We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference venue review only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Attended for a day conference so my review doesn't comment on the room, bar or restaurant only lobby, Starbucks concession and conference facilities and food as well as staff encountered.

First impression driving into car park: this will be a nightmare getting out of later, wasn't wrong.

Reception: dingy dark and dismal decor and despite the Christmas trees not much festive atmosphere. Cant see it could ever have any either in a dark battleship grey area like this, carpet dismal also and looked grubby but that may have just been poor lighting, even ceiling grey albeit lighter than the walls, just. Smiling and friendly lady behind the desk told me where the conference room was. No tv monitor or board to indicate events taking place or location and no signage saying what or where any doors lead to that I could see. Even the man sign on the gents toilet door was the size of a postage stamp literally so god help if you have a visual impairment. The Starbucks was as Starbucks is, staff very good there.

Conference facility: the gothic grey walls, ceiling and grotty looking carpet theme continues so despite spot lights in ceiling it was difficult to read conference papers. The darkness did make it easy to see the projector screen however and the sound system was pretty good so could hear the lecturers well enough. The room size and layout was overall adequate.

Food & drink: like I Say no reflection on anything else as banqueting department food is often different for restaurant food. Average at best, gristly beef in either bourginon or stroganoff couldn't really tell but whatever it was the sauce was nice though. Sandwiches and wraps dry especially the beef ones, very dry and chewy with little flavour. Pizza slices weren't bad if a bit cold and the profiteroles with chocolate sauce were actually nice. At coffee in breaks selection of speciality teas present but strange no green tea despite several herbal varieties. Staff pleasant and efficient, very informal uniform with orangey polo shirts, looked more like handymen or binmen than waiters.

This is the first contact I have ever had with a De Vere hotel and unless an event I wanted to attend was held at one be it this or another in the chain I won't be trying to go back for either business or pleasure.

In conclusion all I can say is make of it what you will, this place seems to have aimed for design flair and ended up with dungeon. first impressions count though and this hotel has done nothing to make me want to return to it or use others in the De Vere village chain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_O_C479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,337 - 2,343 of 2,674 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night for the Lionel Ritchie tribute night. Receptionist was lovely & very helpful.
Room was decorated lovely, however considering the colour wS black there wasn't enough lights in the room to accommodate this.
Food was lovely, tribute act was just ok and no on long enough.
Must admit breakfast was poor & quite cold. Waitress cleared our table of coffee etc as we went up to get the food. Bit disappointed really.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jodiea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I was in Cardiff for the Wales-South Africa rugby match. Four of us were booked in for two nights. We arrived at 4pm on Friday afternoon and our rooms weren't ready. We sat in the bar until 5 and by then they were ready. The rooms were average, nothing spectacular. The buffet breakfast was good and reception staff were friendly.
We went for breakfast at ten on Sunday morning and when we returned back to the room at 10.40 our key had been cancelled. Check out is 11, disgraceful considering our rooms weren't ready until 5 on the Friday. And then we got locked out of the room twenty minutes before check out time.
The hotel did what it said on the tin but check in and out times annoyed us.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend went away for the weekend for his birthday, we were pleasantly suprised by the Decor of the bar and the restuarant but other areas were quite worn and tired.

We upgraded to upper deck, which was abit of a rip off, nothing to spectacular however the bed was very comfy. I Also added an extra of bud and bar snacks for the man, one pot of olives and savoury snacks, not worth what I paid. There was no hot water so I had to have a cold shower, never nice.

The waitress in the restuarant was very helpful and polite. I had a burger which was OK at best, however the soup to start was amazing. Breakfast was nice.

Overall a pleasant stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked the De Vere online at the inflated rugby price of £122.00 per night ( the normal stay rate non rugby rate is around £75) - anyway , the rooms looked nice and the staff on arrival very friendly. We awoke to find the boilers not working , we where told it would be fixed by 09:00 . 10:00 no hot water , 11:00 no hot water , 12:00 my wife was able to have a luke water shower with no pressure , I in fact used the showers in the gym , where there was hot water .. The rest of the stay was okay , the TV in the room continuously turning it self off and the heating in the room was poor at best . I think this product is a okay , I would use again but please get your boilers checked more regulaly , if we pay a premium price we expect a premium product !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My partner and I have stayed in various Village hotels in the UK and were once members of the Village gym at our local hotel so were looking forward to a night at the Cardiff Village for our weekend away to see the rugby.

We arrived on the Friday and were greeted by a very charming Receptionist and we both commented on how nice the relaxed uniform was i.e. shirt, tank top and jeans the check in experience was great.

We opted for room service after our long week at work and ordered the burger. It was ok but to be honest not the best burger in the world and not as good as our previous experience. It was also a disappointment to notice that the Verve bar and grill had been replaced by Vinny & Vitto's. The menu didn't offer much choice but this may have been due to our taste buds.

Through the night I was awoken by one of our neighbouring rooms obviously enjoying a night away... never a nice experience in a hotel but notwithstanding this the walls do appear quite thin as we can hear conversations in other rooms and the bathroom being used!

This morning, my partner had a shower and declared there was no hot water.... so we both had cold showers. Upon ringing reception, we were informed that the boiler had broken and they apologised accordingly. These things happen but with everything else happening it doesn't help!

Having warmed up after our cold showers, we went down for breakfast at Vinny & Vitto's.... Well, what can we say but apart from bring back the Verve bar and grill!

The staff..... There were more staff than customers as we went at the quiet time and with the breakfast is self service, we seemed to bump into them as we were getting up to collect our food from the buffet! Even with all this staff we had to request plates as there were none on the buffet! The outfit carried off so well by reception was dragged down the person wearing it in the restaurant. A double cuffed shirt with the cuff folded down and clearing dirty plates? We would have spoken to a supervisor re the food experience below but you couldn't really tell who they were and the lack of name badges made the staff seem a little unapproachable.

The Decor..... we were shown to our table and I noticed coffee stains on the table and I asked for the table to be wiped only to be told that thats the style! So your decor is a style were the tables look dirty... we changed tables but still everything looked grubby. The chandalier above our table consisted of upside down wine glasses and the dust on them was disgusting... not too sure when the restaurant last had a deep clean!

Hygiene (or lack of!)... the plates were very worn and seem to have a greasy layer on them. They certainly weren't "fairy clean"! Also as above regarding the dirt.

The food..... not much to say apart from RAW SAUSAGE (photo attached) and a cold hot buffet!

We are now in our room waiting to check out and upon check out we will be complaining about the above to reception... its just a bit unfair on them that they have to deal with the fall out from the remainder of the lack lustre service as, as we said at the beginning we were really impressed by reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowenqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over Halloween. Having spent ages trying to find a hotel that would take 2 adults, 1 child and 2 infants in the same room this was the only hotel that could accomodate us. I emailed to ask if they could provide a room for 5 and my email was replied to almost immediately. On arrival it was lovely to see the reception decorated for Halloween and the staff were dressed up also. The room was very large with a double bed, sofa bed and two travel cots all set up and ready to go. We ate at the Victory pub the 1st night, we hadnt booked and it looked busy, but they found us a table, the waiter (dressed as a clown) proved popular with our son, and our food arrived quickly and was great value as children under 5 eat free. The breakfast the next morning was superb, with plenty of choice and great seating, staff were friendly and quick to ask if we needed a highchair.

The leisure facilities are great, the changing rooms were excellent and VERY clean with lockers with keypad to enter your own code. Pool was a good size and there was an instructor giving children lessons. Couldn't give the steam room/sauna a go because we had the children.

We had booked a table at Vinny and Vito's for the 2nd evening but unfortunately had to cancel, but we did order room service, the receptionist was again very helpful and food was produced super quick - the pizza and meatballs were delicious.

We were all delighted with this hotel so glad we found it, good value, great staff, large family room and leisure facilities on top.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,306 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,222 reviews
5.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
596 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £43 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing