We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

As we had tickets to see Priscilla at the Millenium Centre its in an ideal location. Free parking is also a plus. Room great, bit short on storage space & we had no remote for TV. Reported this to staff member who gave us a replacement and this didn't work. Noisy guests banging doors at 2am, but that's the same in any hotel. All in all paid £36 for the room & breakfast so can't complain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    396
    105
    27
    27
See reviews for
262
503
50
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I just needed a hotel for one night in Cardiff as I wanted to see the Doctor Who attractions in the area. This hotel was in my budget and in the area I needed to be in. While I enjoyed my night there, I was a bit frustrated with the service.
The room I stayed in was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom looked like it had been kept modern and large. I had a good night's sleep. I was in walking distance of the Millennium Center where there were plenty of shops and restaurants to eat. It was walking distance from the Cardiff Bay train station and a 5 pound cab ride from Cardiff Center. My advice would be, if you have luggage, to take the taxi from Cardiff Center. You change trains twice to get to Cardiff Bay and that means lugging your bags each change.
The hotel check in was at 3pm and I was surprised at how late it was. I got there an hour early, exhausted from a long train trip. I was told I couldn't check in for at least another half hour. I asked if I could leave my bags somewhere while I went and walked around the city, but was told they didn't have any place for me to do that. I was told to wait in the lounge where they had food. Food consisted of chips/crisps and drinks. I wanted to get something more substantial, but there was no food being served. There was nothing that indicated that food was only served at certain times.
I did get to check in early and was able to get to things in time. They called a cab for me the next day so I could get back to the train station. There is a buffet breakfast available in the mornings. It's one cost for as much as you want to eat. I would be happy to stay there again, but would keep in mind the odd check-in time and lack of bag storage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your recent stay Sara M. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels and we do not provide luggage storage facilities, however we do have an early check in and late check out service which will enable our guests to check in at 12 or check out at 2pm, this does come at a £10.00 charge and is subject to availability. We can confirm that the bar café at this hotel opens from 5pm to 10pm and our reception staff will be expected to advise our guests of the facilities available at the hotel so it is regrettable to learn you were not provided with this information on your arrival. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

A very clean and well maintained hotel in the bay. Good location next door to the Red Dragon centre and The Wales Millennium Centre. Good value for an overnight stay, negative points, the single beds are very small and the bar although open 24 hrs ( which did not cause us any problems with noise) was a little expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank dollywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

the staff were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. the rooms were clean and the double bed was extremely comfortable however, the single bed matress was uncomfortable. the hotel was very close to the bay and easy to find. i highly recommend it for a budget overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Staying here for 2 weeks contracting. Excellent Travelodge clean rooms modern and quiet. The staff are all polite and talkative and the breakfast is very good and a good selection. Plus the bonus of having a bar and 24 hour food. Cant complain will use again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProHotelAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Really lovely Travelodge close to millennium centre. Spotlessly clean and very quiet. Breakfast great and good value. Staff very pleasant and helpful. You do need to take your own shower gel and shampoo etc. Although they may have had this in reception. Coffee tea facilities in the room very good. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Take shower gel and shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F00dyfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Cardiff Bay and the Wales Millenium Centre, the breakfast is great but the evening menu is poor value although the food is OK would stay there again great value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank mmorris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing