We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very welcoming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was booked in to the Atlantic Wharf during a course I was attending for two days. The place was not to far from the train station and the staff were extremly friendly and welcoming on arrival. The place looks brand new and the room was very clean. It had all the basics you need in a room, comfy bed, towels, tea/coffee etc. Only let down was the food in the bar/cafe, not to say this was bad but it was basic - pizzas (Chicago Town one's), burgers. Having said that the staff more than made up for this with their fasts service and information about where to go and even where else to eat should you want something other than what was available. Breakfast was good, plenty of options from cereal to fruit to bacon and eggs or pastries.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    393
    105
    27
    27
See reviews for
262
501
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for the rugby, just over a mile to the Millennium stadium or £6 taxi ride. We were allocated a family room on the top floor which was very comfortable but bathroom very small but this is a Travelodge. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking is in the Red Dragon centre but is free when you get your parking ticket validated by reception on check out and there are quite a few parking spaces right outside reception. Cardiff Bay right next door to explore, restaurants and bar right opposite in the Dragon Centre. Quite a decent spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Travelodge has been refurbished and location is great, easy parking and close to all that the Red Dragon centre and the bay has to offer.

When I stayed the staff were very good indeed however the noise from other rooms meant that sleep was impossible then the paper thin walls meant that you could hear everyone pounding along the corridor all night. If you are planning a big night out, not getting back till the early hours then collapsing in bed it should be OK, if you want to sleep, well......

Not one I would return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor, at end of corridor, it should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

An excellent Travelodge all round. Plentiful free parking, clean rooms, nice bar and good staff.

Placed right next door to the red Dragon centre means that the location for everything the bay has to offer is perfect. If town is more your thing then a 3 minute train journey (£2 rtn) to Queen St is all it takes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallyduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Wonderful hotel for the price, refurbishment is well done, functional and stylish.
What ruined our stay was three adjacent rooms with guests that could only be described as animals.
Despite warnings from residents and hotel staff they had what I can only describe as an all night riot across three rooms.
Lovely hotel (for the class) friendly staff, but no ability to eject guests that act like animals.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mark2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We're sorry to learn of your disappointing stay Mark2901. Our hotel staff are expected to monitor noise levels in our hotels to ensure our customers get a good nights sleep and they are to request for customers to keep noise to a respectable level. It is regrettable you were disturbed by others and our hotel will be made aware of your feedback. We'd like to offer our apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Have stayed here a few times in the past. The jewel in the crown is the location and parking. Staff wonderful too.
One little little gripe. I did mention on previous stays that it would be nice to have the 'dedicated' glasses for the beers they serve. They used to do this. When paying premium prices for beer one expects that.
On previous stays I did mention to Bar staff but never addressed. Becks Bier is so nice in its dedicated glass. I was told customers take to rooms and glasses never seen again. In all honesty that is NOT an excuse not to do anything about it. Surely regular orders for glasses can be made.
Sorry if it sounds not picking but it is something that concerns me. Hope you take this complain in the way its meant!

Other than that a Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Staff were helpful with everything we needed. Rooms were clean and tidy and well maintained. The hotel is conveniently close to the casino where the girlfriend and i needed to be and also easy access to the rest of the bay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Cesar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing