We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandmother's party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Llanrug, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grandmother's party”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked in mid afternoon Saturday 19th October and met up with family members who had stayed the previous night. There was a stag party on going and despite numerous visits to reception it carried on until four am. We told the receptionist about this and were upgraded to a family room well away from the noise.
About twenty of us were booked in for a meal in the Italian restaurant and we ordered the food at about 6-45pm.The starters took an age to arrive,the main courses arrived at 8-00pm and the sweets at about 9-15pm. On top of all this the portions were tiny and overall the meal was very average.The plus points were that the staff were friendly and the breakfast plentiful.If we decide
and it's a big if,to revisit it will be bed and breakfast only.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your recent review of your experience at Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

We are most disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations in Vinny and Vito's, I have shared your feedback with the team, and we will certainly take this on board in future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    709
    409
    204
    127
See reviews for
379
916
54
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as a weekend break in the city where we had our honeymoon. Whilst we didn't stay at this hotel on our honeymoon, we would have been very happy if we did. The location is slightly outside of the City Centre but it makes up for it by having everything you'll need either inside the hotel or very near by.

Inside the hotel is a very nice pub which was showing the Wales football match whilst we were there, it then also showed the rugby the next day, the atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and the bar staff were excellent. There's also the Italian restaurant Vinny and Vito, which we had a 3 course meal in which was included in our rate. The food was very nice and the staff, again, were excellent. The restaurant was also very nicely decorated.

Whilst we didn't use the swimming pool or leisure facilities, the pool looked very impressive.

The only slightly criticism I'd have is the room was advertised as having a King sized bed which turned out to be 2 beds pushed together, resulting in waking up one morning with a bad back as I'd ended up sleeping in the gap.

All in all we were very impressed with the hotel and look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAndDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Ben and Donna,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us!

We really appreciate your kind comments, and i have fed back your review with the team.

We can't wait to welcome you back again in the future!

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is nothing special for an overnight away with the wife. It's quite clinical and more suited for a travelling sales person.

The standard rooms are that, nothing to make you feel particularly comfortable. Perhaps that is me just being tight, but I think a mid range hotel needs to add something to differentiate itself from the Travelodge/Premier Inn. Nope still drawing a blank. They even have those hateful soap dispensers in the shower from a public toilet.

Breakfast was poor. Poor quality, very poor selection and miserable service. Thank god it was free (or masked in the room price).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hood_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at DeVere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm sorry that you were let down by your stay on this occaision and that you felt the hotel did not reach your expectations.

We do have a number of outlets including the Victory Pub, Vinny and Vito's Italian Kitchen and of course Starbucks, which set us apart from the competition, not to mention our outstanding leisure facilities "Velocity Health and Fitness Club"

I'm sorry that you didn't get to try these parts of the hotel during your stay, perhaps you will get the opportunity to do so in the future?

kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
'Nige
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Attended a meeting here in one of the corporate meeting rooms, then stayed the night. Service from all the staff - reception, bar, restaurant and meeting rooms - was polite but friendly..

All the public areas, and my hotel room, were well kept and clean. The usual amenities in the hotel room - kettle, iron, ironing board etc. - although the TV remote was old and didn't always work.

Dinner in the Italian restaurant was pleasant, though the soup was very hot!

Overall I would have given this four stars, but the point which knocked it down to just three stars was the prolific amount of promotional material strewn around the hotel. Every spare wall, desk top, shelf etc. was advertising either the restaurant, bar, coffee shop or gym facilities. It might sound like a small thing, but once you notice it gets annoying!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IfitsMonday...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Nige,

thank you for your review of your recent stay at DeVere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and found the team to be polite and friendly.

I have taken your feedback regarding the marketing collateral on board, and we will continue to review the most effective way of doing this, without being intrusive to guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends hen weekend. £135 pp for 2 night b&b and 1 night we had 3 course meal in the Italian. Good was ok, good prices, great service. Rooms were great just a bit hot. Only £3.50 return on train to Cardiff with trains every half hour. Only 5 min walk to station. Starbucks in hotel is a bonus. Pub is great. Highly recommend spa we had 2 mini treatments included in our price. Facilities are fantastic. Highly recommend hoping to go back in December with my husband for wknd to go Xmas shopping in Cardiff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsksgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review of DeVere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and can't wait to welcome you back over Christmas.

Why not book in to one of our Christmas party nights as well for your next stay? Just head to our website for more information.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards,

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The staff at this hotel deserve a special mention they go out of their way to try and ensure your stay is enjoyable. The breakfast was a typical chain buffet that you come to expect. I think it had been there a while as the beans had skinned and some of the eggs were going hard. It was however hot and ok in terms of quality.
There is always plenty of parking and the health facilities are good.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the fitness club due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Martin,

thank you for your review of your recent stay at DeVere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

While i understand where you are coming from, I must disagree that we are a "usual chain hotel"

We offer the very highest quality leisure facilities, have a fantastic pub and Italian Restaurant on site, and are one of very few hotels to offer Sky sports in our bedrooms as standard.

Add to that with our Viva Urban Spa, and the Starbucks outlet in our lobby, and I think you'll agree that we are far from typical!

Thank you again for the review though, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We use corporate rooms in Cardiff on an ongoing basis. Used to use premier inn but on of my guys struck up a deal with the village which we used a few years ago but stopped due to. Price increases and the lack I a deal locally. However having struck a deal at 75 a night B and B we gave it another shot. What a disaster. In the first instance this place is a gym with a hotel attached you cannot mo for guys and gals in their trainers and gym bags! Secondly the bar a first looked ok then in the middle of having some drinks per dinner the bar staff turned up the sound on the TV's where we had to endure a running commentary on some crappy 4th division English football game. We could not hear each other if was so loud. Phased we then went to the Italian restaurant for dinner - what a bloody disaster - the service was woeful and I mean woeful. From the point of sitting down if was one hour before the starter arrived! Food was indifferent to as the least. Second course followed 20 minutes after starter was cleared - we paid the bill and left, to add insult to injury the merlot wine at almost £20 is poor quality and grossly overpriced. All in all absolutely dreadful experience. Suffice to say we will not be back and that has cost you probably 50 plus room bookings annually.

Room Tip: Can't think of one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lordnewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I'm sorry that the hotel was not to your liking, and that you have chosen not to return to us.

I have forwarded this review on to our Hotel Sales Manager so that she may discuss your feedback directly with the company booker.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing