We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village at Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Village at Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here 23rd to 27th December to visit family in the city. Check in was rapid and problem free. All information was given in a non rushed manner. So, up to our room. Perfect, spotlessly clean, at the rear of the hotel, very quiet. Towels changed daily as was the room cleaning. My one and only small gripe was the bathroom tiles grouting below the bath could do with a clean. Victory pub we used once, very busy but the staff worked hard to serve as quick as possible, prices in line with other hotels. Breakfast was first class, cereals, fruit, full English all freshly cooked and very hot. Waiting staff very cheerful and genuinely happy to help. Front desk staff went above and beyond, one day I needed to reinflate my cars tyres, I told my Wife to make her way up to the room whilst I did this, Gavin on the desk asked where I was, my Wife told him and he offered his help with my task! BRILLIANT! Sadly we did not use any of the other facilities such as gym or pool but they were even open on Christmas day. We will be returning, all of the staff are a credit to DeVere. (one thing DeVere, get those potholes at the entrance fixed)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwarfer2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    658
    392
    194
    124
See reviews for
355
837
51
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Christmas Day Lunch at Vinny & Vitos for our family of 11 was very disappointing. The soup was grainy.Garlic bread for the children was awful dry and hard with large slices of garlic on top served with a balsamic dip. A chef who couldn't carve a turkey and small portions which consisted of little bits of Turkey served with one tiny pig in a blanket. Inedible stuffing and hard vegtables, peas with undercooked bacon, boiled potatos so dry I didnt even try them with water disguised as gravy. Three of our party had pre ordered beef which was not ready, by the time theirs was cooked everyone else had finished eating. Not acceptable as a family we wanted to eat together. Santa failed to materialise to see the children, they had to be taken to another part of the hotel to find him. The gifts were inappropriate being gambling sets. The 50th birthday cake I delivered in perfect condition was damaged by the time it was brought to the table. Extortionate cost for two bottles of Moet. We wont be returning. Thanks Village Hotel for ruining a special occasion! !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank hug61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel on a hen weekend & thought it was very good value for money. We enjoyed 2 spa treatments, D,B&B for a very reasonable price. The food was excellent, staff very welcoming, and despite there being a Christmas party there on our first night it was still nice and quiet. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having stayed here a while ago I booked in for a short break on Xmas day with my wife as visiting family locally. The staff were very pleasant, even though they were working on Xmas! The Upper Deck room was clean, warm, comfortable bed and was quiet the night we stayed. However I checked if there was a function on that night. The breakfast wasn't great but I wasn't expecting gourmet food for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Upper deck rooms are nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaa1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed.
Staff were fine but not one bit if christmas cheer between them.
Food was highly disappointing, 2 potatoes, 1/4 of a carrot & parsnip, 8 sprouts & the smallest piece of turkey I have ever had out surrounded by what can only he described as cheap sausage meat. Looks like the village had a bulk order from Iceland stores !!!
When asked for more potatoes we were told that they only had enough for 2 each.
Dessert came out, the smallest piece if bread & butter pudding I have seen, it was more like a canapé.
For £300 this was disgusting, it must have cost them £3 for the entire 2 courses.
No wonder the reviews on here have been bad lately & no comments from a manager either !!!!!
Merry Christmas Village hotel, we won't be back !! Disgusted

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodiea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have been a member in this hotel for a while. Sadly have had the need to complain, which I assumed considering the price I pay for membership would be dealt with in a professional manor. How wrong was I to assume that. So far I have requested a copy of the compaints policy 3 times, been passed to the general manager, sent him 2 emails, 1 email to a general inbox and a follow up phone call to register a complaint. All of which have been ignored. The service provided when sellig to me was excellent, however it would appear there are severe issues here and no one wants to take ownership of the customer experience. Surely how a company deals with feedback is the test and Village Cardiff you have failed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattjmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

When you see reception staff wearing jeans it does make you wonder what other standards have slipped?? Then you get to your room - a double room has one thin bath towel the other us hidden i. The drawer of a worn out chest of drawers under the TV. The bathroom had soap dispensers nothing else in it. The wardrobe is a hanging rail no doors ..... And this costs more than a luxurious night at The Celtic Manor - Manor house. To top it off we have loud music from a function keeping us awake - it's going on till 1am we are told GREAT!!! They say they do their best to make you feel welcome - honestly they don't they take your money and laugh all the way to the bank'nn

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plasticpaddyharrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing