We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just nice but need to work on the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Spend a night in this hotel having used the DeVere Village resorts a few times for work and stays with the family. The pool was very good, love the size and the lanes which really help to make the stay. Room was a long way from reception up stairs down stairs and in a section of the hotel which feels like it was an afterthought and built of plywood. The noise when you walk down the corridor was terrible the sound insulation in the room was poor.
We booked a group of us into the restaurant and they split us up and put us on separate tables. Took a little convincing to push some tables together. Food was just OK but portion size and quality were not what you would expect given the price. Breakfast was distinctly average with a small selection, no fresh fruit. Overall not quite what I had come to expect after stays at other village resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WasterLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,242 - 2,248 of 2,630 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ok and does the job and our room was fine. The food in the over priced Vito and vinnys is the major problem. Stayed at Village hotel for a nearby wedding. Decided for ease to eat at Vinny & Vitos first night. Got a table easily and the waiter was excellent and really made us feel welcome.
We ordered and I have to say the most tasteless food I have ever ever eaten arrived. The garlic bread had no taste whatsoever and the two pizzas we ordered again were tasteless and awful. I have had better £1.50 smart price frozen pizzas. I wouldn't bother going here, go into town or use the victory pub as the food there is better. As a hotel it's not bad. Gym facilities are great and staff friendly it's just the Italian gimmick of vinny and Vito's is the problem and think any Italian would be embarrassed of the restaurant!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommygun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Let it not be said that I have not given this hotel every opportunity to redeem itself but alas after having just stayed there now for the 4th time it is definitly going to be my last.
My biggest and only main complaint is the noise.
On booking, I once again asked for a 'quiet location' and on booking in at reception, I asked them to check that I was not going to be located in the middle of a group of students, a Hen weekend or a Golfing weekend (my previous 3 stays!!) and was assured by the rather put out receptionist that this would not be the case!
Guess what? - 3 am in the morning it was like New Years Eve in Traffalgar Square outside my room with doors banging, screaming, running up and down and then ofcourse the party in the room next to me!
Exhausted!
Got up in the morning and didnt even bother going in for my pre-paid breakfast - just wanted to get out of there asap
Never again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neatn0gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Average hotel for just under £100. Bathrooms are like travel lodges. Bedrooms are ok but small. Don't be conned by the advertised 'upgrades' of the upper deck rooms. The 'Starbucks package' is in fact Starbucks coffee sachets in your room and the 'pinch'able toiletries' are in fact bolted to the wall with screws.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jessica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I live down the road from the hotel, so I go regularly. The gym and in particular the swimming pool are great, the pub is ok and the pub food is ok, but I have been disappointed by the restaurant food every time I have eaten there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatbigshowoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Pretty much everything in this hotel has a slogan using v. to mean very, however all that I can really say is that it is v. mediocre. Rooms are OK but décor is muted greens and browns, which are frankly depressing, and they just felt a bit tired. Mattress was pretty much past its useful life. Not enough staff on reception at either check-in or check out. Desk was provided but then had the TV put right in the middle of it so could not comfortably work on my laptop. Breakfast was OK but the New York flat bread for dinner was quite unpleasant, somehow tasting predominantly of washing up liquid and £2.60 for a small bottle of water in the restaurant is extortionate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

booked 3 night easter deal for good price. Check in ok, quick and easy. had large room which was very clean, bathroom also very clean. dined in Vinnie & Vito's, staff very good. food very nice, service excellent. wine a bit over priced and not very good. plenty of car parking and hotel easy to find off the motorway. dined in pub saturday and sunday night, wouldn't have gone back on sunday except weather was terrible. food in pub wasn't wonderful. we had the sharing platter, chips and popcorn chicken very nice. lamb kofta one cooked through one not. chicken wings terrible. all dips also terrible. very much a matter of personal taste, we don't like chicken dripping in sauce and they were swimming. had burger and soup following night and this was much better.
Function on saturday night, but music stopped promptly at 12 and no further noise.
overall hotel nice and clean, didn't like the dress code for the staff, but again this is personal taste.
Breakfast was excellent with good fast service and slightly limited range of hot breakfast items, but all fresh and frequently replaced.
Fruit and pastries very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralAnne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,272 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,201 reviews
5.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £44 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing