a couple of minutes walk from any of them, as well as from a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and cafes. Parking is free too, which is an added bonus. I stay here at least two or three times a year, but on my latest visit was delighted to find the rooms all refurbished, with new and extremely comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    404
    107
    27
    28
See reviews for
272
514
50
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

After staying in various travelodges, and might i add payed more and had some not so good experiances. I would highly recommend this travelodge i found it Clean,free parking (with a good size car park) and right by the attractions i wanted to see.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, room spotlessly clean and tons of free parking.

Best Travelodge I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many.

Loads of places to eat on the doorstep.

If you don't mind the walk the city centre and train station is only about a 20 minute brisk walk.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DT_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights in family room which was clean and well presented. All staff encountered were helpful and friendly. Lifts to all floors with on site bar/restaurant open at delegated times and where breakfast (if ordered) is also provided on a self serve basis. Parking is immediately outside hotel which is free if you get your parking ticket verified by reception on departure. Location is excellent and within walking distance of the Bay area which offers attractions such as Techniquest, Cinema, Bowling Alley and various dining options. Bus stop conveniently across road if you want to head into Cardiff City Centre. Accommodation consisted of comfortable and clean double bed with pull out bed settee, desk area, tean and coffee making facilities, tv etc and en-suite bathroom with sink, toilet, bath and shower.

Will definitely use again on next visit to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymro_Cymraeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This Travelodge is in a fantastic location, and all of the staff are really friendly and helpful. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast is great value for money.
This is our 5th Visit and looking forward to making a return visit next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel is your standard fare Travelodge with basic bed, a small TV, kettle, a tiny hand soap, and not much else. On this occasion, we requested a family room which converted the sofa into a bed suitable for a child.

The bathroom had a definite smell about it which put me off a bit and the tiles could have been a bit cleaner.

Outside, we saw two pigeons fighting over a rat corpse.

On the plus side, breakfast fare was a bit lackluster, but plentiful and the staff were friendly.

It is also very close to Cardiff Bay, making it convenient for the Doctor Who experience, but not that close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p011y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We always stay at this hotel in Cardiff Bay, which is good value for money. This visit was even better, they have spruced up the rooms making them really fresh . This isn't an old hotel anyway but what a difference. The beds are the best change, they are so comfy. Can highly recommend to anyone who wants a functional clean hotel that doesn't cost the earth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing