We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cardiff”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A wonderful city to stay in, plenty of shops, bars, restaurants, attractions and the Travelodge was both convenient and relaxing with a short walk to the Town Centre and Wharf, I would recommend the trip for anyone, espicially Dr Who fans as we saw some filming and met The New Doctor!

Room Tip: I could see my car from room 319, there was some noise from the local casino but quickly got used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn67Bodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    403
    107
    27
    28
See reviews for
272
512
50
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Pro: friendly staff, clean enough, great location, comfortable bed and a spacious room. Also free parking if you can get a space, which we had no trouble with.
Con: very very hot (we were on the second floor and were told the higher floors were hotter!). I was quite surprised there was no air conditioning other than in the lobby, as it looks like quite a new building. We would have been seriously uncomfortable if we hadn't brought our own electric fan, and it was only just bearable with that. There was also no wifi for most of our 2 night stay, and we had paid for it (we have been promised a refund but it hasn't happened yet).
It's a real shame about the lack of AC and the unreliable wifi, because we'd definitely stay here again if it weren't for those, but they are pretty important to us. If it's cooler weather and you don't need the wifi, I recommend this Travelodge as it's great for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, very clean in a great location, shame there was no air con in the rooms! Two fans running made no difference, sticky, sweaty and impossible to sleep :( . On the plus side the staff were lovely and the breakfast fantastic...don't book a stay.in a heatwave!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here last week with my daughter and grandson. We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was clean and comfortable, very hot until Luke gave us a fan to use. The staff were all great. We will certainly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

stayed here recently and got the bus from cardiff airport direct to hotel, the hotel is right outside the airport bus stop for both arriving and departing (same bus stop) we arrived early and managed to check in early (didnt mind paying the £10 as was even earlier than the advertised early check in time) all staff we spoke to were polite.
our room backed onto the red dragon centre and even although the window was open we heard very little noise at night
the hotel is a great location for cardiff bay and only a short bus ride away from cardiff city centre.
would definately stay here again if staying in cardiff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month.
i have stayed for work events , but I would also stay for any other reason.
It is a typical 2 new " style hotel and the breakfast is good but not fantastic.
The location is the reason I have wanted to book this location.I find it convenient for the Millenium Centreand the resturants on the Bay.
The parking is convenient also as they give you a ticket to stay in the car park.
The rooms are clean which is what you expect from a travelodge.
There is no point in booking a " better" hotel when you have the Travelodge which is so near al lthe Bay facilities.

Room Tip: There was no noise problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delythllg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good location nice rooms and great staff. The hotel is clean and spacious. It would have been nice to have had signs to the hotel car park. It was hot and there was no ac or fans. A £3.60 day bus pass from the bus stop outside the hotel to the centre of Cardiff but you need the correct money. The dock area is great for walks, sights and eating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank AlanJames66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing