We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired rooms, with not enough staff at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired rooms, with not enough staff at breakfast”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel whilst visiting family. Firstly, the hotel looked lovely on entering reception. Jeremy who checked us in was lovely and welcoming. A good first impression.

However, things went downhill from there. We were told that the room was on the first floor but getting to it was definitely an experience. The hotel is very disjointed and we had to walk along one corridor, down a single flight of stairs then along another corridor and up another flight of stairs.

The first corridor we passed looked lovely, clean with thick carpets. However, this wasn't our floor. The section of hotel we were in was tired, with the loudest, squeakiest floorboards you have ever heard, even squeaking when turning over in bed. Not great for a light sleeper like myself. There was barely any soundproofing either so if anyone walked along the corridor either outside or above you it was a nightmare.

Breakfast came with our room rate so we made our way down to the restaurant. There are definitely not enough staff for how busy the hotel was on the weekend we were there and the staff were running round like headless chickens. However, they remained cheerful and smiley throughout. The food was of a poor quality with extremely fatty bacon and scrambled eggs that looked green and unedible so I stuck to toast for the duration.

The Village Hotel will definitely not be top of the list for a return visit but should I return I will definitely be paying for the upgrade to "Upper Deck" or asking for a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room or pay for the upgrade to Upper Deck if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Vanessa L

Thank you for your recent review and providing your comments regarding your stay.

I am sorry to hear the issues regarding the bedroom and the noise experienced, please be assured I will look at your points immediately and try my best to resolve them. I have also discussed your breakfast feedback with the Restaurant Manager, and can only apologise for the issues you experienced at this point, please be assured that this is not typically the case.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    685
    402
    198
    124
See reviews for
369
873
52
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. Nice room, nice hotel, good breakfast, Starbucks, very happy with the Gym. Very happy with my stay at this hotel.
Good location as near major junction of the M4.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Kelly B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, please be assured your kind comments have been passed to all the team.

Customer feedback is very important to us and we really appreciate your time taken to provide your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here as I had a meeting at the Cardiff Gate Business Park and wanted a hotel with a gym.

It's more than just a hotel; it has a pub and a Starbucks and a full gym within it as well a a restaurant. It's literally on the M4 junction, only one junction from the business park and only a 8 min walk from Coryton station (although there are no signs from the station and I had to rely on google maps with patchy signal) which is 15 mins from Cardiff Central station.

I arrived about 7pm, receptionist was very nice. I then did some work for 90 mins (free wifi) and then went to the gym. Beware, the pub closes for food at 930pm and room service stops at 10pm. I worked out quickly to make room service! The room service menu was a bit confusing; turns out one side is weekday and one is weekend but they fulfilled it anyway even though I ordered something from one side and something from the other.

Room was fine; small but comfortable and with a iron, ironing board, internet cable and desk. Plenty of hangers. TV wasn't working but fixed quick whilst I was in the gym. Bathroom could have been cleaner; counted 2 little black curly hairs (bleugh) in some crevices. Shower was weak.

Biggest issue was noise; the room next to me on one side seemed to bang their door and yell at each other constantly for about an hour from 10pm. Goodness knows what they were doing. They were so loud I could hear them over my TV. I nearly went and spoke to them. It always amazes me as a regular traveller that hotels do not remind their guests to be mindful of other guests peace and to be quiet and respectful.

All in all, ok.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryblossomfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear cherryblossomfeet
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, customer feedback is very important to us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is clean and modern with good leisure facilities.
I had read some reviews complaining of noise, but it was quiet when we stayed.
We thought the pool area and gym were very good, I have been a member at Village Walsall for 4 years and the lockers and facilities there are very poor compared to Cardiff.
We were not overly impressed with the evening menu in the Victory, if you break the menu down and just look at the main courses, we felt it was very limited on choice and would have liked to have seen more variety with potatoes rather than fries/chips.
We did take a look at the Viceroy menu and that did not impress either.
The breakfast was pretty standard, but again would have preferred more choice, there is the usual cereal, fruit and hot choices but would have loved some cheese & ham.
If you love roast dinners, there is a very good carvery within a 5/6 minute walk, with all you can eat for £3.59.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and are staying again next week, as our company as booked us into the same hotel, maybe it will mean a few meals out to fulfil our taste buds!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear 1davo
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the leisure facilities, I am very sorry to hear that the food menu wasn't to your liking and you found the breakfast choices disappointing, please be assured that your comments have been discussed with my Restaurant Manager.
Customer feedback is very important to us and we really appreciate your time taken to provide your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The Village Urban Resort Cardiff is a average UK Hotel.
The rooms are clean and have everything you need.
Very good is the Gym which is rather busy.
Also very good is the Pub and the Starbucks.
The staff is helpfull and friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beat9935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Beat9935

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay particularly our helpful staff and clean comfortable bedrooms, your comments will of course be passed to all the team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Room was filthy, towels had holes in them, bed was two singles pushed together which kept coming apart, mould in the bathroom, old stains on the wall that had obviously been there for weeks and on a health and safety issue the windows had no safety guards which could of been an issue with children. Staff were accommodating when we complained after first night, we got the upgrade and a bottle of wine but what is worrying that people have complained about this in the past but it keeps happening; not good enough for a brand that promotes a V comfortable stay ! And isn't cheap, you think you would get a better standard. Since returning I have emailed customer services twice giving them the opportunity to reply before posting a negative review but they haven't bothered to reply! We also took photographic evidence of the state of the room and it isn't pretty. Not good customer service and has put me off using chain again, which is a shame as we have used them several times and never had an issue; disappointing !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Andrea D

Thank you for your email and taking the time to provide your feedback to us.

I sincerely apologise that your stay was not perfect during your recent visit to us. I am sorry to see that the bedroom issues let us down on this occasion. I have spoken to the Housekeeping Manager who also sends her apologies and will rectify the issues immediately, please be assured this is not our normal standard.

I am very happy to see that the issues were dealt with promptly by our reception team and you were offered a complimentary upgrade with wine.

As already discussed with yourself,and by way of an apology we would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade with VIP package for your next stay with us.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review, customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your time taken to provide your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I booked a 3 night stay and then read some of the negative reviews and booked in with some trepidation however my concerns were completely unfounded. The room was warm but a quick call to reception and a fan was delivered within 5 minutes. The room was nicely decorated and had everything we needed. Breakfast was good and the staff were every welcoming and efficient. We made good use of the gym -a real bonus in a hotel I this price range. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending and booking again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SChainey_Cardiff, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Jacquie B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, please be assured your kind comments have been passed to all the team.

Customer feedback is very important to us and we really appreciate your time taken to provide your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
539 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing