We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay was ok for 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Easy to find location of hotel. Plenty of spaces to park car. Check in was quick and easy - directed straight to our room and given information about times i.e. swimming pool, breakfast etc.
Room had a slight smell when we first walked in , but didnt let this put us off. Room was clean and stocked with tea and coffee. Receptionist on at this particular time was lovely, really friendly advised us on where to eat locally and wanted to talk very bubbly and was nice to have this during our evening. Returned from meal out and ordered a drink, very expensive for a coke and beer, so ended up having only one round. As we sat in reception area, it was constantly having people walking through to get the gym. Lack of signs in the hotel - to find toilets - swimming pool etc.
Beds were comfy although pillows were very bumpy and struggled to settle on these.
On waking in the morning we decided to go for a swim - unfortunately our door would not lock, which meant we had to leave stuff in our room and carry valuable things down stairs to the swimming area with us. If we would have called the reception (which we couldnt find number for ) we could have been waiting ages. Swimming pool very clean and quiet, although lacks signs to help new people like us to find their way around. Very miserable life guard (if that is who she was - sat at the edge of the pool) Not once did she smile.
Then after swimming we decided to go to and have our breakfast. Quick to be seated by a happy friendly member of staff, who quickly sorted and explained the procedure for breakfast. Nice food and not too crowded, although it would be nice to see people use the tongs provided instead of their hands.
On return to our room to pack - room still wasnt locked, which I wasnt very happy about as cleaners/people walking by could have seen it wasnt locking. Luckily I took all valuable things with us. On leaving the hotel we returned our key and were met with a smile from another member of staff.
All in all it is a basic hotel and would not stay any longer than a night here. More signs are needed, better communication - reception number displayed and the life guard needs to cheer up!
We did enjoy our night away and had it not have been for the lady on reception, the clean room and the welcoming breakfast staff I dont think we would have

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,483)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,105 - 2,111 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed in an upper room for 3 nights. Double bed was in fact 2 single mattresses joined with a mattress cover. Very uncomfortable to sleep in. I had to be moved to a room with a real double bed mattress. Some tiles in the bathroom were broken. There was no toilet brush. Bed-sheet were not of the best quality and I spotted a few little holes. No fridge in the room. The space to hang your shirts was quite small. The view from both of the rooms I slept in was to the ceiling of the ground floor and to some air conditioner units.

If you are staying in an upper room these issues should never be present.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikko1974UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Any hotel that refers to itself as an "urban resort" has clearly had the hand of the PR and marketing department, and the Village in Cardiff is a fine example.

This review is something of a mixed bag - having booked a family room, there were some really encouraging aspects coupled with failures on some basics which even lower rated hotels manage to get right. Booking online was simple enough, though they never sent an email to confirm, and I had to contact them through their website to confirm that they had received it and that my bank details hadn't gone to some villain.

The Village clearly makes its money from gym subscriptions so expect testosterone and tracksuits as far as the eye can see. My better half found the presence of some lads in the sauna to be a little off-putting and went for a swim instead, which she said was lovely.

Beds for the adults and children were made in the family room when we arrived which was good. However, the pillows on the beds were thin and lumpy (more like a Cornish pasty that had been microwaved to within an inch of its life, rather than a hotel pillow) so we attempted to get some more. However, the phone in the hotel room wasn't working so we called downstairs on the mobile, having already got dressed for bed.

That you have to call the hotel using an 0871 number is bad enough but like so many companies that make extra money by forcing customers to use these numbers, the supposed direct line to the hotel took you through to a menu which then took you through to another menu which eventually took you to reception several minutes later - by which time you've notched up a call charge which you wouldn't accrue if you simply dialed a national rate number that counted as “mobile minutes”. And the company gets a cut of the bill.

Half an hour passed since the call and no pillows arrived - and it was clearly going to be more sensible to get dressed and go downstairs to enquire as to whether we were actually going to receive the pillows. My wife also took the broken hotel phone downstairs and restated the pillow request - they arrived eventually, 45 mins after we first requested.

It seems her reluctance to go into the sauna was soon to be compensated in the hotel room, as it proved impossible to turn off the heated towel rail in the bathroom and it soon became stiflingly hot.

More concerning, the towel rail was right next to the toilet and was very hot indeed - as one child found out when he tried to use it to help him climb up onto the loo.

The temperature was probably high because the hotel had put all the heaters along its corridors on, which seemed unnecessary and a little wasteful in late April. There was no air conditioning in our room – strange for a hotel that brands itself as a resort - so we had to open the windows, one of which had a restrictor on to stop the little darlings from falling out, although the other had no restrictor and could be opened wide. This also seemed a little odd in a family room, but we’re not health and safety zealots.

The flip side from getting fresh air, rather than air conditioning, is the presence of the Asda loading bay next door to the hotel, with its siren going off every time their door is opened. You heard it much better with the window open. Air conditioning would mean that windows wouldn't need to be open, and Asda was there first, so not fair to blame them.

The TV in the hotel room only had some of the few channels offered working, although Sky Sports was available in abundance. There was no way of adjusting the sound or pictures, so all programmes were muffled and dull and the picture a little distorted. “Jamaica Inn” would prove particularly challenging.

In terms of the other facilities, the decor in the "Victory" bar and the restaurant was dark - more akin to platform level at Birmingham New Street station than a premium hotel. The “V” theme seems to run through the whole hotel - we did chuckle when a particularly lugubrious member of staff came cleaning tables with "V.Happy" emblazoned across the back pocket of his jeans. Perhaps his glum outlook was caused by the whole colour scheme for the hotel, mainly purple, black, brown – more funereal than fun.

Other bar staff were pleasant, although I met a friend for dinner in the Victory bar and the piri-piri chicken was sufficiently unpleasant to make him curtail his visit early. Fortunately he had booked a room himself for the evening so he didn’t have to go far to sleep it off.

At breakfast, the member of staff greeting us was lovely and friendly (but wasn’t wearing the V.Happy jeans). We couldn’t work out why the hot buffet counter was wedged into a very small alcove in the corner of the restaurant. It seemed like the restaurant wasn’t designed for buffet breakfasts. This wasn’t helped by a group of resident conference goers standing around in the confined space talking about accounting software. They may well know how to fill in a tax return but consideration for other guests clearly is outside their gift. The hotel can’t choose its customers though, and the breakfast was fine when we made it past them!

And finally, reception staff were nice, even if their prowess at following simple requests was a little lacking. The pillows may have been delayed but the replacement room phone never turned up by the time we checked out.

I used to visit the Village regularly when I lived in Cardiff – prior to it being revamped to look like a rather low grade nightclub – and it was always pretty good for food and drink, so it was interesting to actually stay there. In hindsight, I regret not paying a few quid more and staying at the Radisson in the city centre. It wasn’t awful, and the location was particularly convenient, but it was nothing special and it wasn’t the cheapest option.

Don't forget your tracksuit...

Room Tip: You may find yourself paying extra for things that are standard in similarly rated and priced hotels...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobCG380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

stayed at the end of the Easter weekend, rooms weren't ready 15:00, we were told other guests were late checking out. Explain that to a baby who needs an afternoon sleep

But the staff were as helpful as they could be

Bar is good and the food can't really be faulted in there - go for the half chicken

Rooms - well they do what they say on the tin

Ok place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

'Music' was so loud in the bar it wasn't possible to eat in there. Awful. Vinny and Vito was disappointing, nowhere near as nice as the old restaurant. Loud and basic. Changing rooms have recently been renovated and are now freezing cold, the draught from the full-on air-conditioning hits you as soon as you enter them from the pool. Someone has also had the bright idea of bombarding customers with TV noise in the changing rooms now. Use the middle part of the changing rooms to try and get away from this. Burgers are good, but eat them in the reception area if you want to be able to hear yourself think. Staff at the Starbucks are very pleasant and friendly. Overall OK but not great and not the place to go if you want to relax. More for your party-people type. I expect it does a good business with hen and stag nights.

Room Tip: take some earplugs
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KASTMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Typical Village offer really. For best prices stay on the first floor and for a few extra luxuries stay on the Upper Deck level for a few pounds more. Good location and rooms are soundproofed.
Good breakfast but conversely evening meal not so good (£22 steak very chewy!). Free wi fi and good leisure facilities. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on the Upper Deck level
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansardtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel was satisfactory and overall we had a decent stay. The main positives were friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent pool / gym facilities, choice of two restaurants, free parking and free WIFI. There is also a choice of Starbucks, Victory pub / bar or the restaurant.

There was however potential for improvement in several areas. Although clean, the room was dated and tatty with a very old difficult to use TV. Costing 120 pounds a night I was quite shocked that there wasn't any complimentary toiletries, instead a soap dispenser in a similar fashion to a budget hotel. The Victory bar was reasonably priced and food was good. The restaurant however had a limited menu and the service / quality of food was poor. They couldn't cope with our large party and it took 2 hours for our main course to arrive from ordering and wrong meals arrived. The second night we pre ordered and it still took just as long. Service was poor at breakfast also and it was a hard task to get a knife and fork / coffee. It was difficult to find enough variety on the menu after two nights although there were specials. The location is also quite far from Cardiff.

Overall a decent stay however I wouldn't choose to stay here when not on business. The pool / gym are a bonus but the hotel doesn't quite reach its potential. The upper deck rooms are essentially 20 pounds a night more to get toiletries and a Sky movies package.

Room Tip: Don't bother with upper deck rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,302 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing