We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a real buzz!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A hotel with a real buzz!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here 15th February for a 50th Birthday party held at one of their Tribute nights. From great check-in staff, to a great night with fabulous meal. Couldn't fault it. Room was super, everything spot on (although view from window of a large expanse of flat roof a bit daunting!), clean and with great decor and trendy furnishings. There was a real energy to the place. We did use the pool which is large with hot tubs - including one especially for small kids - sauna and steam room, but Friday afternoon seemed to be toddler time, making swimming impossible! Excellent location with easy access to M4 and Cardiff. Would definitely use again, but if you are looking for a peaceful break, this would probably not be for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilwernboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    712
    410
    204
    127
See reviews for
381
923
55
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Arrived to be greeted by good reception staff with a friendly smile.
We were given a room at the front of the hotel which was down a two tone grey corridor that I thought was awful upon first sight. It did grow on me however, and I quite liked it after the first night.
The room itself was ok, nothing more. I was a bit disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom though. The back of the door had makeup smears and the top of the socket for the towel radiator had maybe a years grime on it.
Our first night we were woken at 4.30 by a domestic that required the police and took over 40 mins of raised voices outside our window. All very entertaining but I'd preferred to have slept. There is quite a drone from the motorway too, so get a room around the back or sides if you can!
The victory pub is very good and the staff are great. The restaurant is nice too.
I enjoyed the stay, but if you want Cardiff then I'd choose a different hotel as its a fair way out.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest-Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Spent 3 nights to explore Cardiff - a great city. Reception had a good buzz about it when we arrived with the Starbucks in it. Good pool 25m and sauna etc. Room clean and fine and despite facing M4 traffic noise not a problem. Bed very comfy. Staff very friendly especially on reception. Ate in first night on early bird menu which was good value. Any Breakfast which has Danish pastries is good in my eyes! Caught train from Whitchurch into Cardiff which was very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed here overnight after a meeting in Cardiff. We were told on booking that we would have a superior refurbished room, but couldn't see anything special about it. The first room we were given faced the nearby M4 & traffic noise was obtrusive even with double glazing. When we complained, we were moved to a much quieter room which was OK. There was no information in the room about mealtimes, when the pool was open etc. & in spite of the man on reception saying that menus for the restuarant & bar were in the room, they weren't, only room service ones. No safe, which would not have taken much effort to include.
The bar was heaving and very noisy so we ate in the restuarant which was OK though expensive for what it was. Waiters were preparing tables for breakfast as we ate, though it wasn't late - off-putting.
The pool was nice but overall there was nothing special about the place though it is convenient for the M4.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the motorway unless you take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haslucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Poor food and poor service. Seemed full of rowdy blokes and disinterested staff.

Stayed just one night on business. The reception was excellent and the room was very good. Spoilt by nasty food that pretends to be quality but would be turned down in a Macdonalds restaurant.

Music in the restaurant was bloody awful. Frantic jazz at volume. I got the message: Eat you food and go away, weve got better things t do.

Sign system in the corridor is a serious joke. I got completely lost, like a scene from spinal tap! Good job there was no fire,

Won't do it again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonhDerbyshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The bar at the hotel used to be really nice and good value for money. £10.05 last night for 2 pints of Bombardier, half a Stella and a bag of crisps!

If you stay at the hotel and fancy something different, take the frequent 132 bus service from across the road down to Whitchurch village, only a 5 minute ride away and where you'll find nice traditional pubs and quality Indian, Thai, Chinese and Mediterranean restaurants serving good food at decent prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lockhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

we stayed for one night in a family room clean comfy would go back again. pool was clean but water cold. room was to hot in night to sleep could not sleep!!! breakfast lovely costa coffe was nice staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing