We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is one of the better maintained of the brand, the staff are efficient, friendly and a great source of local knowledge.
the rooms have been updated in the last year since we last stayed and the beds are incredibly comfortable!
the location of the hotel is superb for Cardiff Bay, positioned in a leisure park so easy access to restaurants, casino, cinema etc. with a speedy train ride or boat trip (£2-£3) to get to Cardiff town itself
however it suffers the curse of all travelodges SINGLE SEX GROUPS, Travelodge need to train their staff better to cope with these guests who are so hell bent on having a good time they give no thought to the other guests at 3am when they come back drunk, screaming, shouting and banging on doors
another trip tainted by this

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Spent two nights in the Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf. The first was hot, sweaty and uncomfortable. The rooms do not have air conditioning - only a window and a fan, and the fan in our room was not in a fully working condition. Every now and again, it would slow down, then grudgingly re-start. We asked for another, but there were none available.

Everyone found sleep difficult due to the hot, airless nature of the room.

The bath was small and not spotless on arrival. Even worse, at breakfast on our first morning, i was handed a stack of crockery and one of the plates was coated in caked-on food waste from a previous meal. It was replaced immediately with an apology, but should not have been offered in the first place.

Breakfast - cereals, cakes and the makings of a full English breakfast - was adequate but not spectacular. Car parking is free, but needing to validate the exit ticket each time you want to drive somewhere can become tiresome.

The main advantage of the hotel is its location, a few minutes walk from all the good things on offer in Cardiff Bay. Other than that, it was overly hot and uncomfortable in the summer heat.

Room Tip: Bring your own fan if warm weather is forecast for Cardiff.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We are really sorry to learn of your disappointed with the temperatures in your room Meo M, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans as you are aware of. We do expect for our facilities in the rooms and the bar café to be clean; we will ensure our Hotel Manager is made aware of your feedback so they are able to address these issues at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed for one night with my husband and two grandchildren We thoroughly enjoyed our look around Cardiff Bay. Atlantic Wharf Travelodge was the ideal place as our base. Clean quiet lovely bed and good food Excellent all round. Will come again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tonyglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The room is very basic but is very clean and tidy. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. They also send someone up to the room to see if everything is alright and to see if you need anything like more milk or tea bags. The hotel is situated in the middle of cardiff bay so the attractions of cardiff bay are very close. Cardiff bay train station is 100m away and is right opposite the hotel. Also the cardiff airport express bus passes the hotel which you can get on if you are using the airport. The food is very nice but a little bit pricy. I would reccomend that when you book the hotel that you add the meal deal for £10 a person. Overall this is a very nice hotel !!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Paul1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Cardiff bay Travelodge is reminiscent of other city centre budget hotels we have visited in Europe - clean bright and airy with simple, functional and really comfortable furnishings. We booked a family room for two adults and two children and it was ideal for our two day stay. The staff were really friendly and efficient and were very willing and able to help with excellent advice on making the most of the time in Cardiff.

The location is very convenient for the attractions of Cardiff Bay - a huge choice of pubs and restaurants with large outdoor terrace areas and our destination, the Dr Who experience.


  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel was clean, comfy, and pleasant, with free parking in an excellent location. The staff were all friendly and efficient, and we loved being able to access the bay so easily for all day walks, and pleasant evening strolls to choose food at one of the many good eating places. There are many interesting places to visit nearby if you have your car, too, such as St. Fagan's open air museum (excellent, and FREE!), Llantwit Major, where we swam in the warm sea for an hour at the beach, and Dyffryn NT gardens-beautiful! Book in advance to get saver rates-you'll be pleased at the excellent value! We've planned a return trip already-Mon/Fri works out cheapest if you can avoid week ends.Go for it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

For anyone wanting to visit the Doctor Who Experience I recommend this hotel for its closeness to everything Doctor Who, but be aware to take a sharp left turn off the roundabout to get into the carpark!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £47 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing