We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hottest weekend in Cardiff and no air con!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hottest weekend in Cardiff and no air con!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights on the 4th floor of this hotel. Our room overlooked the main road at the front so leaving the window open at night was not an option. The room was boiling hot, and as you walked down the stairs you could feel the hand rail get cooler around level 2. Who needs lovely 10.5 tog duvets in that heat. Having said that the beds were very comfortable, and the location was excellent.
The directions for finding the hotel would have been fine if junction 33 of the M4 was open, but it was shut so locating the hotel was a bit tricky.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    396
    105
    27
    27
See reviews for
263
503
50
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdlae, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel has very few amenities. Here on an extended stay and there is no dresser to store my clothes, so some remain on the floor in my suitcase. No shampoo in bathrooms and a very small sliver of soap. No clock or phone in room. About the only perk is a very tiny TV. Can't open the window for a breeze due to the loud street traffic. Internet only free for 30 minutes so not good for the business traveler. Only reason for a poor rating instead of terrible is that the restaurant is not bad and the location is excellent. If you are used to a hotel that provides the little things to make your trip great, this is not the one for you.

Room Tip: Don't pay for your room until you see it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review Robert F. We are sorry to read that you were unhappy that the room didn't provide you with the additional items which you would have expected. We do not provide phones in our rooms due to the fact we do not provide a room service however our staff are available at reception at all times should you need assistance. We currently provide a small bottle of soap/shower gel/shampoo for our guests and our receptionist will be happy to provide more should you need them, we are also in the process on ensuring all of our rooms contain soap dispensers. Our Wifi service is free for 30 minutes however we have reduced our prices as you can now get Wifi for £3.00 a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very clean hotel and well maintained. Stayed in this travelodge twice before and never been disappointed. Breakfast very good with a reasonable choice and the staff at breakfast especially have always been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Spotless. Great breakfast. Lovely staff with excellent local knowledge. Short walk to bars and restaurants in Cardiff Bay. Very close to Millennium centre. Railway Station close by and bus stop outside.

Room Tip: Room facing street will be quieter as cinema and casino complex share car parking at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 day/2 night stay. Yes it's basic but very clean, such friendly and helpful staff where nothing was too much trouble. Couldn't fault the breakfast, plenty of choice to suit all. The location is perfect. First visit to Cardiff and loved it. Downside - no twin rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Be careful when staying at this hotel. While the staff were friendly and helpful the rear facing rooms are bombarded by noise from what seems to be an adjacent air conditioning unit 24/7. I was left with the option of roasting with the window closed or being kept awake the by the noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review Bob W. We’d like all our guests to be as comfortable as possible when they stay with us so we are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your room. Unfortunately, it is also not always possible to fully reduce the noise that our guests might experience however we make every effort to minimise the noise that might be heard from outside the hotel by insulating the walls and providing double glazed windows. We do also expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. We’d like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and we’ll ensure our hotel staff are made aware of the feedback you have left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location is perfect - a short walk to the great wharf area, which includes loads of restaurants, shopping, the Roald Dahl Plaza, and the Doctor Who experience.

The room is bare bones - no amentities to speak of. Just a bed, a few lights, outlets, and a bathroom containing a single one-ounce bottle of shampoo/body wash. That was fine, and keeps the room price cheap (52 GBP per night). I added 3 pounds for 24 hours of Wifi.

The only negative is there were no window screens or air conditioning, so we would either have bugs flying in the room with our windows open, or the room got a bit warm and stuffy. To be fair, it's very common in the UK that hotels and B&Bs lack a/c and window screens (it happened at three different places we stayed that week) so it's just something you have to get used to. However, I was hoping that a chain hotel would have A/C, especially since our room at the Travelodge in London (Southwark) had A/C.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xerlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing