We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night when we went to see John Bishop at the Motorpoint Arena hotel was easy to find a 2 min walk from Cardiff Central train station, fab location for Motorpoint about a 1 min walk and very very close to shops bars and restaurants.
Our room was on the 12th floor it was modern, clean & very spacious, we had a great nights sleep which is unusual for a big hotel it was very comfortable
The only negative thing we had to say about it was the lifts didn't seem to be working very well, on one occasion we decided to take the stairs up 12 floors! as the queue for the lifts was so long! There seems to be problems with the fact that there are only 2 lifts in a hotel with 20 odd floors of rooms?
Other than that we would definatley return - great value

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
A lot of our guests went to see John Bishop perform recently, I’m told it was a great night! I’m glad you were able to get a restful night’s sleep in our rooms afterwards and you found it comfortable.

Sorry to hear one of the lifts wasn’t working, I hope it didn't cause to much of an inconvenience. Both lifts are working now, I’m pleased to report.

Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    842
    300
    94
    55
See reviews for
245
932
114
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Short walk from train station. Very near restaurants and shopping. Spacious room, great view over the city, really large bathroom. Everything very modern and staff very efficient. Hotel restaurant is superb but there are also many well priced options just steps away. Truthfully I would return to Cardiff just to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseee_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
It’s such a pleasure to hear from happy guests. I’m glad you would return to Cardiff just to stay at our hotel!

The chefs at our Filini restaurant work very hard to create an exciting menu featuring fresh ingredients. It seems to be paying off: the Filini restaurant has been getting rave reviews from our guests recently.

Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We were booked to see John Bishop in Cardiff so decided we would make a night of it and stay in Cardiff. We wanted to be centrally located and near to the Arena so we chose the Radisson Blu - you are less than 5 minutes walk from the train station, one minute away from the shops and about two from the Motorpoint Arena. We booked through Superbreak as I had a discount code through my work and the booking was nice and simple. We decided to park our car at the NCP carpark on Pellet Street, as it was £5 for 24 hours. The car park has CCTV and is somewhat cheaper than the hotel's own carpark which I believe is £15 for overnight parking and St David's carpark which is £18 for 24 hours. The NCP carpark is less than 5 minutes away. We arrived and were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who dealt with our check in quickly and effciently. The only slight negative was that she gave us no indication where the rooms were as you would normally expect when you check in at a hotel, so we were left to our own devices. The Radisson Blu occupies what used to to be the AXA office building therefore the layout can be a little quirky as it isn't a purpose built hotel. We were booked into a front facing room on the 10th floor so we had a panoramic view of the main shopping area, Cardiff central railway station, the Millenium Stadium and the wonderful Welsh hills in the distance, all quite impressive from that height. The room was on the small side but perfectly adequate for a overnight stay. The bed was very comfy, was quite wide but length wise was disappointing. My husband is only 5 ft 7 and his toes were poking off the bed. As a earlier reviewer has commented the pillows were quite hard. The bathroom was good, plenty of room and toiletries a plenty. Strangely the room had no mirrors near sockets, therefore drying your hair or in my case straightening it was difficult when you could see what you were doing. The room has ironing facilities and a safe which was easy to use. Although the room had plenty of tea and coffee there was very little milk accompanying it. The other negative points were that the air conditioning was very noisy throughout the night and there was quite a large gap under the door so when you were in bed with the lights off there was a lot of light coming in from under the door - no need to turn the light on if you got up in the night to visit the bathroom. Breakfast at the weekend is served 7 until 11, buffet style and was very good. We had breakfast included in our rate and we couldn't fault it. All in all I would stay at the Radisson Blu again even with the negative points as it is adequate compared to other hotels plus very convenient.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 3008robs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We are very lucky to have such a great spot in the centre of Cardiff — perfect if you’re going to an event at the Motorpoint Arena nearby.

Thanks for pointing out the issues you had with the pillows, finding your way to your room, air conditioning and the lack of mirrors near sockets. All this really helps us continually make improvements to make our guests happier.

Really pleased you enjoyed your breakfast so much and that you’ll stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Booked into this hotel due its superb location to Motor point Arena!! Great value at £99 for a Business Room including breakfast, a complimentary drink from the bar, complimentary newspapers delivered to your door and free WiFi. The room was spacious and immaculate and loved the Nespresso machine, gowns and slippers. Special thanks to Alan on the Bar...he made us all laugh with his Michael McIntyre story and the desserts trio were magnificent and a great start to our weekend. Lovely breakfast too. Parking is an issue. We parked about 200 metres away in Adam St car park. Both that and the NCP are £5 for 24 hours compared to £15 for hotel car park. And what could be better than being 30 seconds away from the huge John Lewis! Shopping bliss!!!

Room Tip: Definitely worth opting for Business Rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna_s_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Alan will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed his story, thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed yourself. I just hope it doesn’t go to his head!

I appreciate that parking is tight in Cardiff’s city centre. We are responding to this issue by attempting to introduce a drop off point outside the hotel, I hope this will be in place next time you visit us.

Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just come back from a night's stay with my 2 friends and will definitely not be staying in a Radisson again after this experience. Booked a room for 3 adults but the room we were given had 2 single beds and a low camp bed! The view was awful, train tracks and waste land. There were only 2 cups/glasses etc. We rang reception to complain and were told there were no suites left as hotel fully booked and it was normal for a camp bed to be provided when the room was booked for 3 people. It was like they were expecting 2 adults and 1 child! They did however provide us with extra cup and glass and we asked for a bathrobes and slippers which we got. Location was good and after a night in town we went back to hotel bar for a drink, ordered baileys coffees which were brought to us stone cold, when we complained the rude batman looked at us as if we were lying and then ignored us! The supervisor came over and said he'd get us some more which then took him 20 minutes to make. I asked to speak to his manager and the duty manager came so we complained about the room, coffees, rude staff etc. he said he would reimburse the cost of the coffees but said we'd need to get it the next morning from Sarah the duty manager and she would deal with our complaint and offer compensation. Because we booked through a third party there was nothing they could do, we would need to write to the company. She did however reimburse us for the coffees and when my friend asked if there was anything else they could do she said she could pay us back the cost of the parking. All in all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wmozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact me directly on jens.hallman@radissonblu.com as I would like to discuss a solution to your recent experience in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location but suffers from lack of parking if your not lucky enough to get one of the hotels limited parking spaces @£15.00 a night then you have to park in the shopping centers car park and drag all your luggage to the hotel,I'm not sure on the cost of parking there but I do know it's more expensive than at the hotel. After saying all that the hotel is exactly what you would expect from a run of the mill chain hotel , all of the staff where great ad the hotel was generally very clean and the breakfast better than the usual self service fodder !!

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank baggytrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
I appreciate your frustration about the parking, spaces are very tight in the centre of Cardiff. We are hoping to introduce drop-off point right outside the hotel which should make things much more convenient for our guests.

I’m pleased our staff were able to help make your stay a success, customer service is something we take great pride in.

Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapua, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Radisson Blu delivers what the chain brand promises. The room could have been a bit more fresh.
Excellent location in the centre of Cardiff and great access to the nice central part of the city.
Breakfast was as good as you would expect. Good for business travellers. I always appreciate free hassle free wifi connection.

Room Tip: Choose a room from higher floors facing towards city centre on opposite site of the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
I’m so pleased you appreciated our free Wi-Fi, it is such a necessity for business travellers like yourself. We always promise to have a “Yes I Can” attitude and make our guests 100% satisfied, so I’m glad you felt we delivered.

Kind regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, Rezidor and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing