We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a one night stay at a hotel located in Cardiff's wharf area. The bed was comfy but a very basic room and souless like most Travelodges. We found it really difficult to access with a single small entrance via a larger carpark that served an entertainment complex. Carparking and internet were both costly if used A good breakfast was supplied. The transport into the city was infrequent so a long walk was needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked an overnight stay at the Travelodge in Cardiff Bay for the annual Food Festival. My husband and I have stayed in a few Travelodge Hotels but this one is by far the best. The Staff are brilliant, nothing too much trouble for them.
We will certainly return as the room we had was spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and beautiful large pillows - my husband requested extra pillows as he is asthmatic and has to sleep virtually upright. These were supplied straight away. I also loved the large fluffy towels, but the one little niggle was there was just a small bottle of shower gel provided, no soap.

As pensioners we also appreciated the fact that it was only a short walk to the Bay area where the festival was being held.

Room Tip: Higher floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rednana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you are attending an event at the Millennium Stadium at Cardiff and don't want to be in the hustle & bustle of the city, then this place is for you. It is about 15/20 mins walk along a flat and straight road to the stadium and the city shops. Alternatively you can catch one of the frequent buses for a price of about £1.20 each way. Cardiff Bay is also very close with it's bars and restaurants and theatre and when I was there it was 'partying'. This was excellent and no trouble at all.

Whilst the hotel has it's own small café/bar there are numerous bars and restaurants within a very short walk. Parking is easy, by using a ticket verified by the hotel reception and driving there is also easy as it is about 8 miles from the M4, and please TRUST the directions given on the website.

This is not a luxury hotel and the room is basic. One comfortable double bed, a plastic chair, a small formica table and a large mirror. The shower room is cosy (!).
and liquid soap is provided in a very small phial. I did find that slightly strange and a bit mean of Travelodge. A wall mounted tv has a limited number of channels.

'Booking In' is from 3pm and I arrived at 2.30pm. However, if I had wished to go directly to my room this would have incurred an extra charge, again slightly mean as the room had been paid for 6 months in advance, but..... rules is rules !.
One thing was very noticeable, whilst the staff were polite, but not overly friendly, the hotel was exceptionally clean and tidy. I left very early in the morning and the night porter was cleaning the floor in Reception.

My test is always, would I go there again and the answer is yes, but unless you get a good deal (and it is out of season), it can be expensive.

Room Tip: If you wish to sleep with the window open, please don't have a room overlooking the hotel entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Comsi167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My second stay at the Cardiff Atlantic Wharf having stayed there in November 2013.I cant recommend this hotel highly enough.The staff are very friendly ,polite and courteous .I asked for a high floor and also in view of the heat in July 2014 a fan also .Both requests complied with professionally.I cant comment on the food or bar as i use the hotel as a base to goto the local attactions like cardiff bay waterfront and the dr who experience but i am sure they would be excellent.Room was clean tidy,comfortable double bed ,flatscreen tv and somewhere to hang my clothes.En suite type bathroom also clean.Nice powerfull shower also .Quiet when i stayed in July on a thursday night.I love this hotel and if you are looking for reasonable priced hassle free stay in clean accomodation it cant be bettered .

Room Tip: Ask for a fan in summertime as can be stuffy at night even with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisS1734RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As huge doctor who fans, I had planned a trip to Cardiff to be on location where it was filmed. I knew the hotel was close to the train station and Cardiff Bay, but when we got there, I was amazed it was all within minutes of the hotel.

The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, and very easy to chat to. They offered great knowledge of both Cardiff bay area and Cardiff city centre.

We chose to pay extra to have breakfast, and there was a great choice of food, including cereals and cooked breakfasts (sausages, bacon, eggs, beans etc.)

The room was basic, but well suited for a good nights sleep. Although a small fridge and a little more storage space for clothes would up my rating to 5/5.

Overall, a fab stay in an excellent hotel and location!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saraaw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Clean basic room in good location - just a short walk to Cardiff Bay Area where you can find restaurants and view. There is parking in front of the hotel sharing with casino and small shopping mall/cineplex next to the hotel.

About 10 mins drive to city centre.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank MPBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a "re furbished" travelodge. Quite large by normal standards -4 floors. As you would expect, it's basic but functional lodging. Room isn't massive, but adequate. Point to note - just a shower cubicle, and no bath. Didn't bother me, but it might some. Don't know if this applied to all rooms tho. Only observation I would make of the room is that there is very little storage/ hanging space. There's just a small shelf with a bar to hang clothes on in the corner, and a small desk to sit at. A wall unit with a few more shelves, would be so much better, and not expensive to fit. No clothes on the floor then!
That's the thing with travelodge. They seem to go out of their way to make it look soooo cheap! Simple things would make such a massive improvement. A hard plastic chair in the room. A padded or leatherette chair for instance wouldn't be a bad thing?
Still - that's a generalisation. This hotel is actually quite good. Clean and modern. Friendly staff. Free parking. Even a bar, and breakfast room.
I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mel.w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,309 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing