We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Travelodge in a good location for everything in Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
155 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Modern Travelodge in a good location for everything in Cardiff”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We selected this Travelodge based in good reviews and a convenient location for an overnight stay in Cardiff and we were not disappointed. The location is excellent, being just minutes from all the attractions of Cardiff Bay and only a 15min easy walk into Cardiff city centre. Our room was clean and modern, was quiet overnight and provided all that we needed for a short stay at a good price.

Car parking is plentiful in the car park at the shopping centre nearby and is free, so that's a bonus. Overall, a good Cardiff stopover option especially if the Bay area is high on your "to do" list.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank RockDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    416
    112
    29
    29
See reviews for
274
534
51
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I've stayed here on many many occasions - but my reviews have been removed because the hotel as been updated and refurbished - i find this very annoying as my views regarding service, price, location etc are still valid. So i'll keep my review short so that I'm not wasting my time.
Excellent location for Bay and Cardiff centre. Cheap, clean ideal for somewhere to crash after a night out

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is handy to this entertainment precinct and that is all we thought it had going for it. Dinner was disappointing, breakfast was uninspiring. The hotel had a horrendous smell of room freshener, luckily the windows opened and allowed in fresh air. Generally speaking the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review HelenPatric. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard so it is regrettable to learn that this service fell below the standards which we expect. We will ensure we pass on your comments to the Hotel Management team which will support any improvements which need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I booked this hotel for one reason, a boozy day and night in Cardiff. The location for this is excellent, a short £1.70 bus ride to the shopping center from the bus stop right outside the hotel and a 5 minute walk from the bars and restaurants of Cardiff Bay.
The hotel itself is basic and functional. I paid £39 for the room which is excellent for Cardiff considering the central location. Something obviously has to give and the rooms are very basic, but the bed was comfy, and the room was warm and clean.
Would I book this hotel for anything other than a boozy night away? Probably not, but it served it's function perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 16/10/13.

Everywhere spotlessly clean, staff very polite and obliging, bed extremely comfortable.

So very pleased with the whole package, everything on the doorstep including transport to city centre.

Where else could you stay within walking distance of a Country's Capital City centre for the price and as a bonus, parking is free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshlabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A one night stay. Everywhere was clean and the staff very pleasant. The bedroom was nice but the pillows were too hard and the duvet was too hot. The breakfast was good but more variety of cooked items would have been good. The good thing about this lodge is its proximity to the Millenium Centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

From the moment we arrived early the staff were very helpful. We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the Dr Who Experience, we were surprised to find the beautiful Mermaid Quays close by, definately worth a walk down there. Parking was no problem, as long as you do your google maps homework. The room was clean and the water was hot,
We had a meal in the cafe and was very nice, after the meal we met the Regional Manager(Chris I think), what a lovely person. If you need a short stay at a great price then this the place.
.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anew63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,051 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing