We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok..................but not as good as a decent Premier Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ok..................but not as good as a decent Premier Inn.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a concert in Cardiff a couple of weeks ago. Was really looking forward to the break but was left somewhat dissapointed. The location of the hotel is great, right on the edge of the city centre and only a couple of minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. I made the mistake of buying in to the glossy pictures of the hotel posted on Expedia however, forgetting that like any good estate agent they only submitt the pictures of the best rooms. For some reason we were given a disabled room, while I'm bald and a little overweight I wouldn't class myself as being disabled. We didn't really feel the need to change the room, we guessed that the disabled rooms probablly had more floor space so we stuck with it, in retrospect we probablly should have changed. The bed itself was positioned around 4 foot from the main door to the room, so there was the inevitable noise from people walking down the hall. The bathroom was basically a wet room, there was no shower cubicle and no bath for the obvious reason of access for people with mobility challenges, there was a shower in the corner with a rail, a seat and a shower curtain. While I appreciate that access was obviously a big consideration when designing the bathroom, some form of lip around the shower area would have been a good idea rather than a drain in the middle of the bathroom which meant that if you ventured into the bathroom after someone has had a shower, unless your wearing wellies your going to get wet feet. The rest of the room was merely ok, nothing to make it standout above a Premier Inn really. One area that was a dissapointment was the breakfast, not that we ate it as it was too expensive. I always look forward to the hotel breakfast when going away, however where other hotels either include the brekkie in with the accomodation cost, or charge a reasonable price for it, here it's £9.99 each. On checking in, as a vegan I asked what options would be available for me to eat should we decide to go for the breakfast, after getting a bit of a blank response from the lady checking us in we decided to give it a miss and ventured out to the Riverside Market on the Sunday morning for some lovely hot fresh food for a fraction of the £19.98 it would have cost us at the Radisson Blu. So in summary, an ok hotel, definately nothing to rave about, probablly won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you chose to stay with us due to the great location we have being so close to Cardiff's shops and restaurants. I understand that you were allocated an accessible room on this occasion. The only major difference with our accessible bedroom is that it has a wet room to cater for wheelchair users. Our One Touch Service available 24/7 would have been able to assist to offering a different bedroom for your stay if this was of inconvenience, subject to availability.

I am surprised to hear your comments that our hotel's super buffet breakfast was unreasonable for a 4 star hotel in Cardiff. We are very price competitive against those of the same standard and can offer a wide selection of items to suit every dietary requirement.

It is a shame to hear that you would not look to come back on your next visit. I would be more than happy to offer complimentary breakfast on your next stay with us. I am sure you will not be disappointed with our offering.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    881
    320
    97
    60
See reviews for
255
977
116
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a rather strange hotel. I was not sure if it wished to be an Italian restaurant with rooms or a business hotel with a continental feel. Breakfast was ok but the staff were not experienced. Strangely, the buffet did not include fried eggs; only scrambled and a very cruddy spoon that had the mornings scrambled remains cooked onto it. There were about six varieties of sausage so it seemed a bit of an unnecessary omission. Salt and pepper was rather limited and when we asked for them, the staff would go and retrieve them from other tables. In the bar, there was no ale or bitter on offer. The barman said that they ran out about two months before and it hadn't been ordered. There were four lagers on offer and Guinness. The Guinness ran out on day two. There are only two lifts and the staff need to share them for the room maids trolleys so expect a good wait in the morning. We planned 15 minutes round trip to the room after breakfast. Lastly and most annoyingly, the "save the planet" statement on a card in the bathroom states that if you are willing to re-use your towels, place them back on the rack or else leave them on the floor. I left them on the floor and the room maid placed them back on the rack so it appears that the choice is not with the guest.
Check out was quick.

Room Tip: Get high to avoid the noise from the adjacent railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCriticalMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You have mentioned many elements which you were unhappy with during your stay. Our super buffet breakfast is commonly praised for the wide selection that we offer. Eggs can be made to order as we believe that fried eggs should be made from fresh so that they are cooked to your liking. I am surprised about your comment in regards to our bar selection as we stock Otley beers and many more in our Filini Bar. In regards to the lift, we do have a service lift for our housekeeping team but we sometimes also use the guest lift at peak times. I will also address your comment in regards to the towels with our team as this is an initiative we offer our guests and is not compulsory.

Your feedback has been much appreciated and will be addressed with my team accordingly. I do sincerely hope that this will not deter you from considering us on your next stay as this is not of the norm at Radisson Blu.

Kind Regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Arrived here for partners birthday as we were seeing a concert close by. They have an underground carpark which costs £15 for 24hours. Requested a room with a view which was given as our room was on the 17th floor. Room was spotless and nicely furnished and the bathroom was lovely.

Ordered room service - the first time took 20mins to come. Complained as it would have been quicker for me to go downstairs and get it myself. However, we let this go only for it to happen later on in the evening where it took over half an hour. I spoke to reception and was told that the waiter was in the lift - 15mins later we still had no service. I had to call down five times. Evetually I spoke with someone else who was slightly more (and only slightly) helpful.

Apart from that the hotel is conveniently situated but if you are looking for good service this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma_london2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. You have mentioned some great aspects of your stay such as the bedroom with the great view, nice furnishings and lovely bathroom. However, I am concerned about your comments in regards to our service in relation to your room service order. During peak times in the evenings, guests ordering room service would be advised of a wait time when ordering. I will raise this with our team to ensure that guests are advised accordingly moving forward if this was not the case. Your feedback is much appreciated. I do sincerely hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again. Our 'Yes I Can' attitude is a key attribute which all our team hold within the hotel.

I do hope that you will consider us for your next stay so we can show you what Radisson Blu can offer you.

Kind Regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel renewed our belief in accommodation standards whilst travelling as part of an Insight Tour. Up until this hotel we experienced below expected standard of accommodation. The room was large, bright, clean and modern. Our faith was renewed. Would have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to hear your positive feedback after travelling as part of the Insight tour group. We thoroughly welcome all the leisure groups we accommodate within our hotel whilst they explore Cardiff and surrounding areas. Our standard bedroom sizes are one of the largest in the city and offer fantastic views from our floor to ceiling windows. It's fantastic to hear that we have restored your faith in travelling as part of a tour and I do hope you will stay again with us soon.

Kind Regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I've now stayed in most hotels in Cardiff from the large posh one near the harbour to the one where Lenny Henry stays and this is by far, the best one. Free wifi to Skype home, efficient and friendly staff and a breakfast of scrambled egg and smoked salmon. As a frequent visitor to the town, I'll be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank theeastons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your fantastic five out of five star review! It's great to hear that you rate us highly against the other hotels in Cardiff. Our free WiFi throughout the hotel is available up to 100MB is very convenient for all guests and delegates to catch up online at no extra cost. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your lovely breakfast and that our staff were friendly. There is nothing better than starting the day with a great breakfast and a smile to match!

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

stopped here to go to a concert at the stadium and it's less then 10 min walk away
very clean and nice hotel. Lift to rooms can take a while to come. Bar nice and modern but a little pricey. Right n4ext to the train station but didn't hear any noise from the railway.

Will use again if going back to Cardiff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s70rmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are only minutes away from the stadium and therefore a great choice for any guests looking to attend nearby concerts. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Filini Bar overlooking into the city. I hope you will look to come in for a drink some time even if you are not staying in house with us due to the nice ambience we provide. Despite being close to the railway tracks, our bedrooms are triple glazed and therefore minimises any noise from outside to ensure a good night's sleep.

That's great to hear, I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a modern tower block hotel close to City centre and shopping malls. Its rooms are old size and comfortable. Its very close to station so leave the car at home. When on special offer it is good value. The reception staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: not overlooking the railway lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for our potential guests. It is great to hear that you found our location of advantage being so close to the shopping areas and public transport. Thank you for your kind words, these will be passed on to my team. It is always great to hear positive mentions in regards to the great team we have here at the hotel.

We often have great deals on our bedrooms and much more. Be sure to check out our website for the latest offers http://www.radissonblu.co.uk/hotel-cardiff/hotel-deals

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing