We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed on a Friday night in order to attend the Wales vs Ireland rugby match.

Ideal location right next to the motorway. There is a McDonalds and Adsa 5 minutes away and the train station to Cardiff Centre is a 5 minute walk. Its then just 15 minutes to the centre of Cardiff.

Nice clean rooms, but a bit small. Comfy bed and Sky TV!

We ate at the verve restaurant which was fine. The Victory pub is very good and has bar meals and live sport. We didn't use it but the pool looked nice.

We would stay here again if we visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,487)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,277 - 2,283 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

We enjoyed this short stay at the the village hotel - it was a last minute booking to spare the family from the burden of looking after us as a pre Christmas visit
The hotel was sultry in design although we arrived late at night we were welcomed by a rather busy rowdy Christmas party
We booked a family room which was more than ample for myself my husband and toddler
Drinks were expensive
Breakfast was good hot With usual selection of things
There is a costa coffee in reception which I thought was good
We visited the swimming pool twice which was decent sized for a hotel pool

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAW146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My family and I (around 15 persons in all) have been going to the Village Hotel for Christmas Lunch for about 5 years and last year was the worst (2012). They packed us in like sardines and then the service was very poor and the selection of food was the worst yet. They are cutting back on quality but not on the price. We shall not be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We visited the Village on a weekend deal - 2 nights with breakfast and dinner for £189 in an Upper Deck room. It didn't disappoint! Before arrival, the friendly receptionist had no problem altering our booking and was very helpful. The hotel is located just off the M4, therefore making Cardiff and the rest of South Wales very accessible. Coryton train station is less than a 5 minute walk away, meaning you can get into central Cardiff for £3 return. The Upper Deck room was definitely worth the extra expense for the bed alone - it was so comfy we struggled to get out of it each day. It was very clean with no exterior noise. The free dinner on the first night was fantastic - fast and friendly service and a lovely atmosphere in the Grill restaurant. Breakfast was equally good - everything was hot and staff were quick to refresh the buffet. The leisure facilities are brilliant - the pool features a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which were very popular at the weekend. We ate in the Victory pub on the 2nd night which had a lovely buzzing atmosphere, with very affordable food too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunetteGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had never been in a Village Hotel before but I was surprised by the Buzz in the Hotel. The gym/Spa was full. The Pub was packed. Food was good. Well priced !!!

I must try other Village Hotels to see if they are all such fun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartlegassick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

As for most De Vere Village Hotels, remote location. Open plan reception including a Starbucks, Bar/Restaurant and Full Restuarant.
Well served by the excellent gym including large swimming pool and friendly staff. All the staff at this property are helpful and friendly. Don't worry about forgetting your towel they can provide them. So no excuses.
Rooms are excellent, well decorated, comfy bed and warm with easily controllable AC.
Served by a large car park.
About 5 minute walk away is a traditional local pub if you fancy a change.
For me the only negative of my stays is the weak flow from the shower but this seems pretty standard with De Vere group.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briu1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is a large hotel with a great vibe and atmosphere. The staff are really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had booked a family room which was really spacious, bright, clean and comfortable. There is a starbucks in reception, a pub on site and a really lovely restaurant. The biggest selling point was the leisure facilities. They have a really good and large swimming pool, sauna and excellent gym facilities. There is also a wonderful spa that I took full advantage of. The hotel is just off the M4 about 5 miles from the city centre. We chose this hotel for our base as my husband and son where going to a football match and I wanted to be pampered. It was perfect. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c&sbosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,306 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing