We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled the ship for a hap'orth of tar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford upon Avon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spoiled the ship for a hap'orth of tar.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

To begin on a positive note, the location is brilliant. Within five minutes' walk are the bustling new harbour, countless bars and restaurants, a bowling alley, a waterbus to the city centre, the Millennium Centre and a multi-screen cinema. The hotel is easy to find, the huge car park is free for hotel guests, and the reception staff are first class.
We had spent the previous two nights at a Premier Inn in Swansea, so the general lack of finesse at Cardiff's Travelodge was probably more noticeable than it would otherwise have been. I am sorry, Travelodge, but excellent staff apart, you are lagging behind Premier Inn in every other department. Their fixtures and fittings are better, every bathroom has a bath (big enough to submerge an entire adult human, unlike yours), they supply complimentary soap, they trust their guests with a hairdryer (£6 from Asda) rather than printing out an invitation to collect one from reception, and on this short tour of South Wales, Premier Inn's rooms were cheaper. No contest.
On the web site, Travelodge Cardiff Bay promises 'showers in every room, baths in most.' So why were we allocated - on a Tuesday in May with the hotel less than half full - a room without a bath? When we queried it at reception, we were given a room with a bath immediately. This led us to believe that Travelodge's policy must be to give the smaller, less attractive rooms to customers who book on line in advance - paying £39 - and to give the bigger, better rooms to the people who walk in on the night and pay £58. If you are going to do this, at least be honest on the web site. 'You are only paying £39, so take whatever broom cupboard we give you and look grateful. We keep the better rooms for the last minute drunks who are leaving their cars in town.' That sort of thing.
Another minor niggle was the complete absence of any soap or shower gel (bulk hand wash liquid £13 for 5 litres at outofeden.co.uk) which we can only assume is a penny-pinching decision made at HQ.
Shape up, Travelodge. You have - as they used to say around the corner in Cardiff docks - spoiled the ship for a hap'orth of tar. The people at the sharp end - the receptionists and room staff - are brilliant. Time for the people up on the bridge to pull their weight. (That's enough nautical references - ed.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are sorry for your disappointment Allanza. Generally all of our family rooms will contain a bath however if you do require a bath our staff are more than happy to allocate you with one if you advise them before your arrival. We are also pleased to confirm that we are now offering our customers a small bottle of shower gel in every room. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    426
    115
    34
    29
See reviews for
282
549
52
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

on arrival check in was simple and easy and were offered extras and how to get parking validated. the hotel lobby was clean and tidy and this extended all around the hotel and our room. the bed was super comfy and the shower was powerful and got to a decent temperature, and everything worked as it should do. at £29 the value is great as free parking. have stayed in numerous travelodges round the country and this was easily the vest. the location was excellent with cinema, bowling, casino and lots of restaurants within a stones throw. also a 5 minute walk from Cardiff bay and the millennium center, there is a sainsburys local there if you need supplies. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel and was really impressed, firstly it as very easy to find as it was just off the motorway without being too close for the noise of traffic.

The hotel was ultra modern, very clean and rooms very spacious with a massive ensuite.

The staff were very polite and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NigelR537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is located in an ideal place for playing, dinning and site seeing. Walking distance to the Cardiff bay. Since the hotel is closer to Cardiff city centre and Cardiff Business Park you can do few shopping as well.

I would highly recommend this hotel for leisure and site seeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ups-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I chose this Travelodge because of the fact that they offer free parking and we expected to arrive in Cardiff very late so would not take advantage of any luxuries a hotel had to offer. We booked online for 1 night. It is perfectly adequate and not too expensive (£63 for the room). We were with our 19 year old daughter and she found the extra bed too small so don't recommend for 3 adults but would have been fine with 2 younger children. We didn't have the breakfast but had a look - it seemed fine for £8. We actually arrived at 9pm and were able to walk to a good Indian Restaurant in Cardiff Bay (Moksh - see separate review) and down to the wharf in the morning but the wharf mostly has chain restaurants. The hotel itself is situated on the edge of www.thereddragoncentre.co.uk

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The rooms are bare minimum but if you just want to sleep and don't care about the frills, then there's nothing wrong with that. Plentiful and free parking right by the hotel. I was only there for the night, as I was working at the Urdd centre the next day and it was so close I could just walk (or wheel in my case) round there, leaving my car parked for free at the hotel, so it was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I just needed two nights basic accommodation for a business trip to the Cardiff Bay area. This hotel was picked on location and price and my expectations were not high. My whole stay from start to finish was faultless. The customer service was more akin to a four or five star hotel, the room and all facilities were spotless and everything worked, the reception staff were friendly and knowledgeable on the local area and the older guy that looked after the restaurant for breakfasts was friendly attentive and efficient. The parking was right outside and free and the very local area had plenty to do, see, eat and drink.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_SHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,085 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing