We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing one night stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed one night in an upper deck room, on the DB&B package at £114. Room was large, and more importantly, spotlessly clean. Good sized bathroom. Lovely comfy bed. Used the pool and spa facilities, which were good. However, we were lucky enough to choose a quiet time. Restaurant service was good, it was particularly busy, but staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Only disappointment here was the inclusive menu was different to advertised on website and as we had a preconceived idea of what we wanted from this, we had to pay extra and have it from the a la carte option. Breakfast next morning was heaving, (even though we had come at a time staff had said was 'quieter'), but not long waits for anything. Generally noisy throughout the night, with doors slamming shut with regularity. Overall though, a really nice place, friendly staff and good service. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64Jillybean_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad you liked the hotel, and the team.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay.

Regarding the restaurant menu's, we are delighted to announce that we will be opening "Vinny and Vito's Italian Kitchen" in the hotel on May 1st, we will be offering a great value menu and some seriously good deals to celebrate our opening.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and hope you get the opportunity to try our new restaurant, as well as the other great facilities that we offer.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    745
    432
    216
    141
See reviews for
409
983
58
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed on sat 23/3/13, arrived at 2pm and were checked in quickly. We pre booked online for the one night offer with dinner included, stay in a superior room and breakfast all for a great value £114. I used the gym facilities which were excellent and the other half had a full body in the spa which she said was also good. All the staff are very friendly. I recomend staying in the superior rooms for that little extra as the bed was fantastic plus with full sky you cant complain as most hotels have standard free view. The dinner in the evening that was included was a 3 course and off a smaller menu than the main but was excellent and the service was so quick, breakfast also. You definitely get your moneys worth if you do one of the offers, all in all a great stay no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Der Mark,

thnk you for your review from your recent stay with us!

I'm dlighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Keep your eyes peeld for more great dals on our website, or give us a call!

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for three nights over Easter, and what struck me about this hotel over any other I have ever stayed at was how genuinely excellent the staff were. The hotel is not without it's faults, our 8 year old son ended up sleeping on a z-bed because the sofa bed in the room was in a terrible state, and certainly not safe to sleep on. However, this problem was resolved dutifully for us with care and attention late in the evening. Also, the breakfast staff work their socks off, and do an amazing job turning around the tables and making sure all the food is out - the hotel is huge, and they have their work cut out for them. The welcome staff on the counter are also very friendly and efficient. So, in summary, the hotel needs a little attention with regards to the upkeep of it's facilities, and I would say that it would be only fair to it's excellent employees if it did this soon so that they don't have to deal with complaints which are out of their control. Thank you for nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CymraesCaruCwrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

You are absolutely right, we have a fantastic team here, and I would like to thank you for recognising what a great job they do as a team to make our guests happy.

we are continually investing in the hotel to renew and improve aspects of the property, this month we are refurbishing our entire restaurant and kitchen facility so that we can make guest stays even better, when we re-open as "Vinny and Vito's Italian Kitchen"

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

.hm where to start. Room looks nice but very dark. The heating cannot be controlled did.nt need to use the sauna as room was that hot. There was a fan provided which was broken socouldn't aim air. Windows couldn't be fully opened so extremely hot and difficult to sleep.
Booked the restaurant for 9turned upon time and spent ten minutes waiting while other guests had there bills sorted.finally shown to table crumbs all over chair and cutlery was filthy. 30min wait between starter and main. Lamb shank pie tasteless and bacon so salty couldn't be eaten.didn't bother with dessert and complained. Boyfriend left hungry. The meal was so bad we didn't even tryththe mealbreakfast as were so shocked by the service in the evening meal.
On departure we complained again and had a half baked sorry and that was that.at dinner we had our drinks taken off the bill the manager dint even blink an eye so from what i saw this must happen a lot. The restaurant wasdirty and tables were left dirty all around not a good way to show the quality of the hotel.
The quality of this hotel has gone down since i stayed here here few years ago. Disappointing don't stay here thy sell it as better than it actually is.....stay away.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

There is a dial on the left of all the radiators on the room, that will allow you to turn them down or even off. I can only apologise if this was not explained to you during your stay.

Unfortunately due to safety restrictions, it is no longer possibly to fully open windows in hotels with rooms located off the ground floor, so while i apologise that this caused you discomfort, i hope you understand the reasoning behind it.

I apologise that your evening meal was not up to expectations, I have shared your feedback with Chef and the rest of the team to ensure that we resolve these issues in the future.

During this coming month, we will be refurbishing our hotel restaurant and repoening as "Vinny and Vito's Italian Kitchen", we will also be spending this time performing extensive team training that will significantly improve the standard of our current offering.

I hope you will give us a try again in the future, and enjoy all the facilities that we have to offer.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have stayed in this hotel once but visited for conferences on a couple of occasions. My room was quite pleasant and the "early bird" menu excellent value. My only probllem is witht e distance from towm, there is a good bus service but the hotel has obviously been place where it is for the motorway so if you are not driving be prepared for a long trip out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review of your recent stay, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

As you correctly pointout, there are a wide variety of transport options to take you into the heart of Cardiff, including bus, train and taxi.

Our proximity to the M4 makes us an ideal location to stop off and head into the city to explore further.

We look forward to seeing you with us again in the future.

kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My friend and I booked a spa break through another site, my friend having vouched for the quality of the hotel as she had stayed there before. She specifically asked for an extra large accessible room as we were going to stay in one room together and she has mobility issues. On arrival, we were given an extra large room but one farthest for the amenities. She was told there was no accessible rooms available. On reaching the room, it was very cold as there is no air con, just small electric wall heaters. We rang down for extra heaters but was told there were none available. We were however given an extra door card to keep in the wall continuously as the heating went off once you left the room. Later a small room heater arrived. We both had showers at 1830 only to find that the water was barely hot. I reported this and was told it was maybe because they had a high volume of Hen and birthday parties in that weekend. We had a nice meal in the restaurant that was part of the package but it was quite noisy due to the large groups who had also booked in
The spa treatments were excellent and eventually the room warmed up. The bed was comfortable and bathroom adequate and very clean. Car parking was free and adequate. The main lift was painfully inadequate but we did find a much better one hidden away that lead to the car park, bypassing reception
Not sure if I would return as although it was a reasonable price, it was not what I had expected from a hotel of that size. I am also not sure that I want to share my weekend with large hen and birthday parties

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay to upgrade to their superior rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cennet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We do not typically have issues regarding room temperature, however I have discussed your feedback regarding the room temperature and water temperature with our Maintenance Manager and he is looking into the issues you experienced, as it was not a hotel wide problem.

I hope you do give our hotel another opportunity in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

A lovely 3 night stay much improved had 2 upper deck rooms which were lovely
Breakfast ok but very busy
Staff very helpful and friendly
At the back of hotel very quiet and peacefull
Will b returning very soon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you noticed the improvements that we are constantly making in the hotel to deliver a great experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, and reading your next review!

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,091 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing