We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Service was very good and the food in the restaurant was much better than expected. All the staff were pleasant, courteous and helpful. Room was nice but bathroom needed refurb - mangy grouting!
Even numbered room on second floor suffered from noise from delivery vehicles early morning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BillB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear BillB_10
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us,
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
I am sorry to hear the issues in the bathroom and the noise from delivery vehicles. I will look at your points immediately and try my best to resolve them asap.
Customer Feedback is very important to us and we really appreciate your time to provide your feedbak.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    767
    442
    219
    147
See reviews for
428
1,011
59
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as attending a wedding and this hotel was closest to decourceys manor. Check in was smooth and quick, when we arrived at our room we found it to be a little on the compact side but really clean and a comfy bed which is the most important thing. Staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was OK there was a fair selection of food but did find the food warm rather than piping hot but tasty. Would return but perhaps would pay the extra for the club room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andybCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night only on a family visit to Cardiff. Easy access from the M4 and despite it's close proximity to the M4 and A470 there was no disturbance from traffic noise.
Very busy hotel with many business clients, but staff were friendly and very helpful.

Our room was on the "Upper Deck", was nicely furnished and had free sky TV (not that we had much time to use it), Tea & Coffee making facility, plenty of hanging space, an iron and full ironing board (my wife felt right at home), hair dryer, desk and chair and sockets for charging phones and laptops etc. There was also free WiFi throughout the complex.
My only gripes about the room were the lack of a Safe to store valuables and that the door lock didn't always lock when you pulled the door shut when leaving the room, however the latter was reported to reception and hopefully rectified before the next guest.
The double bed was large, comfortable with masses of pillows / cushions.
The bathroom was fresh and clean with liquid soap, shampoo and conditioner supplied.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast which was served buffet style with the usual choice of cereals, bacon, sausage, beans, mushrooms, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, or continental breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful, my wife has a gluten intolerance and was quickly supplied with gluten free bread when she asked the waiter.

The leisure facilities looked excellent, although we were not there long enough to use the facility.

I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Cardiff / Caerphilly area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgstips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here because we were going to a wedding in Cardiff.The staff were friendly and helpful and check in and out was efficient!The room was very spacious and comfortable ,and not too stuffy as we could open windows-something that hotels seem to be restricting now-health and safety I assume!
The pool was one of the best I have seen in any hotel,and even though it was a Sunday afternoon and there were lots of families in ,it was not cramped and fun!
Several restaurants on site and also a Starbucks if you only want a coffee and a sandwich!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel did what it said. It was clean comfortable and served the purpose for us very well. We had a premium room which was bigger than the average but was still a bit small and the decor was a bit tired and worn but the bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom was fine. We ate in the bar and the restaurant and both were Ok. Breakfast buffet was good.

Every member of staff we dealt with throughout the hotel were excellent and they deserve a special mention.

Room Tip: we did not see the regular rooms and our bigger premium room was not big so suggest going for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for a long weekend to take in rugby and sightseeing. Hotel room was good, but sometimes noisy as over the front entrance and the outside terrace. Staff promised to find us a quieter room next visit. On the subject of staff, we found that all the employees, from check in, Starbucks, pool and gym staff, Victory bar and the restaurant were all welcoming, efficient and friendly. Ate in the restaurant and the bar and enjoyed the choice and quality of the food. Wine, as in most hotels, is overpriced. Breakfast was fine with a choice of hot and cold food on offer.
Pool and gym are spacious and a pleasure to use. Left the car in the hotel car park and took local transport into the city. There's a choice of bus, train and taxi. We will certainly stay here next time we visit Cardiff.

Room Tip: Avoid the front facing rooms that are over the Victory pub as the terrace can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellybaby_Freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I often meet up with my sister here, we sometimes have a bar meal, sometimes a coffee at the costa. A lovely friendly atmosphere with plenty to do.

Definitely worth a visit.

The only draw back I would say is the location if you were visiting Cardiff, you would need a car to get to the city and it's a bit of a walk to any other pubs or restaurants so you would be a bit stuck.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing