We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Little Restaurant in a Great Little City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova

Casanova
Ranked #44 of 1,210 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Little Restaurant in a Great Little City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We called in on the hop and were found a table for six with a two hour slot which exactly what we wanted. Very efficient, very friendly and intimate serving great food and wine. Will definitely be going back for more of the same. Would have been five stars but Antonio's mother and I need to sit down and talk about her recipe for the tiramisu!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dislwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    111
    40
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

simple Italian menu offering option to have 2 or 3 courses fixed price. good Italian wines too reasonably priced, always busy so booking important

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles and Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian restaurant in centre of Cardiff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best restaurant meals I have had for a long time. Lovely welcoming atmosphere. We were lucky to get a table as we had not booked. My lamb dish was superb and my daughter enjoyed her exquisite pork meal. Lovely touch to welcome us with a small complimentary glass of crisp Prosecco. We would both like to highly recommend this little gem of a restaurant in the centre of Cardiff

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicocaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited this city centre restaurant when it first opened but then lost sight of it until a friend commented positively on Facebook so we jumped at the chance of returning when in Cardiff for a weekend.
Having been to the matinee of Cats and had a very disappointing lunch (see review of Ffresh) we were looking forward to a decent dinner and we were not disappointed.
A very warm welcome awaited us for our 20:30 booking - first impressions are really important.
Our table for two was downstairs where the no-nonsense black and white decor is very much to our taste. Our first visit had been upstairs.
A complimentary aperitif of a small Prosecco was a very nice touch while we browsed the menu.
For some the menu may seem brief when compared to many an Italian but this is what sets Casanova apart - choice of about 5 starters and 5 main courses but these are very interesting dishes.
We started with the terrine and the lamb. Both were nothing short of perfect.
For mains we had the pork three ways which was stunning and the pasta with seafood which was the excellent.
Quality wine by the glass accommodates our different preferences of sparkling and red.
A memorable panacotta and two spoons followed by espresso ended a wonderful evening.
Now that we have rediscovered Casanova it certainly won't be as long before we visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekandEiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Cardiff in my opinion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Casanova for quite a few years now and have always enjoyed fantastic food here. The service is extremely friendly and knowledgable (including great advice on wine). They source high quality ingredients which really makes the difference so a seemingly simple Italian dish tastes delicious. For the quality of the food the prices are very reasonable.
Don't go to a dull chain restaurant in Cardiff, try a restaurant like this - if you like proper food you'll be pleased that you did!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Indysowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casanova also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing