We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Close to the main train station and St David's shopping centre; the bay is a 20 minute walk away and the Millennium stadium and castle are also close by. The hotel is 21 floors high and the lifts were never a problem. The reception area is stylish and the room was plenty big enough with a big comfortable bed, flat screen TV, nice bathroom and fre wi-fi. I thought that the gilt finished tables seemed a little incongrous with the modern furniture in the bedroom. I enjoyed a leisurely buffet breakfast but didn't use the bar or restaurant during my short stay. Altogether excellent and would book again.

Room Tip: ask for a high level room to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovacikchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit in Cardiff. We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We normally stay at the Mecure Holland House Hotel as it has a swimming pool etc, but decided to give the Radisson a try as we were meeting-up with family for 1 night & so didn't need the extra facilities.
We arrived at the hotel on a very busy, post Christmas sale day & as we came closer to the hotel all of the public car-parks were full. Thankfully we were able to easily park in the hotel's car park, which I thought was reasonable at £15 for overnight parking.
The gentleman who checked us in (Diego) was very friendly & efficient. Even though we were at the hotel early, our room was available straight away.
The room itself was bright, modern & spacious (it had a 6ft Superking bed & even with the travel cot there was loads of room). The bed & pillows were lovely & comfy too.
The bathroom was gorgeous, with a bath (overhead shower) & was extremly clean & well maintained - still loooked new! Even though we were overlooking the train track it was still very quiet & we couldn't hear any traffic noise (maybe helped as we were on a higher floor).
The breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice, very fresh & yummy!
The bar area upstairs was nice & relaxed - we spent time catching-up with family as we had a drink or 2, relaxing on the comfy sofas! There was a lovely, cheerful lady who served us but I can't remember her name!
The location is fantastic - John Lewis & the St Davids's shopping centre is literally on your doorstep (that's a plus point over the Holland House!).
We would most definitely stay here again - the only way this hotel could be absolutely perfect is if it had a swimming pool!
Thank you for a lovely stay Radisson Blu:).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twynholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your great review and special mention to our receptionist Diego. Our hotel team demonstrated our 'Yes I Can' attitude in meeting your expectations upon arrival and throughout your stay.
Thank you for mentioning our Bar and super buffet breakfast. They are always highly rated so it is great to hear that you feel the same.

I do hope you will come again to stay with us on your next trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Cardiff is a busy city on a Friday night especially before Christmas. So very surprised at low cost and more than happy with excellent breakfast. Room on 7th floor quiet and bed very comfortable. Enjoyed the stay.

Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having asked to change hotels, my employer has started putting me up here and it's a vast improvement. Very good noise reduction (it is a city centre hotel next to a train line) lovely room and helpful staff.

Just two negatives, the parking is expensive and not guaranteed a space. The TV didn't work in the room (I was offered a move).

Beyond that, really nice stay - will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukeofbeeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Great to hear that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel, hopefully we can continue being 'spot on'.

Sorry to hear that you had some troubles with your television, but I'm obviously delighted to read that we managed to get you sorted out in the end. Point taken on the parking, we are limited with spaces but I do think we are pretty comparible, price wise, with many other local car parks.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Extremely clean and well kept.
Rooms were immaculate. Several of us stayed over several different floors and every room I visited were perfect. Bathroom was amazing! Beds were great. Reception area was phenomenal. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you very much for the review, great to hear that you couldn't find fault with our hotel. I will be sure to pass you comments on to the team - they will delighted to hear such positive words. Make sure you come back soon and visit us again.

Cheers,
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is in a great location for access to the train station, shops and restaurants. The room was very nice and modern with all the essentials that you need! During breakfast, a loud alarm was sounding which was quite unpleasant, however, this was eventually turned off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveHols85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thanks for the review and especially for the five star rating; great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure we can make it even better the next time you come back. I have asked about regarding the alarm which was sounding during breakfast but am none the wiser; please do be assured however that this is not the norm for background music in the restaurant and I'm sure it was a one off!

Kind regards,
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a very modern city centre hotel, conveniently close to the railway station and within walking distance of Cardiff Bay. The welcome was friendly and the staff were both cheerful and attentive.
We booked a business class room, but on arrival upgraded to a junior suite. This proved to be worthwhile, as we were on the 20th floor and the view over the city, through the full height windows was impressive.
The bar area on the mezzanine floor is comfortable and attractive. Although we did not use the hotel restaurant in the evening, the breakfast was excellent: the business class area also has a Specials Menu and champagne.
The junior suit is a large comfortable room with separate seating and sleeping areas. We had a slight problem with the TV not working, but as there was one in each area we did not complain!
Our only real criticism was, that with this standard of room, we would have expected to have been provided with bottled water.
My wife found the pillows hard, but she is aware that she is a bit fussy!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan m, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Peter H,

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the added perks of upgrading to a Junior Suite were appreciated. Our Business Class lounges are pretty new so I'm glad you highlighted the specials and Champagne which are now available; we also have all the right ingredients for a cracking Bloody Mary, just incase you missed them this time.

Sorry to hear that your wife didn't like our pillows, we do use feather pillows in all of our rooms but i appreciate that pillow style is a very personal thing!

We hope to see you back with us again the next time you visit.

Kind regards,
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £54 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing