We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Higher standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Higher standard”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have previously used this Travelodge as the location is particularly convenient. However the standard of comfort and cleanliness has recently improved from acceptable to excellent. It would now be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    403
    107
    27
    28
See reviews for
272
512
50
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Very good accommodation and very good staff. Great value for money. Very comfy room. Can not fault this hotel at a. Free parking at red dragon centre. Bus stop outside to take you to the centre of Cardiff or. 5 minute walk to millennium centre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location for all Cardiff Bay activities (Doctor Who Experience first on our list) just across from Cardiff Bay station. Very short walk to Millennium Center and TI, little bit further to travel through time & space with The Doctor. Pretend you're dropping in on Torchwood in front of the fountain. Catch the Hop On, Hop Off bus tour in front of the TI. Lots of restaurants along waterfront and something we did not know about beforehand...Ianto's Shrine.

Hotel staff all very friendly and efficient, especially the gentleman who took care of us at breakfast. It was nice having the bar handy after a long day sightseeing. Room very clean and did not seem crowded with a double and 2 singles. I don' t know why a lot of hotels call 2 double beds a family room, our grown kids need separate beds. Our only complaint was a hot, stuffy room. We know AC is not standard outside the US but a fan would have been appreciated.

Ryder Family
Colorado USA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Room was new and modern had tv attached to wall opp bed
Bed was so comfortable I slept through the night
One thing to note-the casino makes a fan noise throughout the night although when the window was shut you couldn't hear a sound
The staff are very welcoming and friendly
The all you can eat breakfast was amazing - First time we tried it and was well impressed
The hotel is a 2 min walk from the Cardiff bay, and a 10 min walk from the city centre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank genal-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights on the 4th floor of this hotel. Our room overlooked the main road at the front so leaving the window open at night was not an option. The room was boiling hot, and as you walked down the stairs you could feel the hand rail get cooler around level 2. Who needs lovely 10.5 tog duvets in that heat. Having said that the beds were very comfortable, and the location was excellent.
The directions for finding the hotel would have been fine if junction 33 of the M4 was open, but it was shut so locating the hotel was a bit tricky.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdlae, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel has very few amenities. Here on an extended stay and there is no dresser to store my clothes, so some remain on the floor in my suitcase. No shampoo in bathrooms and a very small sliver of soap. No clock or phone in room. About the only perk is a very tiny TV. Can't open the window for a breeze due to the loud street traffic. Internet only free for 30 minutes so not good for the business traveler. Only reason for a poor rating instead of terrible is that the restaurant is not bad and the location is excellent. If you are used to a hotel that provides the little things to make your trip great, this is not the one for you.

Room Tip: Don't pay for your room until you see it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review Robert F. We are sorry to read that you were unhappy that the room didn't provide you with the additional items which you would have expected. We do not provide phones in our rooms due to the fact we do not provide a room service however our staff are available at reception at all times should you need assistance. We currently provide a small bottle of soap/shower gel/shampoo for our guests and our receptionist will be happy to provide more should you need them, we are also in the process on ensuring all of our rooms contain soap dispensers. Our Wifi service is free for 30 minutes however we have reduced our prices as you can now get Wifi for £3.00 a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very clean hotel and well maintained. Stayed in this travelodge twice before and never been disappointed. Breakfast very good with a reasonable choice and the staff at breakfast especially have always been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing