We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel let down only by pub restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Cardiff

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel let down only by pub restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My partner booked me a weekend break for my 21st birthday, and i've got to say it was the best weekend ever !! The reception are soo friendly and lovely they cant do enough to help you, the spa girls are helpful friendly and absolutely amazing couldnt have asked for better the facilities are amazing the interior is gorgeous!!
HOWEVER .......
The one let down we had was the food in the victory pub it was horrible starter tasted like it'd been there for ages and like they'd dowsed it in pepper the main was worse than a microwave meal but didnt taste as nice...... The dessert tho was the highlight of the meal and was quite nice but you cant mess that up really
All in all tho an amazing place i'd recommend to anyone but I would say go out for food x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamzyy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review of your recent stay at the hotel.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and that you got to celebrate your 21st in style!

I'm sorry that the Victory Pub food wasn't to your liking, and I've discussed your feedback with chef. Our brand new restaurant "Vinny and Vito's Italian Kitchen" opens on May 1st, and will provide a menu with something for everyone, we can't wait!

Hopefully next time your in Cardiff, you'll stop by and give it a try!

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    661
    394
    195
    124
See reviews for
358
842
51
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I, along with my children and grandchildren recently spent 3 nights at the De Vere Village on visit to Wales.
The rooms are petty standard hotel rooms with pleasant enough bathrooms. It can be a bit of a meandering hike from reception to your room, but you soon get used to that. The family rooms were fine, I am told, with plenty of room.
Whilst we were at the hotel there were a couple of hen parties staying, not too noisy, but great fun!
The bar was kitted out as a sports bar, with good choice of beers and pleasant service. Just a bit too noisy for me I am afraid.
All of the staff that I met were very pleasant and helpful. One evening there was no hot water for a time, an inconvenience, but we knew the staff were on the case and it soon came back.
The 12 of us ate in the hotel on the first night and I thought the food was much better than I expected from hotel catering. Everybody enjoyed their meal and the service was excellent.
I do think the wine list is somewhat limited and quite expensive for what it was.
Breakfast provided a good buffet choice of hot food, fruit, yoghurt and cereal. I would suggest that they have a wider choice of fruit juices.
What made it a really good hotel for our family was the sports centre. I am told the 'work out room' was excellent, but I can confirm that the pool area is very good. Jacuzzi,sauna, steam room and a couple of swimming lanes if you just want to do lengths.
We have all agreed that we would go back to this hotel as a family.

Room Tip: we stayed in room numbers starting with a 5 or 6 which were further away from the main body of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LlewllynBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comprehenisve review of your recent stay in the hotel.

As you can see, we welcome a broad spectrum of guests to the hotel, from couples celebrating anniversaries, to Hen parties, to families and business people.

I am pleased that we offer something for everyone at the hotel, and I hthnk your tip about requesting alternative rooms in a different part of the hotel should you be noise sensitive was a great one!, we always strive to ensure guest stays are as enjoyable as possible.

We are now just one week away from opening our new "Vinny + Vito's Italian Kitchen", one of our slogans is "bring your family to ours" and I am delighted that you did on this occaision, and look forward to welcoming your family back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponytpridd wales uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as a freind had a birthday party here.
The room was nice but the decor was very dark, black wallpaper, gunmetal grey wall, which exteneded to the corridor. and the canvas on the bedroom wall was a monoment to the glourious dead of the war!! all very depressing.
The bathroom was nice except for the mould growing on the soap dispenser.
We where told that the dining area was being refurbished.
The alternative was a basement, again very dark deco with low ceilings, the carpet was dirty and the funiture was very old and worn out looking.
There where thick china mugs instead of cups and saucers, with a large Tv in the corner.
It reminded me of a transport cafe.
The breakfast was good.
The staff where very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: There is a starbucks in the hotel a small coffee in a paper cup cost £2 60 !!! There is coffee supl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heddwch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I'm sorry that you didn't find the decor to your taste, all of our bedrooms feature photo's form various landmarks throughout the Cardiff area. Personally i find this quite refreshing compared to a generic hotel image, however i completely understand that this is down to personal preferrence.

I have discussed the issues you raised regarding the cleanliness of your bathroom with our housekeeper, please be assured that this is not typical.

I am also sorry that the decor and design of our temporary restaurant the "Vibe suite" was not to your liking, however I am certain you will be pleased to hear that our brand new restaurant "Vinny + Vito's Italian Kitchen" will be opening on May 1st. We also offer great food in our Victory Pub as an alternative for evening dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future to enjoy the new restaurant and our other exciting features.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I mostly aim to stay at this hotel when I am in the area on business as I find the rooms to be great value, comfortable and love the room service choices and pricing. The only downside is the TV channel choices! As a single traveller I spend most of my time in my room and would love to have something decent to watch..........lot's of sports channels but this is not my bag!On this particular visit I was allocated a room which turned out to have a draught at the window and after around an hour I called down to request to be moved. This was arranged immediately, without fuss and was very welcomed- thankyou! The day I checked out I found I had lost somewhere on my travels a diamond from a ring which is very sentimental to me. I called the hotel to ask them ( in the very slightest chance) if they found it , to let me know, The receptionist was genuine and full of concern and passed me to housekeeping, who again were fantastic and of course, they would let me know if it was found. Thanks Village,your customer service is always great,you always have chatty and friendly staff and I hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent (and previous) stays at the hotel.

We do try and offer a range of tv choices for our guests, and I will be reviewing this feedback with our provider to ensure that the choices are balanced.

Thank you for contacting us immediately when you found an issue with the room, we always aim to delight every guest, so when things aren't 100% the sooner we know, the faster we can make things right.

I'm glad you like the team, it is a pleasure to work with a such a professional and friendly bunch, they are certainly a big part of what makes the hotel so special!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Late bargain booking for a short break destination and not disappointed. The refurb of the restaurant limits catering options on site but is not a disruption more generally. All staff have been so friendly and the pool is great. Can't vouch for the Spa but it was always busy - a good sign. Lobby was always busy, looks like a local meeting place! Rooms modern and clean, good facilities but no fridge. Our room was over reception and near the lift so was a little noisy when evening functions ended and when people returned to their rooms. Pub food was generous but simple. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and hot.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I'm delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. As you point out the Spa can be very busy as it offers a great range and quality of treatments, so we do always recommend booking in advance if possible.

We are all very excited, to be able to offer "Vinny and Vito's Italian Kitchen" as our new restaurant in the hotel. It will be open from May 1st, and will give a fantastic range of dining for all to enjoy.

I look forward to seeing you there, should you be visiting Cardiff in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Location is very convenient, just off the M4. Plenty of parking in decent sized spaces. Rooms are smart, modern and a bit moody but comfortable. Lobby seemed very busy in the evening and in the morning (Starbucks has an effect).

The restaurant is being refurbished so temporarily downstairs. We should have gone to the Victory pub. Carvery was OK, wine pricey, soft drinks £2.85 per pint. Puddings were fine (ice cream and sticky toffee pudding) but they had run out of custard...

Breakfast was OK, decent selection served buffet style.

I assume things will be better when the restaurant is re-opened. Hope so because this could be excellent.

Staff are really friendly if, sometimes, a bit confused.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelIrrelevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review of your recent stay at the hotel.

We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. As you noted we are currently refurbishing our restaurant and will be opening on May 1st as "Vinny and Vito's Italian Kitchen". We feel that this is the last piece of the jigsaw to make us one of the top destinations in Cardiff, and thank you for baring with us while we under go these changes.

I look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the future, and giving us some more feedback on your experience.

kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Could not be more convenient for the motorway. A big hotel, and I had to walk a long way to my room, but that did mean it was quiet. Plenty of parking space and a great swimming pool and spa area. Great to have free wifi! Lighting dim in the room but that seems typical of hotels these days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thankyou for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed the leisure facilities in the hotel, and you are quite right that our proximity to the Motorway and city centre provides an unrivalled level of convenience.

We have a number of different room options throughout the hotel. May i suggest you upgrade to one of our upper deck rooms for your next stay, they are centrally located, quiet and offer a great range of upgraded features.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing