We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - would def come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here fri 29th jun - 1st jul in a group of 12 girls. The hotel was such a good price considering the location and how beautiful it was. The rooms were stunning, immaculatey clean, modern and massive. All were slightly different but equally beautiful. We stayed on floors 3 and 4 and the views were good - I would have loved to be higher. The staff were really polite and helpful. We requested all twin rooms prior to arriving and they informed us they would sort. We didnt use the parking or restaurant as we were so close to town centre. I will definitely recommend this hotel and hope to find an excuse to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shev711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your kind recommendation! I am so glad that you and your girlfriends had such a great stay, sounds like you certainly made the best of our central location, with the great shopping, fantastic eateries and renowned nightlife all on our doorstep. Next time if you really do want that higher floor and exceptional views, just request it whilst booking and we will do our best to spoil you - something we aim to do for all our guests. Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,405)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,038 - 2,044 of 2,405 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Me and my Girlfriend have stayed here on two occasions and both times it was an extremely pleasant stay!

On our first visit, we had a standard room for one night, on arrival we were promptly checked in and given our room key. The rooms were stunning, Great sized bed, very modern bathroom and a break taking view of Cardiff! We ordered room service in the evening and were both unaware of the "Tray charge" for a member of staff to bring us out order as we weren't told over the phone. After discussing this with the member of staff, the hotel were very apologetic and told us to not worry about the charge!

After a successful first stay, we returned to the Radisson a few months later for a Christmas/New Years get away. This time we upgraded to the Business Class room and stayed for 3 days and 2 nights! The room was the same size, however, bathrobes were included as were tea and coffee making facilities and Breakfast in Bed! The room service again was fantastic! We received breakfast at the time we requested and our evening meals (also by room service) were again delivered to suit us! The food wasn't cheap (as can be expected by a hotel of this reputation) but it was gorgeous! The maid also came and made our beds and changed the towel every morning which was fantastic!

The location is also fantastic! As well as a great view of Cardiff and the Millennium Stadium, it is opposite the St Davids shopping centre and the Motorpoint Arena! As well as this, Cardiff's main train station is virtually next door, so if you are travelling by train it is perfect! if you are driving it is about £15 per night to park in the hotel which is very secure. On checking out, the staff even allowed us to leave the car in the hotel while we did some last minute shopping which was very helpful as it saved us parking in the shopping centre opposite!

All in all, the hotel is comfortable, friendly and in a great location! Whether the stay is pleasure or business you can be guaranteed excellent service!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your lovely post. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your first stay so much that you came back again soon after!

As you mentioned the advantages of business class are great, if you want to have that ‘stay-at-home feel whilst staying away’ you can pretty much flake out in our big cozy beds and lovely hotel rooms - and have everything brought to you.

Most of our guests find our amazing breakfasts in bed a real treat. We pride ourselves on our high service standards so it’s great that you posted ‘guaranteed excellent service’. Thank you for that and I hope to see you return soon.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Booked a junior suite for the olympic football way back in december. Went to check in and was told "sorry we've over booked we've had to down grade your room. It's because of the olympics"

I pointed out thats why i had booked in December because i knew they would be busy so I'd booked well inadvance.

After almost an hour of quite heated debate a suite was "found".

The duty manager then expected me to be grateful that he'd managed to sort out their own cock up.

Ordered room service after returning from the event and it turned up stone cold.

Was then woken at 8 am by housekeeping trying to service the room. Don't they use checkout lists any more.

Talking to other guests many people had experienced the same over booking issue. Seems they struggle with big events.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ign1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We are terribly sorry about your experience during your stay. We take all comments from our guest very seriously in order to constantly improve our services. I would welcome if you would contact me directly on jens.hallman@radissonblu.com as we are very keen on finding a jointly agreeable solution to your comments.

Kind regards,
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Bright, clean, spotless, modern hotel in great location. Impressive-looking building and well maintained inside. Few minutes walk to Millennium Stadium, shopping, etc. and just a short taxi or long walk to Cardiff Bay. Rooms large and beds comfortable. I would have given 5 stars, but a few minor issues detracted a little - (1) Requested and paid for two adjacent rooms (did not want to leave teenage children somewhere remote), called back a few weeks before arrival to repeat that detail, and was again assured, but on arrival was given non-adjacent rooms (about 7 rooms apart, though on same floor) - not what we asked for but we did not cause fuss; (2) breakfast £10 if booked the day before, but £15 on the day - seems petty to make a difference; (3) WiFi was dreadful, simply not working on our stay; (4) why so few teabags and no biscuits? (Should we bring our own?) Overall, it is a very nice hotel, and we would certainly stay again, but hope the WiFi is fixed and we'll pack the biscuits.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Xylocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Really disappointed that we didn’t hit the mark in some areas that quite frankly we should have. We should have walked away with that 5 star rating you nearly appointed.

The room mix up is just not acceptable. I do apologise and I will take this up with our front of house. We put out a few tea bags per room and replenish daily to ensure they remain fresh and tasty. Additional teabags can be requested free of charge at any time from housekeeping - I do apologise this was a problem for you.

You mentioned our WiFi, I am disappointed to read you had a problem with this. We invested greatly in this free guest service - ensuring the network manages volume of requests, whilst also having the capacity required to ensure speed. I am pleased to announce that we will upgrade our bandwith in the next couple of months to greatly improve our service.

You did say that you would stay again, so I hope we have a chance to welcome you back and grasp that 5 star rating this time.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We booked at short notice, to have a little break before my husband 'enjoys' further medical treatment and had a very pleasant two nights here, despite the Olympic chaos in the rest of Cardiff - OK, I thought the football was all over.
We were given a corner room, and although clean & comfortable most of the room was small & cramped, with a large pillar dominating the space. This clearly lacked the 'wow factor' we had expected from a business class room, and so we were delighted when the helpful and efficient desk clerk transfered us to another, spacious, business class room on the top floor.
With limited mobility and needing a lot of rest we were fascinated by the view which provided endless diversions - trains, a building being constructed (big crane!), men cleaning the roof of CIA and in the distance, the sea. Business class comes with free access to a range of movies, but the view won on the first evening.
Breakfast was ample and the staff friendly, we experienced no problems with fake fire alarms, nor did we have to queue for the lifts. The hotel is a very easy walk from the shopping centre with a range of restaurants also close by.
Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divadarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

I am so pleased we were able to offer you the respite you desperately needed! This is exactly what we are here for — to make our guests happy. I hope your husband is doing well.

Thank you so much for such great feedback; it did make me chuckle that our view competed well with some of the most recent Hollywood blockbusters… with men cliffhanging on the roof of the CIA building!

I wish you the very best with the next stage of your treatment and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back once again to celebrate once it's been completed. Take care.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights. This hotel is situated in the City Centre and is just on the edge of the fantastic shopping centre; the railway station is fairly close by and the Millenium Stadium is also within walking distance. Our room was a good size with two generously sized beds which were very comfotable. The bathroom was in first class condition. Overall the accommodation was very good. When we booked (on line) breakfast was not included but when we checked in were told we could pre-book for £9.95 or pay £15 in the morning. We did pre-book and it was excellent as was the service. The downside was the car parking. The car park was full but had there been a space it would have cost £15 per day! The is a multistorey close by which actually worked out slightly cheaper. The Spa was closed which was a great disappointment as this was one of the reasons we booked this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room bright and sunny
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

I’m really pleased that in the most everything was to your satisfaction. Our fantastic location is a real attraction and our Super Buffet Breakfasts are second to none.

You commented on our parking, both in terms of cost and availability. Being a big hotel in Cardiff city centre, we do have a challenge with parking spaces. However, in terms of price we work hard to make sure we are competitive.

I do regret that the Spa was closed whilst you were with us. We work hard to ensure high standards and quality for our guests and as such this occasionally means closing facilities for upgrades / improvements. The spa is currently not in operation as we are revamping it and we aim to have a fully improved and operational Spa by the first quarter of 2013.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first 2 nights of July. The first thing we loved about the place was the location. Very close the to the main railway station, and the main shopping and dining hub. And if you are totally mobile then it is easily walkable without requiring a cab. We were greeted very warmly by the young girl at reception. She was very welcoming. And to me that is the most important thing to start any stay. We were offered breakfast (not part of the room rate) and provided with information on where that is held every morning. We were also advised on the bar there if we wished to have drinks later. Our room was not only very clean, but very large as well, and had a great view over the city and rugby stadium. All facilities were provided for. Mini bar, toiletries, and hair dryer. The Radisson Blu Cardiff is quite a modern hotel. And therefore lacks the charm and atmsophere one would normally look for in a hotel. But what it lacks in that area it certainly makes up for in location, cleanliness and a nice welcome from the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OZMARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

I’m so pleased that our ‘staff welcome’ kicked off your stay so nicely. We care a great deal about our teams and to hear that they have delivered above your expectations is great to hear. I will share your kind words with our team.

We do have great facilities, paired with amazing views of the city, countryside and Cardiff Millennium Stadium. You are right in that our contemporary design in the heart of the city means that we are less traditional and quirky, however I do hope that you felt we balance that with atmosphere well.

Perhaps when you are next in the city you might have the opportunity to stay with us again to experience the Filini Bar and Lounge, which our guests tell us has a great ambiance.

Kind regards,

Jens Hallman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £64 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing