We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel for the Rugby!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wigan
Level Contributor
395 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Superb hotel for the Rugby!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Spent 2 nights here to see Wales/England. Very efficient for check in and help during our stay. Room on 7th floor overlooking city centre, clean and had good light levels(directional reading light). Breakfast was good and staff were friendly. Restaurant Manager Davide making sure we knew that breakfast on Sunday could be hectic at the busiest time! We ate early so no problem. Bar prices high but this is a city centre hotel. Would use Radisson Blu again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saabaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
What a weekend to stay with us! As you will attest, the atmosphere inside Radisson Blu Hotel in Cardiff was simply electric for the final of this year’s RBS 6 Nations tournament. I am thrilled that we impressed you in terms of efficiency, friendliness, cuisine and room standard, and hope that we can dazzle you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    845
    300
    96
    55
See reviews for
248
936
115
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed for one night whilst watching Micky Flanagan @ St. Davids Hall. £90 for a business class room on the 12th floor with superb views over the City. Didn't have breakfast, so can't comment on this aspect of the hotel. All in all a great hotel in a superb location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpidaSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Situated just 5 minutes’ walk from St David’s Hall, we are perfectly located for show attendees such as yourself – I hope that you enjoyed seeing Micky Flanagan. I am so pleased that you appreciated the splendid panoramas of the city from your business class room window. The view really is unbeatable!

Our Super Buffet Breakfast is notoriously popular with guests, so next time you visit; I do hope you can find time to indulge!

Kind Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Business took me to Cardiff City and I stayed at this Hotel which is a little more pricey than the normall at which I stay simply for my own convenience. I guess it cost me £20 more than a Premier inn, but what a difference. For that £20 more I had a business suite on the 13th floor with a magnificent view over the city and every comfort you could wish for with a massive variety of films on demand that cost no extra for the grade of room that I had.
The only possible downside was the air conditioning, it worked OK (when I had figured out how to!) but it was very dry. So if any Radisson guys read this, you need a bit of extra humidity in the air con system.
I would definately stay there again
Oh and by the way, the restuarant is excellent and no dearer than those attached to Premier Inns with a supurb choice of vegetarian menues.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Bussiness class room...take it as you will not be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safetysystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Wow, what a lovely review! I have no doubt that as an experienced business traveller you are very aware of all the necessary elements of luxury hospitality, so am thrilled that you enjoyed staying in one of our spacious business suites, complete with all our thoughtful extras and stunning views over Cardiff city.

I have taken on board your comment about the air conditioning, and we will look into resolving this as a matter of priority.

We hope to welcome you back for your next business or leisure trip.

Kind Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is in a great position for the city centre. Car parking underneath, expensive but convenient. Stylish bar suffers from the usual horrible musak. Room was great, breakfast fine. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Go high, and for train buffs ask for a room with a view of the station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippaiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thanks for giving feedback about your stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel in Cardiff. As you pointed out, we are perfectly located within the heart of Cardiff, ideal for sightseeing, gigs and business trips. Car parking is competitive in the city centre, and we are fortunate to have a space dedicated for our guests.

Sounds like we ticked all the boxes here – please do pay us another visit soon!

Kind Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely beds, but found the room noisy in the night. LG LCD Tv good but bracket fouls the hdmi socket so dont expect to plug in a media player.

Breakfast pretty good but avoid the scrambled egg.

Great value for 55gbp, plus around 10gbp for brekkie.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleToManningtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your views about your experience here at Radisson Blu Hotel in Cardiff. I am disappointed and surprised to read that you found your room to be noisy at night – many guests comment on how peaceful our rooms are. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
There is so much to see and do in Cardiff; I hope you will be back with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Booked the Radisson Blu for one night whilst going to a music gig at the Motorpoint Arena. The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to the Arena and the city centre. Staff were helpful and friendly, hotel and room were clean, breakfast had a large choice of hot and cold food, and the overall cost was good value for money. The room had a large double bed, tv, tea/coffee/hot drinks facilities, ample towels, good bathroom, and great views of the city. We've stayed in other hotels in Cardiff before but having stayed at the Radisson Blu, this will definitely be our preferred choice for future trips to the city. We are happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Our city centre location just five walks from the Motorpoint Arena makes us a perfect choice for gig-goers such as yourself. Our spacious and comfortable rooms provide the perfect peaceful
respite after a night out, and the views of the city skyline at night are simply breathtaking.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Lovely rooms, very clean hotel. The higher up your floor the better the view and the better the light. We had a corner room on the 11th floor that benefited from floor to ceiling windows, had a good view and lots of natural light. Our children's room was on the 3rd floor and much darker. Spotlessly clean and modern bathroom. Breakfast offered a good choice of food but the queue for the hot food was long and could have been organised better. Car park is small, has tight spaces and pillars in odd places, making parking a large car tricky.
Location is excellent, very near the town centre, John Lewis and the main rail station.

Room Tip: The higher the better, corner room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for letting us know your thoughts about your recent stay with us here at Radisson Blu Hotel in Cardiff.

Our rooms are really peaceful, offering outstanding views over the city. I hope you appreciated the modern design and space offered in the hotel.

Radisson Hotels know how important breakfast is for all of its guests. Great thought is gone into the Super Breakfast Buffet and my fantastic team know the high standards expected. I am glad you enjoyed the wonderful variety of items available – you will have discovered that our menu has something for every palate. I will discuss the issue of queuing with our Food & Beverage Manager, and look into ways to resolve this problem.

Thank you again for providing such valuable feedback. I do hope you will return to our fantastic location soon - to rediscover all of our four star merits.

Kind Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing